Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

Spending time at Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens provides a perfect opportunity to reconnect with nature, gaining a deeper understanding and appreciation for all creatures and the diverse habitats in which they survive and thrive. The Safari Canyon shows are both educational and entertaining, giving you the chance to see animals not currently on exhibit, and get an up close and personal look at the animals as they engage in training and enrichment activities. The dedicated, caring keepers have an amazing bond with the animals that is inspiring to see. The “Meet the Keeper” Series provides a great opportunity to learn and ask the friendly, knowledgeable staff whatever questions you may have. I particularly enjoy seeing the awesome array of cats on site, including the majestic South African lions, Malaysian tigers, leopards, cheetahs, ocelots and servals. The primate expedition cruise on Lake Victoria is a great way to see the gibbons, lemurs, spider monkeys and siamangs as they swing through the trees on their island habitats. There is something for everyone, from the familiar macaws, alligators, zebras, bears and coyotes, to the rarely seen honey badgers, fosas, striped hyenas, South American anteater and cotton topped tamarins. There are even giraffes you can hand feed. The grounds are also home to beautiful botanical gardens that enhance the entire experience. You cannot help but leave with a greater sense of interconnectedness and knowledge of the importance of the conservation efforts that are at the heart of the zoo’s mission. I love spending time at this wonderful zoo, and highly recommend it! They also makes excellent use of their website and social media presence to share important information about things we can do on an everyday basis to help combat the widespread destruction of habitats that are critical to the survival of endangered species. Things as simple as our grocery shopping and recycling habits can, and do, have a significant impact. By raising awareness through experience and education, the Naples Zoo empowers visitors to act in ways that benefit us all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue with expansion efforts. I'd love to see more animals on regular exhibit. Habitat renovations providing additional enrichment features, similar to the great wading pool that the tigers enjoy playing in so much, would also be welcome additions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

The Naples zoo is a wonderful place to visit. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The zoo keepers are knowledgeable and are willing to talk and answer questions about the animals in their care. All of the animals are healthy and well cared for. They are given many enrichment activities to encourage their curiosity. I've seen the Kudu with a box on his horns as if he were wearing a beautiful hat, the parrots going through a phone book, and the big cats playing with a ball. Volunteers are well trained and are eager to talk to visitors and answer their many questions. The Naples zoo is truly dedicated to the conservation and preservation of animals around the world and it shows in all they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

the review that starts: The Naples Zoo is an exciting place everyone can enjoy. Was written by Patty Mazanoski, a zoo volunteer

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I have always thought Naples Zoo was a beautiful zoo. After volunteering there I have found it to be a wonderful learning experience also. I did not always realize as a visitor how into conservation and preservation they are and how dedicated to informing the public of this while being a great fun place to visit. I am so happy I made the decision to volunteer. I come from Chicago area originally and they have two large beautiful zoos that I have been to many times, but I find Naples zoo a more pleasurable place to be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any right now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

Just 15 minutes after seeing my first presentation at the Naples Zoo, I knew I had made the right de -cision; take a break from tutoring, still use my teaching skills and be outdoors in a tropical garden where the values of conservation go side by side with the excitement of close up views of animals. Take your kids and grandkids to the Naples Zoo. Learn while having a great time!

Virginia Delerme

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

Naples zoo is one of the most beautiful zoos I have ever visited. Not only do they have a wonderful animal collection, but they are surrounded by a fabulous garden. You can feed the giraffes, ride camels and visit the primate islands on a boat trip. I have been volunteering with the giraffes for three years and enjoy all of the time I spend there. The keepers take extremely great care of their animals. The botanical crew keep the gardens immaculate. This is a fabulous zoo.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

Naples Zoo is a wonderful experience. I have volunteered since 2010 when our herd of Male Giraffe's came on board. The Zoo is unique compare to a lot of other Zoos, it offers a Botanical Garden, boat rides and two shows a day along with keepers talks throughout the day. You can spend all day or just an hour and when you leave you feel refreshed. The Zoo takes you into a world that is totally different from the one you live in on a daily basis and gives you a brighter outlook on life.
Pattie Kiray

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Naples Zoo is a beautifully maintained compact zoological and botanical garden. The menagerie which includes some rare species, is obvIously well loved and cared for! Visitors feel welcomed and if they wish can learn about individual animals, conservation, and even the area's history.
I've
been happily volunteering at the Naples Zoo since 2010. I love visiting zoos when I travel and for many years had a favorite, a small community zoo, in the Mid-Atlantic. Once I discovered the Naples Zoo, it became such a favorite that I decided to volunteer. It remains a special destination for my family as it constantly evolves!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hasten the fantastic long range plan for the African exhibit which will have animals in what looks like a deserted African ranch, complete with a bi-plane outside the house to provide shade for snoozing lions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Very very clean zoo that truly lives their animals

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

A beautiful and clean place to get away from it all. You feel like you're in another world!! The animals are very well taken care of and the botanical gardens are a plus. There are other birds and critters that are not part of the zoo itself, but make a home there such as Snowy Egrets, Ibises, and turtles to mention a few. If you love nature, this is where to be and there are many friendly volunteers and staff to educate you if you have an inclination to inquire. I call it the "Pearl of Naples" where Naples is the Clam Shell and the Zoo is the Pearl. A special note, in 2005 the residents of Collier County voted to tax themselves in order to purchase the land that Naples Zoo sits on (which has since been paid back). That just shows you how much people love the Naples Zoo!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not do a thing. Naples Zoo is an ongoing master piece in the works. Always growing, improving, educating and conserving. As a non-profit, it is only restricted by the number and amount of donations it receives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers