Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

We have been with NAMI for over 20 years since our son's illness began in high school. The influx of new active enthusiastic NAMI members from the Family to Family courses is all you need to see, to realize the genius of the F2F program. It is top-notch concentrated education and a support group rolled into one and it's just what a new family needs when mental illness enters a family's life. The NAMI WALK is an annual celebration of the fact that recovery is possible, sometimes to an amazing degree. We have done the NAMI WALK every year since it began in Boston in 2004. NAMI has other great programs too, and they have helped our family learn and grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to improve NAMI's handling of membership. This organization is not like other groups where people sign up for entertainment, travel, companionship or anything else. This is for people who seriously need help and want to share that help with others. Stigma may prevent people from participating fully, and we always are working to reduce stigma. It's not your fault if you get mental illness. It's also not your fault if someone in your family gets mental illness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

We at the Scattergood Foundation recognize that NAMI Massachusetts is a relentless advocacy organization that does great work in the community on behalf of those with mental health conditions and their families. NAMI Massachusetts also has a strong presence on Twitter and is tremendous example of how Web 2.0 can be used to raise awareness about mental health and challenge stereotypes about people with mental illness.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2013

more

December 3, 2013

NAMIMass gets A+ not only for their great work in Massachusetts, but they are one of the most reliable and trustworthy mental health voices on Twitter - regularly putting out more basic info/facts on mental illness than any other feeds - a great service to advocates worldwide. Thank you!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2013

more

December 3, 2013

At NAMI Delaware we're newer at our Social Media campaign than is NAMI Massachusetts. We've learned a lot by following them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

OK, not to be picky but the graphic on the twitter page is squished.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2013

more

November 24, 2013

I follow NAMI on twitter and they do a great job of disseminating information about mental health through social media. Their social media campaign also does a good job of destigmatizing mental health diagnoses.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
July 31, 2013

I have been involved with NAMI for about 7 years. I first got involved when I started attending the NAMI MetroWest Family Support group. I have a husband and a son who have mental health issues. I must admit I didn't like the idea of attending a group but once I started going I realized that I should have been attending years earlier! Being a part of NAMI helped me develop more coping skills and feel empowered. I realized that my experiences could help others navigate their path through diagnosis, finding providers, getting support and advocating for their loved ones.

While I was attending the Support Group I also took the Family to Family class. What a lifesaver. I learned so much from the materials that NAMI supplied and from the interaction between members of the group.

I was hooked on NAMI, not only because of the support and education, but the fact that all teachers and support group facilitators are volunteers. There are very few paid NAMI employees, and they are paid very little. I like organizations where the money goes towards the population being served and not to line the pockets of some CEO.

I now volunteer for NAMI in a number of roles as facilitator, teacher and board member.

NAMI supports a very under-served population. Those who are challenged by mental health issues and their families represent at least 25% of the population, but the support they receive is minimal. Families are forced to fight for basic services from insurance companies and providers. There is a shortage of mental health professionals and paraprofessionals because the pay is awful. Often those who are employed by states to work in Mental Health facilities are also having to apply for food stamps, rent assistance and earned income credit. Persons who do receive services do not receive any continuity of services because many mental health workers 'follow the money' in order to better provide for their families. Support for families receives almost no funding.

NAMI serves to fill some of the gaps in the provision of mental health services. We provide support to families of the mentally ill and those in recovery through our groups. We provide support to Veterans, faith-based groups and the LBTQ population. We are expanding our programs to include population groups from all over the world. Through our fundraising we give money to researchers, community service agencies and individuals who help the mentally ill and their families.

NAMI needs more support each year. Funding for Mental Health services is declining. The mentally ill are not getting the help they need. Without help they become homeless, victims of violence, addicted, poor and imprisoned. A person with mental illness can have their lifespan shortened by 25 years. Their caregivers live ten years less. Untreated mental illness is a very large social and financial burden to society. Intervention and treatment can save thousands of lives, terrible suffering and millions of dollars.

Please support NAMI. Time, money or both are received with many thanks

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2013

NAMI ( the National Alliance on Mental Illness, www.nami.org) never ceases to amaze me from my first contact with my Family to Family Teacher Bernice ( what an inspiration she was!) to my Family to Family Teacher's Training with Larry and Tina ( also amazing!). I am very impressed with how I always have felt at home with members of NAMI and that truly makes me realize that I am not alone.. I have found the Education Coordinator ( Karen) so understanding and extremely helpful by providing valuable resources to share and other very useful information..

I find myself wondering how anyone could let an opportunity to attend a FREE NAMI Family to Family Course pass them by that will help them better to understand their loved one living with mental illness and how to cope with other classmates and teachers with a lived experience? NAMI has made me a believer. I remember reading about Family to Family on the NAMI website ( that has such a wealth of information) and couldn't wait for the course to begin. I was not disappointed. I came away from my courses stronger, more educated and with all my printed class materials as a reference guide. We were encouraged to teach by our Family to Family Teachers.

I like the idea that I am part of NAMI team that shares the same goals and objectives who all embrace the mission of NAMI, on the same page. I also understand why it is important that we are members of NAMI as way of making a commitment to NAMI. I feel I owe NAMI so much for helping me and that I wanted to pay it forward. To be honest, I am terrified about teaching the course. My Family to Family Teachers had such a high level of expertise and yet I always felt that our class was relaxed that offered a shared experience that I will never forget. The teachers valued all of us and what we had to say, in both of my courses.

Our local community television is airing the Family to Family Tribute and Fighting Stigma. It is my opinion that educating the public with these kind of resources and hearing the stories of people who have experienced living with a family member living with mental illness will serve to help others to know that there is hope and that it is often just a click or phone call away, thanks to NAMI.

I also attend a weekly support group and I am forever grateful to the facilitator Bruce and the family members who attend( some of who will attend our upcoming F2F course in Sept) who have been there for the ups and downs. Special thanks to the intern E ( & Bruce) who also encouraged me to learn more with NAMI and go on to teach! I believe support groups help us to stay strong!


Sincerely,
Ella Smolenski

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2013

NAMI is not only a great resource on mental illnesses but also provides the opportunity for the affected families to get together and share their experiences, which is a great way of learning and supporting one another.

Their method of dealing with this challenge is direct and very
effective. People start with their own experience breaking any taboos about mental illness which encourages other participants to share their own experiences. The trainers talk with compassion, giving one a sense of belonging and security that is very hopeful in dealing with one's personal problems.

While interacting with NAMI recently I learned about endless possibilities for the people with mental illnesses to lead good lives. One can explore vast online resources and can rely on resource persons for every possible assistance in their powers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are doing fine the way they are operating, that is informal, frank and ready to help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

I would be lost without NAMI. My young adult son has Bipolar 1 disorder with psychotic features. He was diagnosed at age 9 and was med compliant for 16 years. At age 25, he decided to try going off his meds. The results have been catastrophic. After 9 private hospitalizations over a three-year-period, my husband and I could no longer continue living with him. We requested a long-term stay in a state hospital. He has been in Tewksbury State Hospital in MA for almost a year--with many ups and downs. It is hard fighting a broken system and one that gives someone with mental illness the right to refuse meds when a court order runs out, because he feels he doesn't need them. Sadly, we sit and watch him get sicker and more delusional during those periods. It seems like I am always waiting for him to get worse, in order for him to get treated. The hospital has applied for guardianship, but other cases get higher priority because the courts don't view a psych emergency as an urgent matter. We all know this is wrong, but no one with any power has taken steps to change it. So we can be waiting months, or longer, if my son contests it. My support group meetings are what keeps me going. Sometimes I cry for my son and feel the situation seems hopeless. I am trying to turn something devastating into something positive by becoming more active in NAMI. I was asked if I would be interested in becoming trained as a co-facilitator and start up a new support group in my area. So that's my plan. Meanwhile, I will continue to hope and pray that maybe someday I will be one of the people who has a positive outcome with a son in recovery.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

run support groups every week

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
July 22, 2013

The 12 week course helped me learn about my son's mental illness. It was also nice to meet other people in the group who were going through similar situations. I am very thankful for the volunteers they did a great job.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with the NAMIWalks in May! Volunteer