Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 19, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 19, 2012

I am the only active family member participating in my sister’s care. She is disabled with early onset Alzheimer’s disease.

This program gave me a much/and long overdue respite relief and support. It recharged my soul with a sense of community and that we all need to take in a
constant flow of giving and receiving. I was also informed of other programs/support groups to continue on my journey.

Na Hoaloha is a wonderful organization! And I thank YOU.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

I am the sole caregiver for my grandmother and my mother. Every Monday for two hours I get help. A Na Hoaloha volunteer watches my family members so I can have a break away from the 24 hour 7 day per week care I give.

For these two hours I forget my responsibilities and let my body and
head take a break. Sometimes I walk, or go to a movie, go to the store, or to the doctor, but those two hours are mine. And it recharges my senses and relieves my stress.

I feel safe and comfortable with my volunteer caring for my family. She is always upbeat, on time, professional and especially good natured. Thank you Na Hoaloha for this help!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

I want to share what I consider a very important story about Na Hoaloha and my experience with this GREAT organization. I quit my job about 5 years ago. I have worked since I was 16 years old and now I am a senior citizen here on Maui. Since I had worked all of my life I felt the need to do something besides just sitting home and taking it easy so I checked with Kaunoa RSVP to see what kind of volunteer work was available. I have always wanted to “help others” but was too busy with work to do anything.

I met with Gerri Shapiro from Na Hoaloha - Neighbors Helping Neighbors and was happy to find out there was a need. I have always worked in an office and was good on the phone with people so I started with calling people who were homebound or people who just wanted a “friend” to talk to.

I have talked with a young man in Lahaina who was disabled and had no family here on Maui. I talked with an older woman in Haiku who just wanted someone to talk to so she didn’t feel lonely. I talked to a man who lost his wife last year and was feeling down and lonely. I had so much FUN talking to these people and guess what?? It made me feel better too!

One day as I was talking to Gerri I asked her since I live alone here what would I do if something were ever to happen to me. She said “you’ll call us and we will help you”. I never forgot that sentence because I knew if I had a problem that I could call Neighbors Helping Neighbors.

I wish that this was the end of the story but........ two months ago I had a horrific car accident. My car was totaled and so was I. I had one of my friends call Na Hoaloha to tell them that I could not continue to make my calls because I was in the hospital without a phone. They called the man that I was talking to as part of my volunteer work and he came to the hospital to visit ME! It meant so much to me and showed me what a difference you can make by volunteering.

The end of my story shows what good comes from volunteering . I have been home for a little over a month now (after spending a month in hospitals). My friends were trying to help me, but I could see that it was becoming too much for them. So I called Na Hoaloha and asked for help.

I don’t know what I would have done without them. My two volunteers are Irene and Art. They are wonderful, caring people who have taken me to my doctor appointments (I have had over 20 appointments since I got out of the hospital, and I have many more to come).

All though all 3 of us are disabled, we still help others. Just putting a smile on someone’s face is part of volunteering. I found that out when I spent time at Hale Makua. There were so many people sitting there all alone and I took the time to stop and talk to them. I am sure that it helped me to recover faster as it put a smile on my face too.
Thank you Na Hoaloha!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2010

One year ago I experienced severe health problems and I asked for assistance for someone to accompany me to medical appointments and to help me with shopping trips as my vision only allows local driving. Na Hoaloha assigned me a volunteer who helps me in every way, and has largely been responsible for getting my life back on track (at 86!) She is an incredible and a dearly loved friend. Thank you for putting her in my life!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Na Hoaloha is run with a lovely human spirit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Compassionate and warm-hearted staff and volunteers.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Terrific!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Expand its programs and services.

Ways to make it better...

Couldn't be better.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Need more staff to handle all the referrals.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I am blessed to have the services of Na Hoaloha to help me.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 15, 2009

more

October 15, 2009

Mom has been happier now than I've ever seen her. Praise God there is still some joy for her after being diagnosed with Alzheimer's Disease. This was all thanks to the volunteer provided to our family by Na Hoaloha-Neighbors Helping Neighbors. We are so grateful for all their kindness and caring, and were absolutely been won over by the young woman they sent us. It isn’t easy to find someone who can bond that well with an 85 year old woman with dementia. I would recommend her for anyone needing a caring, humane, thoughtful,cheerful person.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

all generous and compassionate... and willing to go the extra mile to help our family.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers