Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

This is an amazing organization that takes kids from every walk of life and teaches them not just about the waves but gives them a deeper understanding and respect for the ocean, it's ecology, their safety and the culture that surrounds them. I've watched my son grow confident and brave just by spending a couple of hours with these volunteers. There is no other program around that can do or teach a child as much as Na Kama Kai does in such a short amount of time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

We have been associated with Na Kama Kai from the very beginning and are glad to have done so. It is doing great things for our local keiki and our ocean. Imua Na Kama Kai!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

This organization provides an amazing opportunity for children to both learn the joys and the responsibility involved with caring for the ocean. The education is provided in a fun and culturally significant way, which teaches the children of Hawai'i - and those visiting - how to appreciate the ocean and how to enjoy it safely. I cannot rave enough about the volunteers that put this project together, and how that ohana became a part of mine.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I've taken my two sons to two events held by Na Kama Kai this year. Each time the boys came away very happy and excited. I normally take my kids out on canoes and surfboards myself, but this provides me with a way to get both of them out at the same time and also to learn a little more. We'll be attending future events as well and would encourage more people to bring their kids down. This is especially good for those of us who want to take their kids out but just don't seem to have the time nowadays. Mahalo Na Kama Kai for all you do! Aloha!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

My three daughters went to a Na Kama Kai clinic and we were so impressed with all the volunteers and support that was there! They got a lot of hands on experience sanding down a papa he'e nalu (surfboard) the traditional way, catching waves on a SUP, and riding for the first time in an outrigger canoe. So much fun for everyone! Na Kama Kai is lucky to have so many great volunteers teach the keiki their love of the ocean and to be responsible stewards our oceans.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

"Aloha! Na Kama Kai is a good place for a little hula girl like me. It's good to ride on a board and paddle like yourself in your heart. All the good things that I liked was going on the canoes and doing all the stuff out in the ocean and learning about the fish at the end and getting smoothies." -Jada, age 7

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

I started volunteering for Na Kama Kai over 3 and a 1/2 years ago. My nephew asked me to help and I was there. I did not know how much of a positive effect it would have on me. By helping others I have helped myself become a better person and a stronger part of the community here in Hawaii. Mahlo Uncle Sean

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

While serving on the Board of Directors of Na Kama Kai for the last 3 years I have received tremendous satisfaction in knowing that we are having a positive influence on the lives of youth in the state of Hawaii. Na Kama Kai’s mission is to empower youth by creating, conducting and supporting ocean-based programs, specifically targeting ocean safety and conservation awareness in order to increase the capacity of youth in the community through Hawaiian values, culture and environmental education.
Na Kama Kai guides youth to become safe, responsible participants in recreational ocean activities and helps them fully appreciate and understand the importance of the ocean as part of our natural world. In essence they become “ocean intelligent”. Such learning occurs through guidance and experience in a nurturing environment where keiki (youth) learn how to be safe in the marine environment, grow physically and emotionally through interaction with the ocean, develop an overall respect for nature using the ocean as a connecting force to all living things, and learn that it is their responsibility to provide the stewardship needed to conserve our ocean recourses for future generations. To date, close to 4,000 keiki have participated in our free clinics. Our success is based entirely on the dedication and commitment of volunteers. These talented volunteers experience tremendous fulfillment as they empower the keiki to practice ocean safety and conservation. Such awareness saves lives and leads to stronger stewardship of our fragile island environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I have been on the Board of Directors for Na Kama Kai for over a year, and within that time I have seen positive growth for both our keiki and efforts towards teaching stewardship to our community. The benefits for all that have experienced the clinics, whether as a participant, volunteer, or a parent, have been enriched by the positive message delivered. The smiles from the keiki having their first experience of being in and on the ocean has given them the confidence needed to reach beyond their comfort zones and try something new. In many ways Na Kama Kai has empowered so many, in so many different ways. Mahalo to good people that make Na Kama Kai happened each month.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Nā Kama Kai (Children of the Sea) is an excellent organization that shares its passion of the ocean with all children (young and old). Not only has Nā Kama Kai made a positive impact to the children but also to the volunteers that have the wonderful opportunity to work individually with each child. Through generous volunteers, donations, and sponsors, Nā Kama Kai has been able to provide free monthly ocean clinics around the entire island of Oahu and has even made special trips elsewhere. I joined Nā Kama Kai, first as a volunteer then as a Board Member, because I strongly believe in this organization and its mission of "empowering youth by ...specifically targeting ocean safety and conservation awareness to increase the capacity of the youth..."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

enjoying the excitement in each child's face. It's very rewarding to talk to the child after they've finished because they can't stop smiling or talking! I love seeing them return to the next month's clinic because I know we're making a positive difference in the child's life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers