Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.866675
Write A Review
May 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 16, 2012

NAMI saves lives through the educational and support groups it provides. It provides these services at no cost to individuals and their families with mental illness in our community. In this times whe... more

May 30, 2014

NAMI provides support for individuals with mental illness and their families. It is a great pleasure to serve on the board of an organization that makes such a difference in peoples lives, including my own. We provide education, support groups and recreational activities. We have a thrift store that trains and employs individuals and provides assistance to individuals with household good and clothing. The executive director and the rest of the staff and volunteers are dedicated to continue to help the organization grow so we can help more people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2012

NAMI saves lives through the educational and support groups it provides. It provides these services at no cost to individuals and their families with mental illness in our community. In this times when health care costs are so high and accessing services is so difficult for people NAMI is there. I am proud to be a volunteer for such a great charity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

Without NAMI, there is know telling where i would be at or doing. Finding NAMI is like a miracle, learning about my disorders, and being able to work and share with other people like. Thank you NAMI

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012

more

August 31, 2012

The training I received many years ago through NAMI Gulf Coast when my child was diagnosed with a brain disorder was life-changing. I not onlly learned a tremendous amount, but I was surrounded with understanding and compassion. I am forever grateful to this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

The Executive Director is excellent, as are all the staff. There are a dedicated group of volunteers including the board members. We are so fortunate to have this group in our area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

In 2000 when our college student son was diagnosed with a severe mental ilness after admission for pyschotic symptoms, we knew notihng about mental illness. The sudden onset of his ilness was a total surprise as he'd been a good student and was doing well in college. A friend told me about a free ediucational class offered by NAMI GUlf Coast. It was the beginning of an incredibly helpful relationship with volunteers who had "been there" and offered generously from their experiences on how to access the resources critical to treating our son's illness and teaching the skills crucial to our managing this new challenge in our family. Twelve years later NAMI GUlf Coast continues to be there with free classes for all ---- individuals living with mental illness and their familes, school personnel, first responders, and members at all levels of the justice system. Ongoing support is provided through peer suppor groups and effectvie advocacy through patient forging of partnerships with local and state officials and agencies. In 2011 NAMI GUlf Coast established a re-sale shop which employees people with menetal illness and raises funds for operating expenses. NAMI GUlf Coast strives to improve the quality of life for all people affected by mental illness and to offer hope to all by helping people understand that these brian disorders are manageable like other chronic illnesses such as diabetis and epilepsy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

I have a son who has paranoid schizophrenia. When he was diagnosed, the psychiatrist suggested that we give custody of him to the state because there was no hope that he would ever even be able to finish high school or be able to live anywhere except the street. My son had been an honor student and was going into high school. He was an athlete and played the trombone in the school band. I was not going to give him up, though I was blamed for the illness. He and I battled family, ignorant friends, and the narrow-minded church while he finished high school with the help of a very special teacher who was willing to work with us eventhough she hadn't been trained to work with students with Lonnie's illness. She said that he was teaching her. He completed high school back in the honors program and went on to college. He finished with an associates degree and enrolled for computer science at the University of Houston. There his headaches became unmanageable, and he had to leave the university and had to go to the hospital to find a maintenance medication. From the hospital, I learned about NAMI(National Alliance on Mental Illness) Gulf Coast. Through this organization, I found understanding and support in our struggle with this devestating illness. NAMI Gulf Coast sponsors educational classes and conventions, social events, monthly support groups, and participates in educating legislators in financially supporting mental health progams in Texas. This is an organization that I don't want to be without.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

The South Brazoria County NAMI chapter are very effective. They explain topics clearly and concisely. They are informative. They create an open and respectful atmosphere for chapter members. I love going to these meetings!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

NAMI Gulf Coast provides incredible support to families through the family support groups and educational program that are available at no charge to families. I have personally seen family members come to the support groups emotionally drained and feeling hopeless about their inability to care for a loved one suffering with a mental illness. The support they received at the family suuport meeting let them know they were not the only ones and that an understanding and helpful goup was there to help them through the crisis. The education programs provide assistance to families and professional about mental illness itself as well as, coping techniques, and communication skills. I have seen NAMI Gulf Coast change lives!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

NAMI Gulf Coast was instrumental in changing the course of my son's life for the better. My son, Matt, was diagnosed with Major Depression, Schizoaffective Disorder, and Borderline Personality Disorder in 2010. These diagnosis sent my family into a tailspin not knowing where to go or what to do. Sure, we saw doctors and therapists but there was no help for the family. A doctor told me about NAMI and I am so grateful. Through support group meetings, classes, attending conventions NAMI Gulf Coast gave me the tools to navigate through the maze of mental illness. Two years down the road I am still involved and Matt has done volunteer work for NAMI Gulf Coasts thrift shop, Second Chance. They have opened their doors to him and this in turn has given him confidence and the realization that he can have a life again after two years of battling his mental illness. While the road is long and you never know what's around the corner, I do know that NAMI Gulf Coast will be there for my family and we won't have to go through tough times alone ever again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

As a volunteer of NAMI Gulf Coast a non profit organization that helps families and loved ones of the mentally ill has been a blessing for my family. Our son was diagnosied at the age of 19 and we were looking for some help for him and ouselves. That was in 1989 and I am still envolved as a volunteer. NAMI Gulf Coast is there for us still and the support is as great at it was then. They have the resourses plus the support for both the family and the person with the illness. I have found that in order to gain the help that we needed and still need is always there. Mental illness seems to be every where and the help that NAMI Gulf Coast is always learning new ways to help those that have the illness and their families. We could not have learned to cope and help our son without their support. I have learned that being a volunteer is the best way to learn about the illness by going to the meetings and being envolved. They not only helped the family but they give the support and knowledge with the persons who have the illness. It takes a lot of understanding and NAMI Gulf Coast has given us the opportunity to live a good life with our son. They have helped us in so many ways by being there when we need them and for our son also. Their support and knowledge is something that we will always be thankful for. Mentally ill persons benefit from their support also in many ways. I don't know where we would be at this point in our lives without NAMI Gulf Coast. They have provided our son with employment and understanding that gives him self respect. Anyone that needs support with a family member/loved one is welcomed and given the opportunity to be a part of a great organization. NAMI Gulf Coast has grown in the last 20 years and is still growing and supporting anyone that needs their support. For us NAMI Gulf Coast has become a family and we will always be thankful that they are here. Mental Illnes is a very hard illness to deal with at times and their help and support is there for persons that want to learn how to manage their lives and know that we are not alone. I can't imagine how our lives would be without NAMI Gulf Coast. Not only do they support families but the persons with the illness are supported as well. The time and energy that the staff puts into all that they do is amazing. So after all these years as a member I still volunteer as much as I can in these senior years, not as much as I did when I was younger with more energy, but I am still learning from NAMI Gulf Coast everyday. What a blessing it has been to be a part of this organization for ourselves and our son. I have gotten so much knowlege and understanding from being envolved. I will always be envolved and be committed and am so thankful that I have been given the chance to make a difference in the lives of persons with the illness and their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers