Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.455
Write A Review
June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

My interest in NAMI was due to family crisis situations of immediate family and siblings iradic behaviors and mannerisms. Years of struggle trying to change things, situations, take care of the wrongs done, etc. NAMI classes for Family to Family helped me to get a perspective on mental illness I was not clued in about with my family circumstances.The knowledge in the group discussions about specific characteristics, the medications, the manipulations of the illness, the insight helps to be prepared and anticipate what to do or not to do to assist the family member to live the life that is livable....I sincerely recommend NAMI for support and insight in the area of mental illness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I was 5 years old when my mother was first affected with mental illness. She was hospitalized long term twice during those 50 years of dealing with the illness. Being young, the only explanation I was given was that my mother suffered a nervous break down. It wasn't until one of my younger brothers was stricken with schizoaffective disorder did I find NAMI. He was constantly suicidal and I wanted to help but I just did not know how. Through NAMI's Family to Family Education Class I learned a lot about these illnesses and how to deal with crisis. I acquired communication skills, amongst many other tools for coping and helping my brother. I saw how valuable NAMI was to me and I got involved in "giving back" to help others who were coming up behind me. NAMI has so many different support groups and education classes to help all people affected with a mental illness. Our state office does everything they can do to support the local affiliates, by way of trainings and advocacy work at the state capitol. I appreciate the entire organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

My husband and spent more than 15 years feeling alone and desperate in our quest to help our adult daughter who suffers from severe and persistent mental illness. On the recommendation of a girlfriend who had attended herself, we enrolled in Family-To-Family in 2009 and it was a life-changing experience for us. We encouraged our daughter to attend Peer-To-Peer, which she did. Although our journey is continues with its twists and turns, we are unquestionably a healthier family because we are empowered with knowledge -- about the disease and how to fight for her when she lacks the voice to fight for herself. After attending the class, I became a teacher of Family-to-Family, and subsequently a Board member of my local Orlando affiliate. It's the only way I know to give back to NAMI who strengthened my marriage and my family.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

NAMI saved my son and led me into an understanding of his illness. My first experience with NAMi was at the direction of my son's mental health doctor. WHen I checked out thw web site I was directed to a contact person in my area who turned out to be an angel. I became involved with Nami first as a Mother, attending support meetings, now I am a Family to Family teacher, & a certified Guaridian Advocate. Withthe guidence of NAMI & support I have been able to help my son and get him the services he needed as well as keep him out of the hospital and on the road to recovery. I am also a NAMI Board Member for the local NAMI Chapter. This is a much needed support serivce and teaching provider for our state and done at the community level.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization has helped me help bring my son back from being a homeless person to being able to live independently and recover his life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make it possible to continue this organization and to insure that the community supports it as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I was referred by my son's doctor and to the web site.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

THis group has given me the support and knowledge to help me help my son from geeting him the help he needed, and support for me to make the right choices for my son. To help me understand his illness, and to train m me to beable to help others.

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I was suffering from severe depression and looking for support. I attended my first meeting just prior to getting ECT treatments and looking for answers and shoulders. no one was mean, but no one really offered any support either. I felt like an out sider and alone. I didnt go back.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

My son had a first episode Psycosis and the Nami Family to Family classes helped my husband and I to come to terms with the illness and help our son recover. The classes were incredible, informative,thought provoking, and empathetic. What more could you ask for, and they were even FREE! A commitment of time was required, but what better way to understand and work on the issues.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I am both a client served by Nami Florida and a volunteer. Nami Family to Family helped a lot with getting an idea of where my son was at with schizophrenia. Also, it helped me a LOT in not feeling alone in this situation, as my son was perfectly unaffected by schizophrenia until he turned 19, and then symptoms would come and go, so it was confusing- I thought/ was hoping, it was just a phase he was going through or would be one of the lucky ones who was just having this happen once or twice and then he'd be back to normal. Nami has helped me slowly kind of accept that this is most likely going to be a lifelong chronic illness- although I still pray Jesus will cure my son if it's His will. Being a volunteer of a new family support group has helped me also to feel more connected with others in similar situation. I also attend several Nami family support groups and it has always helped me realize I am not the only one dealing who was blindsided when my son got a disease I never imagined he would get, and it would change our lives forever. It has made me more aware of the mostly invisible people with this illness and how ignorant most of society is about it. I try to educate people on it when it seems appropriate to do so as there is a lot of misunderstanding surrounding schizophrenia- people assume someone who has it is violent and needs to be locked away or heavily medicated. They never think that maybe the afflicted person would like to have some friends and maybe be included in society and maybe it's their duty as fellow human beings to try and befriend people ambushed in their most productive years by an illness that causes them to act and talk wierd sometimes or get paranoid at times, instead of just dropping them as friends or avoiding them - it's especially bad when the people are your relatives or were your child's lifelong friends. Some people also think someone with sz. is faking it to get the ssi check and constantly badger the ill person to get a job and quit being so lazy! Lots more education in society needs to be done!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

For several years I have been a board member for a local NAMI affiliate and it has been my pleasure to work with NAMI Florida in our efforts to improve the professionalism within our affiliate. Although I fully appreciate the "grass roots" efforts for decades, our board was having difficulties recruiting board members, instructors, and folks with special talents to enhance the organization. Out comes the Standards of Excellence and, with NAMI Florida's guidance, we now are moving ahead with confidence, our fundraising efforts have excelled, and the calliber of our board members has brought us to new levels. We have formed great partnerships and are now much more able to provide the signature NAMI programs to our community. From an organizational standpoint, instructor training standpoint, and personal standpoint --they are there to support us. We thank them, NAMI Florida is the wind beneath our wings!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

NAMI HAS BEEN VERY EDUCATIONAL AND GIVEN ME A FEELING OF BELONGING.I CO-FACILLITATE TWO CONNECTIONS GROUPS AND DO IN OUR OWN VOICE. I AM ON THE BOARD. iT'S FIVE STARS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

NAMI has been an unbelievable help to me as a care giver for a mentally ill person. I found comfort, expertise, information and fellowship in attending the support meetings and the Family-to-Family 12 week class. NAMI is there for the families and the disabled. The mental health profession and professionals are very impersonal and bound by way too many laws to be really helpful to people in crisis. Sharing a personal trauma, such as mental illness, with others who can understand and relate is extremely valuable. It is vital to be able to speak out on the day to day turmoil that this illness causes to the disabled one as well as those that surround them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

dealing with my loved one who is struggling with mental health issues

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure there was a NAMI representative available at all Inpatient Facilties

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Handout at hospital

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

to recognize the intense struggle of mental illness, as well as develop some coping skills

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers