Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.9255
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 23, 2013

more

June 23, 2013

My Dad has had Parkinsons now for several years, and realizing a service dog could be of help to he and his wife, they became part of this organization to be trained on using a god and to be in line for receiving one. But it turned out to be so much more a blessing then either of them ever expected. The family of trainers and supporters that they've adopted in this organization, in addition to Gia, their service dog, have all helped immensely, what a fantastic community and service these folks provide. My Dad has not been this alive and happy in a while!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them become nationwide.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2012

I have mobility problems and fall easily. We were so fortunate to have met Chris at My Angel With Paws, teaching us to train our then 8-week old German Shepherd puppy on the road to becoming a Balanc... more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We met Chris, the Director at My Angel With Paws, a few years ago. My husband and I have been training our German Shepherd since he was a puppy to be a Balance Assist Service Dog for me. Of course, he helps me in so many other ways, too. Chris and the other volunteer trainers have been working weekly with us for about 2 years now. They are all so knowledgeable, encouraging, patient and caring and really want us to succeed. Nicky has come a long way since he was a little 8-week old puppy - thanks to them. He's becoming an awesome Service Dog and a BIG help to me! In the two years we've been with them, and seeing the dedicated volunteer puppy raisers, we've seen many dogs paired with their forever person. They even have a graduation ceremony, which really brings tears to your eyes when you see the interaction, love and great pride between the disabled person and their dog partners. The dogs really change the forever persons lives forever and give them their independence back! Such an amazing Organization!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have mobility problems and fall easily. We were so fortunate to have met Chris at My Angel With Paws, teaching us to train our then 8-week old German Shepherd puppy on the road to becoming a Balance Assist Service Dog for me. She and the other volunteer instructors have been working weekly with us for a year and a half now. They are all so patient and caring and really want us to succeed. Nicky has come a long way, thanks to them. He's going to be an awesome Service Dog and a BIG help to me! It's really amazing to see the dogs paired with their forever person. They even have a graduation ceremony, which really brings tears to your eyes when you see the interaction, love and great pride between the disabled people with their partners. They really do change their forever persons life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

When I thought all hope was lost I found My Angel With Paws. Most service dog organizations will tell you to fill out an application and when they have an available dog in 3 to 7 years they will contact you. The Executive Director of this 100% volunteer organization called me personally and assured me that someway, somehow, my child's needs would be met as quickly as possible. As the mother of a special needs child with Autism, severe PTSD, ADHD, intellectually Disabilities, and Mobility Issues, where do you turn when all the specialists tell you a service dog is urgently needed and will change your child's life and put her on the road to recovery? After speaking with many organizations, with layers of administration, My Angel With Paws stepped up and met my needs by compassionate people. They embraced my child and went above and beyond. They have given me hope, changed my child's life, started her on the road to recovery, ensured that she will have a lifelong companion and provided me with renewed faith that there are nonprofits who uphold the public's trust, what every nonprofit pledges to do. They are to be commended for their heartfelt commitment and compassion to those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing other than personally work harder to ensure they have the resources they need to continue the important work they do for people with disabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 7, 2012

I am a volunteer and Board Member with My Angel With Paws. This organization is staffed by volunteers and raise and train Service Dogs for people with mobility disabilities. The support that the Ser... more

June 7, 2013

I have been a board member working with My Angel with Paws for several years. This organization provides many services to the community. As a 100% volunteer organization all efforts and funds go directly to the Breeding, Raising, Training and placement of Services Dogs. Help is also given to insure an ideal working relationship with the Partner and Service Dog. This bond goes beyond companionship. People have been able to become active and vital members in the community. Independence boost self esteem, mobility and purpose in life for so many. Marylou Weiner

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

I am a volunteer and Board Member with My Angel With Paws. This organization is staffed by volunteers and raise and train Service Dogs for people with mobility disabilities. The support that the Service Dog give their Partners is valuable to help them become independent and many times provide confidence they need to fulfill an active life that we all deserve to enjoy. These animals can have a profound impact on quality of life for our clients and their family. For me this is a very important way of contributing to our community. I am very Blessed and gratefut for an opportunity to help others. Marylou Weiner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2011

I have been on the Board of Directors as a volunteer for a short time(6mos.) The organization one that has touched my heart because of the bond that is created by the clients with their canine partners. This is an emotional bond as well as a physical one. The dogs give their partners assistance in mobility as well as self esteem.
I have been involved with other organizations in past years but My Angel With Paws is the MOST positive group effort that I have ever seen. The positive energy and group dynamics are extrordinary. This is an organization that is inspired by people with courage that guide those that just need a little assistance to have a full and rewarding life. Marylou Weiner ( fundraising)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have helped in organizing fund raising events and enlisting the local community in public relations and awareness of our mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am happy with the way the organization has grown over the past 2 years. It really just needs more time as well as monetary donations to continue it's growth to help more people find their potential. MLW

April 8, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 7, 2012

I am a board member and a puppy trainer for MAWP. It has been one of the best experiences I have had. Seeing what these dogs do for people and their families is truly amazing. I love everyone in th... more

April 8, 2013

I have been apart of My Angel With Paws since 2009. In that time I have raised 4 dogs (about to start the 5th) for the program. Everyone I have met with volunteering has become like a second family to me. The amount of passion and love that everyone has is absolutely delightful. When I started, I wasn't exactly sure how our saying "Miracles, one angel at a time" worked. Now I fully believe in it. I have seen our dogs help so many people in so many different ways. It is life changing. This organization is truly a great one!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a board member and a puppy trainer for MAWP. It has been one of the best experiences I have had. Seeing what these dogs do for people and their families is truly amazing. I love everyone in the organization and know that we all work so hard for this cause that we believe in so very much.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer puppy raiser for My Angel with Paws. I have raised 2 dogs for the organization and am now raising my third. My Angel with Paws does amazing things for people and am so proud to say I am apart of it. My Angel with Paws is always there to help me with my training of the puppies and will lend support anyway they can. They encourage meeting the person your dog will go to and forming a life long bond. I have been nothing but happy while volunteering for them.

Videos

Serena's Commands

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen dogs placed with people with disabilities and how much positive change the dogs have on their lives. It is like nothing I have ever seen before. The dogs pick their person and a forever bond is formed. These dogs literally and figuratively open doors for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build them a facility so they could help more people get these amazing dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It taught me how to train dogs and more about people with disabilities. I have met so many amazing people and have made so many new friends. The experience is like nothing I have ever done before. For example how many people get to take their dog on a cruise with them? It is so very cool!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Warm and fuzzy inside

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 28, 2012

My experience with My Angel With Paws has been amazing. Last spring I brought a new puppy into our family. My hope and dream with this new dog was to train her to be a therapy dog. I wanted so much... more

April 8, 2013

I have been a volunteer with My Angel With Paws (MAWP) for about two years now. My role is to make dog therapy visits with my dog at local nursing homes. This is something that I could not have done on my own. MAWP game me and my dog the training and confidence to do this work. They also opened doors for me because of their good reputation in our community.

The leaders of this organization give of themselves generously and tirelessly to train dogs that will make a difference in the lives of people who are in need. Not only do they help the people when the dogs are placed but they also often rescue dogs and give them better lives. Everyone, two legged and four legged, benefits.

I am just in awe of the people who train these dogs for service work and so thankful that I can be involved with this group and make a difference in the lives of others through the therapy work I am doing with my dog.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2012

My experience with My Angel With Paws has been amazing. Last spring I brought a new puppy into our family. My hope and dream with this new dog was to train her to be a therapy dog. I wanted so much to make a difference in the lives of others by taking my dog on visits to places like nursing homes, assisted living facilities, and hospitals. I had no idea how to go about this though. As if by design not far from my home I found there was a place that was willing to help my train my dog to do this work. Or should I say train me, because the knowledgeable people who lead the training classes had to start from scratch with me. They have patiently helped me to get my dog to the point where she is now ready to go about her work of brightening the lives of people with her visits and her cute tricks. I can't thank the people at My Angel With Paws enough for helping Skye and me be able to do this work. So not only is this organization placing service dogs but they are impacting the lives of many people in our community by sending therapy dogs out for visits. I am so thankful to have found MAWP and be working with this amazing group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get their name out in the public more so that others could be aware of the work they do and help support this worthwhile organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I have been volunteering for My Angel with Paws for one and a half years. I am always impressed with the care they take in matching dogs with people. They allow the dog to pick the person, therefore the dog is really devoted to that client. Great dedication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

My Angel With Paws has been amazing to deal with! I'm a 24 year old with a rare disorder called Dysautonomia. It affects nearly every system in my body, and they were so understanding. I've never been treated better than when I'm at MYWP (MY Angel with Paws). They know my limitations and work so hard to teach me and my future service dog (whoever it may be...we're still matching) without pushing me too hard. Also, my needs are changing now, since I'm getting sicker lately and they continue to work with me to match me with a service dog appropriately. :-) They've even offered to keep in touch after placing the dog so that we can keep training and alter trainings as my condition deteriorates. They've been truly amazing, and their policy on pricing has been a God-send as without this program I could never afford a service dog. They charge a $50 adoption fee, normally a service dog costs $8,000 or more! (And they told me that they never turn someone away for not being able to pay, so they're even more amazing at a second glance!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I am amazed at the dogs and the work that the volunteers and owners put into it. They teach you how to teach, You learn wonderful things. And to see one of your dogs handed over to the person in need is something that will make your heart melt. Everyone does a awesome job in what they do. I am honored to be a part of such a amazing group of people. The caring and time that they put into the dogs and trainers and people in general just warms the heart of any person around them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

my name is katelyn martin and I have cerebral palsy and am on the waiting list for a service dog . I cant wait to see how it will change my life

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers