Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 25, 2013

more

December 25, 2013

NAMI is a GREAT Nonprofit! It is the single, most-comprehensive resource for getting real education, real facts and real help for family members of and/or those suffering with a mental illness. NAMI seeks to deteriorate the stigma associated with mental illness and links you up with others that will walk along side your family to support your loved one's mental journey. You can look up things all day long on the internet but until you get around like-minded and like-experienced individuals, the solutions never come. It is a light at the end of a tunnel to the antiquated viewpoints and funding our country, and especially my state (Texas), has towards mental illness. NAMI is propelling change and giving a voice to the voiceless, DEMANDING our loved ones with a mental health diagnosis are treated as human beings and not as a diagnosis!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask all volunteers/individuals involved to step out in boldness. Call legislators, call judges, support each other and fight the urge to keep their issues private. There is a community called to help one another.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 15, 2013

I have been with NAMI Greater Orlando for more than 12 years. Without them and their free programs I would not be alive today. I am an Instructor for Peer to Peer, and Provider Training . They are a group of very dedicated individuals with so much knowledge and compassion. I am proud to be a consumer as well as a Instructor for National Alliance for Mental illness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2013

NAMI is a great organization that helps people who desperately need it. People with mental illnesses need help and I'm happy this charity is trying to do that. Great people

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

Since 1997 NAMI has been a friend to my family. I am a Family to Family Teacher and Trainer, Support Group Facilitator, and Provider Trainer. Having family members understand and be able to cope with these illnesses is a huge support to the mental health community of providers and to the consumers who so need our support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I cannot say enough in support of the Nami Dallas organization. In the past 12 years since my son was diagnosed with Schizoaffective Disorder and Bipolar, the volunteers, teacher, counselors, support group members and board members have always been there for my son and I. When you are living with mental illness and experiencing its effects first hand, NAMI Dallas has been like a parachute helping you land. My son doesn't know it yet, but NAMI will be his guardian angel. Thank you for being the great non-profit organization that you are!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 19, 2011

more

December 19, 2011

When my son was suicidal from bi-polar depression and we didn't know how to help him or ourselves, we found the NAMI Family-to-Family class and it was life-saving. To learn about mental illness from people who had been in our shoes and knew what we were going through was like finding a lifeboat in a storm. No one understands like someone who's been there. I learned how to help myself and my son, and I learned that there was hope. And there IS hope - my son is now happy and self-supporting. NAMI is a life-saver.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

NAMI is an absolutely great organization.

After being diagnosed with a mental illness I thought my whole entire life was over.

It was in an Intensive Outpatient Program that I met a speaker from NAMI that gave me hope that recovery was possible.

I have since been
compliant with taking my medication, going to therapy bi-weekly, and attending support group meetings weekly and monthly through NAMI.

They have provided me with a place where I no longer feel alone.

I have been given back my life and my voice as a result of being involved with NAMI.

I am a Peer to Peer Mentor, Connection Recovery Support Group Facilitator, a Delegate on the NAMI Texas Consumer Council, and on June 18-19, 2011 I will train to be a Provider Education Program Consumer Member.


Thank you.

Teena Adler

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am truly empowered now and volunteering and advocating with NAMI is how I love to spend my days. NAMI has made me whole again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes other than figuring out a way to get them more money so that they can help more people in a bigger way.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers