Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.863645
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 26, 2014

more

July 26, 2014

I have been a sponsor for many years now. MER has been helping horses for 20 years. I have sponsored several horses over the years and the dedication these people have to the horses is just amamzing. Many of these horses are older and require so much care. They feed 4 times a day, which surprsied me. It was explained in one of the sponsor letters that they do a late night feeding around 8pm to check on all the horses. If one of the horses is not well, it is better to get a handle on the problem then having the horse wait until the next morning. They start feeding at 5am. This truly is 24/7. The sponsor letters make me feel included in the day to day care of the horses. I was so happy to hear MER won one of the five ASPCA grants from Help a Horse Day. What a wonderful honor for such well deserved folks.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

CONGRATULATIONS on winning a $10,000 grant from the ASPCA! What an accomplishment! I have been a long time sponsor of 3 horses for many many years now. Each month I receive a letter that shares what goes on at the farm. All the horses are mentioned, which isn't an easy task. Even though I live far from the farm when I read that letter I feel as though I am right there. The dedication these folks have to to these horses is amazing. If there is a sick rescue horse we will read about it, SusanKelly and Bruce up all night caring for the horse. In my letter I receive pictures of the horses I sponsor. Sponsorship is a wonderful way to see where your donation goes!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My family has visited Mylestone on many occasions and we have enjoyed visiting with the rescue horses. We have attended both their annual Open House and had a private tour. The tour was very informative. The volunteers really know the history of the horses and their medical issues. Many of these horses were terribly abused and react differently than regular horses would at a riding facility. These are horses no one wanted that people starved, abandoned and abused or were in kill pens at auctions that could have gone for horse slaughter. If the horses don't find adoptive homes, they stay with Mylestone for the rest of their lives. We were surprised to find out that many of the horses have been with the rescue for 10+ years because people had not shown interest in adopting them. That really shows the compassion and determination Mylestone has in providing for the rescue horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish I lived closer to be able to volunteer!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Mylestone Equine Rescue exemplifies the standard that all rescues should work toward achieving. I am impressed by their professionalism, but also, by their compassion, because they take in horses that have been abused and/or neglected. They work diligently to accommodate special needs horses. The farm is exceptionally clean. All buildings and fences are maintained for the safety of their residents. Mylestone Equine Rescue has an Open House every year in October. Go spend a few hours there on that day. You will see what a wonderful organization it is, and how all of their horses are so loved and well cared for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 15, 2013

On my first day of volunteering at Mylestone Equine Rescue (MER), I didn’t know what to expect. When I arrived, Bruce and Susankelly Thomspon, as well as the volunteers welcomed me in as if I was a... more

June 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for over 6 years and a Board Member for 4. I have never seen a rescue so dedicated to the care and welfare of horses. Mylestone does everything they can for all horses, whether they are on the farm, helping an owner in time of need, helping getting horses adopted and networking to raise awareness of the plight of these beautiful animals. I serve Mylestone proudly, not only because of the dedication this organization has to ensure that the horses have a good quality of life but to the care and concern they have for their volunteers and employees. I look forward to many more years with this organization and be apart of this wonderful experience of caring for horses!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 15, 2013

On my first day of volunteering at Mylestone Equine Rescue (MER), I didn’t know what to expect. When I arrived, Bruce and Susankelly Thomspon, as well as the volunteers welcomed me in as if I was a part of the family. Susankelly understands that not only do these horses need us, but we need them as well, so despite having no experience with horses, she encouraged me to learn as much as I could. As I was being given a tour of the farm, I couldn’t help but think how lucky these horses were to finally find a home where they could live out the rest of their lives being loved and cared for. It was at that moment, that I spotted him. He wasn’t a big horse and didn’t seem overly eager to meet me. I was told he was severely abused and afraid. It was at that moment, looking into this poor creatures eyes that I fell in love. Needless to say, he allowed me into his heart and we formed a bond that was truly something special. Although he has since passed on, I hold that experience close to my heart and that is what pushes me to do more for these horses. In the 5 years I have been volunteering at MER, it has truly been a life-changing experience for me. Susankelly and Bruce Thompson have strived to save these horses and give them a chance at having a good life. Through volunteering at the farm and fundraising MER is able to help so many horses in need. I am proud to be a part of it. If you are looking to have an experience that will enrich your life in some way, volunteering at Mylestone is the place to go. There are so many ways in which you can be a part of Mylestone. You will never forget it and I’m sure you’ll come out of it having such a unique experience as I have.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 15, 2013

We will continue our financial support this year and probably beyond. This seems to be a really well managed operation with good direction. We're for helping the horses, and they do it best of any w... more

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a magical place. Many of the horses are just beginning their recovery from abuse and abandonment by previous owners. Some were rescued the last minute from destruction because people could not afford to take care of them. Others have become fit and others are already in new homes. Have gone to their annual open house several years, and you can see the horses look better as time goes by.
A well kept, clean place. Open house is a lot of fun. They can always use volunteers to help care for the horses

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 15, 2013

We will continue our financial support this year and probably beyond. This seems to be a really well managed operation with good direction. We're for helping the horses, and they do it best of any we've checked into in the central Atlantic area. Great annual open house. Nice people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am always so impressed with how wonderfully the horses at Mylestone are cared for and how clean and well-kept the farm is. I have been on a tour as well as to several Open Houses at Mylestone. The love and devotion for horses that would have often ended up at slaughter or died a cruel and terrible death is everywhere - all the volunteers clearly care about the horses and talk about how each one is special. While it would be wonderful if more people could open their homes to horses that can only be companions, at least the horses will be safe and loved and get the best of care for as long as they live at Mylestone. Mylestone is a one-of-a-kind rescue, the extraordinary kind.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Visited this Mylestone Equine rescue for an event and many horses looked lonely and not well cared for. One horse who was all alone seemed awful stressed and not right mentally. Depressing place overall. Was disappointed in horses living conditions. Gave a donation because I felt sorry for them but would not give again because they don't seem to manage place well. Had heard good things before I went there but was not at all what cracked up to be.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If there was such a thing as an Angel for Horses, SusanKelly is it! This charity takes old, abandoned, abused, slaughterhouse bound horses and nurses them back to health. SusanKelly is very sensitive to the needs of the horses, sitting up at night with a sick one, or ready to feed meals round the clock to another.

The horses thrive under her care and the care of the many volunteers. Some of the horses are lucky enough to be adopted to good homes. Others (most of them) live out their lives with a dignity that they may never have experienced before. The transformation from frightened animal to loving pet is remarkable.

Each horse has a unique personality and they are all celebrated at Mylestone. SusanKelly's charity, Mylestone Equine Rescue has tremendous costs due to the medical and nuitritional needs of the horses (and at this time also one goat that is the companion of a pony). This charity is run by a warm caring horselover. Her monthly newsletters detail the horses and their progress. You can feel the love in them. I love this charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of Mylestone for about 9-10 years and believe strongly in their mission, what they do and how they carry it out. Their life's dedication to the horses that have been mistreated, starved, to be sold at auction and slaughtered and help to other supporting equine organizations is not only noteworthy but deserved special recognition. The owners are compassionate, caring and generous individuals. I have visited many times and each time come away with a enriched and peaceful feeling that at least about 30 horses sharing this planet with us are getting their due and living the rest of their lives in a supportive and loving environment. Mylestone Equine Rescue is one of the best charity organizations I know.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The owners and board know what they need and are forward looking in their approach.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers