Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 11, 2014

more

November 11, 2014

I have served on this Board for four years and became involved after attending one of the signature education programs NAMI offers as a way of learning more about my daughter's mental illness. I was so changed by the experience that I became more involved with the Organization in an attempt to give back. In addition to serving on the Board, I am a certified Family-to-Family education teacher, and I am a public speaker for the Organization. We are a dedicated Board of Directors with a strong sense of fiduciary responsibility to our members and donors. All of our education and support programs are offered at no charge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Endow it. Mental illness is a stigmatized brain illness and fundraising is made difficult because many of the individuals affected lack resources or capability of making their voices heard. Until we treat mental illness like we do other biological disorders, raising funds will continue to be difficult.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2013

more

June 21, 2013

My first contact with NAMI Greater Orlando was in 2005 as a participant in the 12 week Family to Family Program. The program is designed to help family members better understand the experience of their family member who suffers from a serious mental illness, treatment methods, medications, coping members, family support and more. The 2 group leaders were top - notch, as leaders and sources of inspiration and hope for participants. I have also attended the local NAMI Family Support Group that meets weekly in Maitland, FL. NAMI programs are offered free to the public. My experience with NAMI Greater Orlando was life changing for me, my family member and for several friends who I have referred over the past several years. Because i feel so strongly about NAMI Greater Orlando, I have participated for the past several years as a volunteer and fund-raiser for the NAMI Walk which is held annually in the Spring. This is a well run organization with a strong Board of Directors who carefully plan how to use resources, expand existing programs and initiate new programs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

NAMIGO was there when I needed them most. They offer free copyrighted education for me (the person with mental illness), my friends and family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son suffers from schizoaffective disorder . The personal struggles and stigma my son and our family had to face was overwhelming until I found NAMIGO . The support , educational classes and acceptance I found thru this organization was life changing . Families and loved ones stricken with mental illness gain information, insight, understanding and empowerment .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

NAMI Greater Orlando (NAMI-GO) is Central Florida's voice on mental illness. NAMI-GO provides support groups, education classes, and special events for those affected by mental illness - peers/consumers, families, friends, veterans, health care providers, faith-based organizations, and caregivers. NAMI-GO is where the rubber meets the road when you face mental illness. We believe in the power of individuals and families to live a vital life of wellness and recovery. Our family believes in hope. 407-253-1900. www.namigo.org.

Photos

Videos

Walk the Road to Recovery with NAMI Greater Orlando

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

bringing meaning and purpose to a life I thought was irreparably broken.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them financial assets so they can expand their amazing programming.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I learned about it through a bipolar support group.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Holistic recovery, wholeness, and wellness.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers