Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.9255
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What started as a walk by the My Angel With Paws booth at a community event, to becoming a service dog owner and board member has been very special. I stand in awe at the dedication of these volunteers. They ensure these puppies are raised with love, compassion, positive reinforcement, and most of all the skills needed to ensure a lifetime of success and independence to our clients. As for working around the dogs....what a bonus!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

AWGOME GROUP DOING AMAZING THINGS FOR OUR COMMUNITY

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been associated with My Angel With Paws since it's inception and continue to an active Boatd member, puppy raiser, trainer and volunteer. It is a quality organization dedicated to placing fully trained service dogs with individuals who are physically challanged. Their commitment to the clients and animals continues for the life of the dog. Although they have been operating just since 2009, they have had many successful placemtns and are looking forward to their second graduating class in 2013. They are making a huge difference for many people in the handicapped community. They are also involved with therapy work, reading programs for chidlren and educational programs for community organizations. All in all, they are a great asset to the communities that they serve.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Great Cause and a very need in the area. My Angel with Paws does a great job and is professional.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2011

more

July 2, 2011

I am a high school senior and volunteer for My Angel With Paws. I have been helping train for several months now. Being able to help train dogs that are going to change someones' life around is truely an amazing experience. Know that I was apart of changing the life of someone for the better is the greatest feeling ever. Though my experience with My Angel With Paws I have not only learned about training dogs, but I have learned much about people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way I see dog and client connect. I have seen the many smiles on their faces and the dog's willingness to please that one person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

decide not to make changes.

June 29, 2011

more

June 29, 2011

My first service dog passed away after we had been a team for 11 years. I had applied for a successor dog, but after months turned into years, I realized that the current coordinators were not working towards matching me with another companion. And then, a gift from god. I met chris, the executive director of MAWP. She listened to my tale, had me fill out an application and she proceeded to work with me. In just a few weeks, she got in touch with me and set up a home visit.

Within a couple of months, I was invited to meet my wonderful service dog, snickers. Having gone through team training once, I thought I knew it all. How wrong I was! Chris taught me things I had never known. Her love for her clients and her dogs surpasses anybody I have ever known. It was a tough 2 weeks and chris expected a lot from us, and would not settle for less. She taught me to be a good handler.

Everyone associated with MAWP is so committed to their clients, and they are all volunteers. The relationship does not end when training is over, meetings are set up to see how then team is doing at home, making sure that both the dog and the handler are happy and safe.

My life changed on that october night when i met chris. I don't know how she does it, but she knew that snickers was the dog for me. He accompanies me on my trips to NY and he truly is my rock. Snickers makes each day fun as we do our daily chores.

None of this would be possible withoutMAWP, their volunteers and my personal angel, chris.
Snickers and I are eternally grateful.





The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daily life

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that the public is aware of the wonderful work that is being done by MAWP. Find someone who can do fundraising.

June 29, 2011

more

June 29, 2011

At the Peotone fair last year I came across the MAWP booth. I was riding my scooter and went to the booth to see what MAWP had to offer. I was told that due to my mobility issues I could be a candidate for a service dog. I filled out my application and as I am waiting for my "forever" service dog, I have observed training and have shared in a good friends puppy raising responsibilities. The more I have observed this organization the more I would like to be a part of it and those they help. Having MAWP start a Midwest division (where I live) will be so helpful to the many disabled community members. Chris the director and Sarah T have been instrumental in helping my friend and I with training a puppy and answering all our questions and concerns. My story will continue on as I wait for the perfect service dog to meet my specific needs but as I continue to wait others have received their dog and have gained companionship and increased independance. I can't wait!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

observing training and consulting one on one with the director and the midwest trainer. They have made the long trek to where I live to meet and work on dog issues or just discuss the next step in obtaining a service dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see a building for the midwest division to use and have more trainers available. I would like to see more education in local clubs or schools to educate the public on service dogs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My ten year daughter, Alia had been on a waiting list for a service dog for several years when I first learned of My Angel With Paws. One day while speaking to a friend I shared my wish for Alia to get a service dog, a companion that would love her, assist her and belong only to her. My friend referred me to My Angel With Paws, by that afternoon I was introduced to My Angel With Paws and very shortly after Alia was given her life changing dog, Angel. From the first day Alia met Angel they connected and Angel became Alia's true life Angel through love, loyalty and friendship. Chris, the Executive Director, directly taught me how to train Angel through extensive training classes, support and care. I have never met a more dedicated individual to her dogs and her organization than Chris and her trainers. Because of her dedication, love for her dogs and her clients, Alia now has her Angel and we will forever be thankful to my Angel With Paws for such a blessing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By seeing direct results of incredible service dogs being placed with incredible children and adults who otherwise may not have companions, services or the kind of love these dogs can give. They truly change the lives of their clients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See more funding come to them as they so well deserve.

June 26, 2011

more

June 26, 2011

I serve as the President of the Board of Directors, Event Coordinator, trainer, puppy raiser and breeder care taker. As a dog breeder, responsible owner, trainer and dog lover I have participated in all parts of the dog world. No part has captured my heart and soul like My Angel With Paws.
This organization is truly, a volunteer organization. All the volunteers put their hearts and souls into it. No one has ever given up even in the toughest times.
I am the kind of person that when I commmit to something I do it 100%. I find many like minded people at My Angel With Paws. No matter what the challenges, everyone associated with this organization puts the dogs first and serves as a voice for them.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have successfully trained a lab that has been placed as a full service dog. The support from the trainer and other raisers was fantastic and I was never left on my own. Questions were answered quickly and accurately. I am now training my second dog for MAWP and plan to do a third. I have coordinated getting volunteers, paperwork and participating in numerous community events in Florida. Getting volunteers is easy and everyone participates.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see us continue to grow and develop our services to those with all types of disabilities. I would like to see us expand our fundraising base including grants and larger donations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I was involved in rasing a service dog for another organization and moved to My Angel With Paws at the completion of that dog's training.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Training dogs and placing them with the appropriate support for client and dog

What is its top priority in the long run?

Having the long term funding needed to improve facilities, educate the community and participate in events that promote the understanding of persons with disabilities.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My Angel With Paws currently and will always retain the true spirit of a non profit organization. Every volunteer involved feels an ownership of this organization, welcoming new volunteers and working tirelessly to ensure the organization moves forward in a positive manner. As founder and Executive Director I am honored and humbled to be a part of this wonderful organization and its cause. The training and placing of service dogs to enhance the lives of individuals in need is the most amazing and wonderful experience of my life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When placing a service dog with his partner I have watched the lives of both the recipient of a service dog and the wonderful dog become a partnership and whole. I have been able to witness a physically challenged individual that has been reclusive become confident, independent and outgoing. I have witnessed an individual that no longer feels a burden to family and friends because of his/her service dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is pure and on the right track. The changes required would be to find the appropriate funding for various projects; a climate controlled facility for training and the kennels, for spay/neuters, health certification, salaries for the executive director, advanced trainer, clerical support, etc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Expertly training and placing service dogs with children and adults with physical or emotional challenges.

What is its top priority in the long run?

My Angel With Paws will continue to successfully train and place service dogs with their partners while continually education the public about individuals with disabilities and service dogs.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers