Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

My Possibilities is the ONLY "day hab" that provides actual, meaningful instruction. The staff recognizes that HIPSTERS are quite capable of improving employability and self help skills and work with each individual to help them be the best they can be! My Possibilities is so unique and special.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

My Possibilities is a non-profit organization desperately needed in our community. Children with disabilities that age out of the local school system now have a day center that treats them with respect, dignity, and kindness. Adults with Disabilities or what My Possibilities likes to call - HIPsters (Hugely Important People) are taught vocational skills; work skills, livings skills, etc. My Possibilities uses music therapy, art therapy and much, much more. I have never seen a more dedicated staff and group of volunteers than those at My Possibilities. Visit their facility and see if you are not moved by what is happening there! The power of love and kindness is overflowing and is helping so many people. My heart overflows every time I am there. As a parent, I have looked into the eyes of some of the HIPsters' parents and have seen the relief. I have spoken to them and they are so thankful that My Possibilities exists. As one mom said to me on the dance floor at the MP Gala (which was really a prom for the HIPsters), "She is so happy. I cannot believe she is all dressed up and out on a dance floor having so much fun. I never thought that she or I would ever experience this." Ugh! I hugged her and my child without a disability and my husband watched and felt the live and joy danced with HIPsters and their families as they smiled and simply had the time of their lives. My Possibilities is just awesome!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I have volunteered for years with My Possibilities because I believe in their mission and they work so hard it makes you want to join in and work hard too for these hugely important people they support. Everyone on the staff there goes the extra mile and you see it in everything MP does. Their building is one of the happiest places in town where people feel comfortable, learn and express themselves. It's amazing to see people with disabilities come and enjoy all the things that we take for granted whether it be earning a paycheck, creating a piece of art work, hanging out with friends at social events... It's all happening here. I remember when this place was just a small startup and now they are servicing so many families. The special needs community is greatly under served in our country and it is wonderful to see a non-profit set up and be exactly what these people needed and more.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

My Possibilities is like no other!!! My family has looked for a program for my brother for years and now that I am in the Plano area our lives have been changed for the better! My brother is happier than he has been in years - all thanks to the joy My Possibilities gives him! Every teacher and volunteer is fully devoted to the program, the HIPsters and their families. Truly an incredible place!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

Great place for Adults with Disabilities with Staff that go above and beyond to continue in each and every one of the clients the places they need help with becoming a fully independent Adult.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I don't have a family member with disabilities, but my whole family assisted with some of the set up of My Possibilities (designing the logo, setting up the first website etc.) and all of us happily volunteered our time over the past 5 years.

Due to my personal volunteering, I was asked
to join the MP Staff team on a part-time basis in 2010 As MP has grown this position is now a full time position. Not only does MP look after the HIPsters, they also look after their staff too! We are all one big family. I love working here and spending some time each day with the wonderful HIPsters who attend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at My Possibilities as a receptionist since I retired from my "real job" last March. My Possibilities provides training, fun and socialization for adults with cognitive disabilities known as HIPsters. (Hugely Important People) Aside from learning, HIPsters are happy and productive in this environment. It's a rocking place to be. I enjoy working there and I think MP accomplishes great things!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My Possibilities is a one-of-a-kind nonprofit organization offering adults with disabilities continued education and socialization opportunities. It allows the HIPsters to become confident and independent individuals. I've learned so much about myself and others in the short time I've been here. It's been such a rewarding experience so far!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Been volunteering here for a couple of years now, and I cannot even express how much I LOVE My Possibilities! The staff is beyond fabulous, and the HIPsters receive such an enriching program with their time here!

Back in 2007, I first learned about MP when I was working as a special
education teacher at a nearby high school. Part of my responsibilities included helping parents and guardians seek out options for their special needs student post graduation. During my time as an educator, I toured and experienced many different local day habilitation and workshop programs, and I can say with confidence that this is the ONLY one I would let my own child attend.

Even my friends and my family all know how in love I am with this facility. I find myself singing the praises of MP all over town, in line at the grocery store, at the dog park, everywhere!

I encourage any parent to call for information and a tour, and I encourage any private citizen to consider making a donation of either time, money, or perhaps a product and/or professional service to benefit MP at upcoming fundraisers and silent auctions!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in our program by assisting a teacher in the classroom or on a community outing. Volunteer