Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 9, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

My Safe Harbor has one of the most unique programs in Orange County for underprivileged, sometimes undereducated, single mothers who are struggling. After preparing for the year long program through attendance at Mother's Club, these mothers are ready to work very hard to look at how they are interacting and communicating with their family members, how they were parented and how they are currently parenting, how they handle their finances, and taking a good long look at their heart/soul/mind. The graduates come back (part of the requirements of the program is to give back) and help the new cohort prepare for the year long journey. It is a truly transforming program with many alumni now. We need volunteers and donations. As a Board member for a few years, I am proud to ask. It is a program very worth supporting!!
March 9, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I had the opportunity to serve as a visitor, mentor, elective facilitator and ultimately a donor for this wonderful organization. I observed first-hand, the journeys these women embarked upon. It was heartwarming to see how they gathered together, welcomed new members into the good, and encouraged and supported each other.

Most importantly, it was the increased faith, knowledge, and confidence that were their building blocks. The program structure and resources MSH offers women allows them to grow personally, professionally, and spiritually

It's a beautiful transition that begins with trepidation and ends in confidence. And the most amazing part is that the graduates become the volunteers, facilitators, and mentors.

This is a wonderful program that needs to grow and be replicated in every community. Stop by for a visit and see for yourself.
March 9, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful organization. They truly care for each of the women they serve and treat then like family. I had a great experience volunteering for them and plan to continue my involvement. I have seen many women's lives (and their children's) dramatically changed through this organization.
April 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This organizatin is doing wonderful work with single mothers in the Anaheim, CA area. Children of single mothers represent the highest percentage of gang members, and My Safe Harbor is helping to reduce gang membership by providing single moms with skills and attitudes to be better parents. They hold Mother's Clubs (to get women together to learn skills and crafts), Electives (to teach specific skills), and the Stong Families Institute, which is a certificate program that deal with all elements of raising a family. In just three years, they have already graduated 22 women from SFI. These graduates have then been able to mentor following classes. All in all, over 150 women and 300 children have been positively affected by the programs of My Safe Harbor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from JustGive
December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My Safe Harbor is enabling single mothers in Anaheim, CA learn to be productive, independent citizens and better parents. Through programs like Mother's Club, Learning Electives and Strong Families Institute, mothers are learning how to raise children that will stay out of gangs, and become great parents themselves. Moms learn everything from fun crafts with their kids, to cooking nutritious and inexpensive meals, to budgeting and financial tools, to self-evaluation and self-confidence. MSH has already affected the lives of over a hundred mothers and several hundred children in just three years. The most telling statistic is that several of the graduates of the Strong Families Institure have become mentors for women in following groups.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers