Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12.8345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 28, 2013

more

December 28, 2013

I read some of the comments about the 2013 survey. Yes, it is a bit simple and so on, but it is an opportunity to start the conversation off rather that simply saying "give us some money". They do offer some small trees that might be valuable to contributors. Instead of "bad mouthing" the organization, I consulted Guidestar that offers in-depth information about a million charitable organizations. Based on the 2012 IRS Form 990 The National Arbor Day Foundation supports many good causes, their officers are not overpaid and their administrative costs are reasonable. The total administrative and fund raising expenses total about 10%, which is reasonable. I have seen instances of what appear to be worthwhile organizations with great sounding titles, yet they spend 25%-30% or more of their total expense budget with a contract service to solicit funds. The description of the worthwhile contributions this organization supports are well worth public support. Enough said!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

I recently received a mailing labeled as the 2013 New Jersey Tree Survey. Seriously packaged, complete with a "Participant Number" on the front. But the survey itself was just 16 silly questions... things like "Have you ever climbed a tree?" It was obviously an attempt to tug the heart strings and package a fund-raising pitch as something else. That duplicity bothered me enough to consult GuideStar.

I might have responded well to something more direct and honest, and seeing that others felt the same way, I decided to write this review. There's more than a little irony when an organization dedicated to saving trees sends such a paper-intense communication, which included a calendar, various coupons and personalized return address labels. Please!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Treat your potential contributors like grown-ups. If you want to take a survey, take a REAL survey. See Consumer Reports. If you want money, just ask for it. Tell me why you need it, and ask for it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was a former donor to National Arbor Day Foundation and still believe that it serves a worthy cause. However, I was a bit disappointed in their recent mailing to me (2013 Forest Survey - Texas) that indicated that I had "been selected as part of a representative sampling of Texas residents to participate in this year's survey." Additionally, to "thank me" I would receive 4 free gifts. The survey was very shallow and was important to their donation marketing, I suppose (my demographics, whether I visited forests or National Parks, whether I thought the pecan was a good choice as Texas' state tree, etc.). I expected questions about how Texas was affected by the current drought, or whether I noticed signs of recovery from recent wildfires throughout the state. But, apparently it was mostly about the ten dollars that I would need to donate to get my "free gifts". I would rather have been asked to donate without the marketing survey disguised as a "forest survey," or at least, indicate clearly that their purpose is to survey to improve their marketing outreach. A forthright approach would have been much better. Their approach cost them my donation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

August 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Duplicitous marketing. The net takeaway from their recent mailing was that it was somehow sanctioned by New York State; they used the state logo in their return address. They were also giving away "free" trees and plants, but they were available only if a donation was made. A legitimate organization wouldn't resort to such sleaze, in my opinion.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of NADF for several years. I applaud the work that they do to restore our national forests devistated by wild fires. Their mission to plant and encourage others to plant is vital to our wild life and our protection of the environment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've experienced the importance of this cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers