Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I started working with My Angel with Paws just over a year ago, August 2014 When I recived a service dog from the organization. I came to the organization looking for a dog that might help with the injuries I recived in the United States Marine Corps durning my several deployments to Afghanistan. What I got from the organization was not only a Angel with paws the word dog just isnt an accurate statment for my life compainion, but also a family and since of belonging to something bigger than myself and a group that saw me as a person not a man with a unifrom. Since that first meeting and after reciving my life compainion I have continued volunteer my time to the organization to give back to a group that have given me not only my viability and life back but has also taught me how to live.
May 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

All the people associated with My Angel With Paws have been helpful, knowledgeable, compassionate and informed in my obtaining my forever friend, partner and service dog, Dora. Chris has a big heart and is an excellent dog trainer. She brings together a rewarding union between canine and client, bonding both into a working team. Since receiving my Labrador Retriever, Dora, I no longer am taking a back-seat in life. We go places, have a greater involvement in life and our confidence level is at an all time high. The experience associated with obtaining a service dog was one of the my most rewarding experiences. Since I became diagnosed with multiple autoimmune issues and disabilities over 10 years ago, I am more than happy. My Angel With Paws has help strengthened my ABILITIES! Thank You, MAWP!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I met Chris at My Angel with Paws about a year ago. I had been working with a rescue I had adopted from the animal shelter but he just wasn't working out for what I needed & Chris recognized that right away. Once I was introduced to Edge a beautiful Golden Retriever it wasn't long after that the journey began. It has completely changed my life! Since my brain surgery in 2005 I had become very insecure & very depressed. I had no desire to go out anywhere. I almost backed out because I did not think I would ever be able to go through with the Partner Training. But Chris & Titus were so understanding of my situation. With that experience & receiving my service dog Edge I now have the confidence & the desire to get out & go places. Edge is not only my balance~brace support, he is my forever companion. I can't say enough...thank them enough...for all they do! They are always there for continued support too!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard of MAWP while I was in the hospital recovering from a brain injury. MAWP is unlike any other organization, training and placing service dogs to people in need for no charge. It is a true service. They took the time to meet with me to not only determine which dog chooses me, but to educate me about what having a service dog entails and how it can change my life. That's exactly what Cricket, my service dog has done. Before I met Cricket, I could not walk on my own, nor did I have the confidence or sense of safety that she provides. It is now almost 2 years since I got a service dog and I not only returned to college, but I am pursuing a masters degree and now independently walking. I owe everything to MAWP, and I cannot thank them enough. I would not be where I am today without their support and my companion, Cricket.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My Dad has had Parkinsons now for several years, and realizing a service dog could be of help to he and his wife, they became part of this organization to be trained on using a god and to be in line for receiving one. But it turned out to be so much more a blessing then either of them ever expected. The family of trainers and supporters that they've adopted in this organization, in addition to Gia, their service dog, have all helped immensely, what a fantastic community and service these folks provide. My Dad has not been this alive and happy in a while!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them become nationwide.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2012

I have mobility problems and fall easily. We were so fortunate to have met Chris at My Angel With Paws, teaching us to train our then 8-week old German Shepherd puppy on the road to becoming a Balanc... more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We met Chris, the Director at My Angel With Paws, a few years ago. My husband and I have been training our German Shepherd since he was a puppy to be a Balance Assist Service Dog for me. Of course, he helps me in so many other ways, too. Chris and the other volunteer trainers have been working weekly with us for about 2 years now. They are all so knowledgeable, encouraging, patient and caring and really want us to succeed. Nicky has come a long way since he was a little 8-week old puppy - thanks to them. He's becoming an awesome Service Dog and a BIG help to me! In the two years we've been with them, and seeing the dedicated volunteer puppy raisers, we've seen many dogs paired with their forever person. They even have a graduation ceremony, which really brings tears to your eyes when you see the interaction, love and great pride between the disabled person and their dog partners. The dogs really change the forever persons lives forever and give them their independence back! Such an amazing Organization!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have mobility problems and fall easily. We were so fortunate to have met Chris at My Angel With Paws, teaching us to train our then 8-week old German Shepherd puppy on the road to becoming a Balance Assist Service Dog for me. She and the other volunteer instructors have been working weekly with us for a year and a half now. They are all so patient and caring and really want us to succeed. Nicky has come a long way, thanks to them. He's going to be an awesome Service Dog and a BIG help to me! It's really amazing to see the dogs paired with their forever person. They even have a graduation ceremony, which really brings tears to your eyes when you see the interaction, love and great pride between the disabled people with their partners. They really do change their forever persons life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I thought all hope was lost I found My Angel With Paws. Most service dog organizations will tell you to fill out an application and when they have an available dog in 3 to 7 years they will contact you. The Executive Director of this 100% volunteer organization called me personally and assured me that someway, somehow, my child's needs would be met as quickly as possible. As the mother of a special needs child with Autism, severe PTSD, ADHD, intellectually Disabilities, and Mobility Issues, where do you turn when all the specialists tell you a service dog is urgently needed and will change your child's life and put her on the road to recovery? After speaking with many organizations, with layers of administration, My Angel With Paws stepped up and met my needs by compassionate people. They embraced my child and went above and beyond. They have given me hope, changed my child's life, started her on the road to recovery, ensured that she will have a lifelong companion and provided me with renewed faith that there are nonprofits who uphold the public's trust, what every nonprofit pledges to do. They are to be commended for their heartfelt commitment and compassion to those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing other than personally work harder to ensure they have the resources they need to continue the important work they do for people with disabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My Angel With Paws has been amazing to deal with! I'm a 24 year old with a rare disorder called Dysautonomia. It affects nearly every system in my body, and they were so understanding. I've never been treated better than when I'm at MYWP (MY Angel with Paws). They know my limitations and work so hard to teach me and my future service dog (whoever it may be...we're still matching) without pushing me too hard. Also, my needs are changing now, since I'm getting sicker lately and they continue to work with me to match me with a service dog appropriately. :-) They've even offered to keep in touch after placing the dog so that we can keep training and alter trainings as my condition deteriorates. They've been truly amazing, and their policy on pricing has been a God-send as without this program I could never afford a service dog. They charge a $50 adoption fee, normally a service dog costs $8,000 or more! (And they told me that they never turn someone away for not being able to pay, so they're even more amazing at a second glance!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

my name is katelyn martin and I have cerebral palsy and am on the waiting list for a service dog . I cant wait to see how it will change my life

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am extremely for fortunate to be a client of My Angel with Paws ("MAWP"), and to be partnered with Chancey, my service dog and friend. Having had a service dog trained by another organization, and having been involved with several other organizations, I've never met trainers more competent, consistent and, most importantly, compassionate with dogs than those at MAWP. From the beginning of my relationship with them, Chris, Marilyn, Pat, Rita and the other trainers, handlers and other volunteers have been very patient with and kind to me, though, admittedly, I have not been the easiest of students. They have gone out of their, even coming to my house to help me deal with specific. I enjoy going to training classes and other events on a regular basis, though not required, for the camaraderie and for the education. The most impressive aspect, and what sets MAWP apart from and ahead of all other trainers I've met is their collective belief that the dog always comes first.=

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers