Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

I became involved with NAVS thinking that its mission was solely to replace the animal dissections (think splayed out dead frogs) with sophisticated computer animation programs.

After reading their materials I quickly realized that NAVS is much more than that. NAVS provides sanctuary
to animals in distress, has cruelty free products that build on the dissection alternatives I was aware of, provides awareness and promotes new laws for animal protection and much more.

I wish I would have know about NAVS sooner, perhaps this effort will help others find tis great organization.

Gentre Vartan

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2013

more

November 13, 2013

NAVS has been extremely generous and instrumental in supporting the mission of Save the Chimps (STC) - the world's largest sanctuary chimpanzees rescued from bio-medical research, entertainment, and the pet trade. The compassion and dedication that they have demonstrated over the years for STC has enabled Save the Chimps to relocate several chimps from their former homes to their permanent sanctuary home in sunny Florida. For these chimps, their lives have been enriched and forever changed for the better.
NAVS has also featured some of our beloved residents in their materials including a calendar helping STC spread the word about the work we do with a like minded audience. We are eternally grateful for the invaluable support and compassion NAVS has not only for our chimpanzee residents but for all the beautiful creatures we share the planet with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2013

more

November 9, 2013

NAVS is a wonderful organization that reaches out to help other Non-Profits. In March of this year their Grant to Stamp Out Starvation Of Horses, Inc., allowed us to geld 20 stallions to help control the horse population in Georgia. They are wonderful to work with and I highly recommend them. Doris Buckley / CEO Stamp Out Starvation Of Horses, Inc., Clarkesville, GA

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2013

more

November 6, 2013

NAVS never ceases to impress me. This is much more than just another animal protection group, and "Advancing Science Without Harming Animals" is more than just a slogan. When I donate to any organization, I want to know that my support is making a real difference. With NAVS I am confident that my contributions are used wisely and effectively, and that is a great feeling.

Not only does NAVS work towards a long-term goal of ending animal experimentation; their sanctuary fund grants literally help save the lives of hundreds of animals every year. I love getting the calendar each fall and reading about some of those animals (and some of the organizations that received that year's grants), knowing that my support helped make those stories a reality. Plus the pictures are great!

But they also know that saving individual animals isn't going to stop the cruelty of using (and abusing) animals in the name of scientific research. That can only happen by changing the law (which starts with advocacy and public awareness). I try to visit their website often to read all about current legislative efforts, meaningful advancements in the scientific arena, and so much more. And I'm constantly learning more about what is being done, what needs to be done, and how NAVS is working to accomplish its ongoing mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am a volunteer with Pregnant Mare Rescue in California, and National Anti-Vivisection Society (NAVS) came to our rescue in early 2012 with a grant to help bring four mares from a former Premarin ranch in North Dakota who were at risk at being slaughtered. 1 1/2 years later, all four mares, and one baby are thriving. Petal fooled us for months, we thought she was pregnant. She is in a wonderful home with a teenager, now being ridden. Kismet was just placed in a loving home. Madrid, who was born at PMR is a remarkable beauty in an awesome home, as beautiful as any horse you might spend thousands of dollars for. Panosh, has her own person, and Malibu, Madrid's mother who couldn't be touched for many, months still lives at PMR, but she likes to be around people. NAVS also honored PMR by selecting them to feature photos of some of our rescues in their March 2013 NAVS calendar.
In addition to the grant help, NAVS has a long track record or working on behalf of animals world wide by their activism, and education, and keeping us aware of animal related litigation and issues.
They are truly a remarkable and worthy organization. Thank you to all the volunteers and staff at NAVS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate more money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

On two separate occasions, through their Sanctuary Fund, NAVS provided Project Perry with the means to assist birds in need of immediate medical evaluation and care. It is through this support that we were able to cover these costs and offer these birds a new life through the promise of sanctuary.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

NAVS came to our rescue when we needed help the most. Last year, Little Shelter Animal Rescue and Adoption Center located in Huntington, New York was severely devastasted by Hurricane Shelter. We are a no kill shelter that rescues from local municipalities, New York City and down south. We lost half of our kennel space due to damage. This greatly hindered our ability to rescue the many dogs that would otherwise have to be euthanized. The staff at NAVS was so helpful in guiding us quickly through the grant application process. When we needed them the most they were there. Thanks to their generous support, we are able to continue our life saving mission.

This is a well run organization filled with compassionate, caring people, who have animals best interest at heart. It was a pleasure getting to know the organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

There are really no words enough to say how much I have appreciated the work that AAV'S has done to help prevent the exploitation to animals in research.I have personally been financially helped with rescues of laboratory animals being released to our sanctuary, located in Oklahoma.

The
newsletters AAV'S send out are educational, showing persons how much animals in laboratories, involved in vivisection experiments are carried out daily and the pain and suffering involved to them.

Thank you for allowing this great organization to be recognized for their exemploray work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are none.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Animal Alliance Welfare League of Connecticut would like to express our gratitude to the National Anti-Vivisection Society for the Sanctuary Fund grant regarding our most recent rescues. "Crackers", "Cheeto" and "Dorito" are three of ten male cats rescued by Animal Alliance Welfare League of Connecticut and NAVS from a recent hoarding situation in New Britain, Connecticut.

The boys' caretaker had passed away at Christmastime, 2012 and were not rescued until neighnbors heard their cries for help in March, 2013. The boys were found by AAWL Director Linda Karalus, the Hartford, Connecticut Animal Control Officer, and another local animal rescue organization Director. After knocking the apartment door down, the boys were found to be living in deplorable conditions with nothing but bowls of crackers to eat-thus their names. The boys were barely alive-malnurished and dehydrated.

Thanks to AAWL and their partner, NAVS, the boys have all been vetchecked and neutered. The three boysare now happily living with AAWL Director Linda Karalus. It was a wonderful experience to work with the National Anti-Vivisection Society.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been in animal rescue since 1983 and was a veterinary technician for 7 years. My rescue, Stray Central in NW Arkansas, was in dire need of funding when we were asked to help with the many cats left homeless from the Joplin, Missouri tornado back in May, 2011. Having exhausted, and been turned down, by countless other organizations, Fate guided me to the NAVS page where I discovered their Sanctuary Grant program. With one phone call from Clare Haggerty, my app was approved and I had funding within a few days! NAVS was there for us last year when we undertook a massive TNR project and again this year when we were asked to assist with a hoarding situation. I can't say enough great things about NAVS - not just their Sanctuary Grant program but the work they do in general! Everyone I've ever dealt with has been wonderful - friendly, helpful, and obviously care for animals of all species. In short, NAVS is FANTASTIC!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers