Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.934785
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

All the people associated with My Angel With Paws have been helpful, knowledgeable, compassionate and informed in my obtaining my forever friend, partner and service dog, Dora. Chris has a big heart and is an excellent dog trainer. She brings together a rewarding union between canine and client, bonding both into a working team. Since receiving my Labrador Retriever, Dora, I no longer am taking a back-seat in life. We go places, have a greater involvement in life and our confidence level is at an all time high. The experience associated with obtaining a service dog was one of the my most rewarding experiences. Since I became diagnosed with multiple autoimmune issues and disabilities over 10 years ago, I am more than happy. My Angel With Paws has help strengthened my ABILITIES! Thank You, MAWP!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

I met Chris at My Angel with Paws about a year ago. I had been working with a rescue I had adopted from the animal shelter but he just wasn't working out for what I needed & Chris recognized that right away. Once I was introduced to Edge a beautiful Golden Retriever it wasn't long after that the journey began. It has completely changed my life! Since my brain surgery in 2005 I had become very insecure & very depressed. I had no desire to go out anywhere. I almost backed out because I did not think I would ever be able to go through with the Partner Training. But Chris & Titus were so understanding of my situation. With that experience & receiving my service dog Edge I now have the confidence & the desire to get out & go places. Edge is not only my balance~brace support, he is my forever companion. I can't say enough...thank them enough...for all they do! They are always there for continued support too!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 25, 2014

more

May 25, 2014

I first heard of MAWP while I was in the hospital recovering from a brain injury. MAWP is unlike any other organization, training and placing service dogs to people in need for no charge. It is a true service. They took the time to meet with me to not only determine which dog chooses me, but to educate me about what having a service dog entails and how it can change my life. That's exactly what Cricket, my service dog has done. Before I met Cricket, I could not walk on my own, nor did I have the confidence or sense of safety that she provides. It is now almost 2 years since I got a service dog and I not only returned to college, but I am pursuing a masters degree and now independently walking. I owe everything to MAWP, and I cannot thank them enough. I would not be where I am today without their support and my companion, Cricket.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2014

more

May 11, 2014

When my husband and I decided that a service dog may benefit him in his journey with Parkinson's Disease, I started researching. When we made this decision we were all in together on it, no matter which way it turned out. I did my research and sadly found that it takes 2 to 6 years to get a fully trained service dog. It was discouraging because my husband was already 75 years old. We didn't have time to wait. Then, in a Parkinson's Disease journal I found out that My Angel with Paws was presenting at their next monthly meeting. I attended and was extremely impressed by the presentation. I immediately checked out their website, printed the application and sent it off to his neurologist to complete his part. That took awhile of course and a little prodding from me to get him to complete it. As soon as that was done we finished the application and sent it to My Angel with Paws. Then the waiting began. I even considered rescueing a dog and training it myself. Actually on the day we received our approval from My Angel with Paws, we had scheduled to meet a yellow lab that might fit our needs. However, as soon as our approval came from MAWP I knew that was our road to begin this journey. My husband was chosen by a most wonderful dog. Half Labrador and half golden retriever. She was young and not fully trained. MAWP trained me how to train her. To say it was successful is an understatement. She has lived and learned with us now for 1 and 1/2 years. Though my husbands disease is sadly progressing, she learns something new everyday to help him. She just knows, I don't know how but it is beautiful. I know I have said a lot about the dog but there is also something beautiful in the way everyone is treated at MAWP. When we are there we can be comfortable with the fact the my husband has a progressive disease. We are all the same in that everyone there is dealing with problems. No one judges him to be different. We are totally comfortable with them. I know I have to end this so I will by saying a loving thank you to My Angel with Paws for changing our lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell more people about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

I have been volunteering for My Angel with Paws for one and a half years. I am always impressed with the care they take in matching dogs with people. They allow the dog to pick the person, therefor... more

May 11, 2014

I have been volunteering for MAWP for 2 and1/2 years and I find the interigity of the people who run it to be impeckable. I always love going out to volunteer, it is like a big family, and we all the opportunity to put in our input. I feel it is a priviledge to help out there.
April 7, 2013

I have been volunteering for My Angel with Paws for one and a half years. I am always impressed with the care they take in matching dogs with people. They allow the dog to pick the person, therefore the dog is really devoted to that client. Great dedication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2012

I am a volunteer trainer. This is an amazing organization that truly cares about matching a trained service dog to the individual with special needs. It is so wonderful to see a trained dog give the... more

May 11, 2014

Getting a service dog is a blessing. If you are disabled and love dogs this is the place to be. This organization breeds and trains dogs to be service dogs. These well-trained dogs offer independence and love. How good it is to have help to do tasks that you can no longer do. These dogs help give confidence to someone who previously had none due to their disability. These people are no longer invisible when in public. They once again have dignity. The volunteers that help raise and train the dogs deserve gratitude for their selfless service since they know the dogs will eventually go to a disabled child or adult. These dogs are anxious to serve the disabled person and all they want in return is love. I have MS and my husband is also severely ill. What a relief to have another living creature physically and mentally help you when you are alone. This wonderful friendly creature is by your side.
November 19, 2012

I am a volunteer trainer. This is an amazing organization that truly cares about matching a trained service dog to the individual with special needs. It is so wonderful to see a trained dog give their 'all' for the disabled person that the dog has chosen. It is a wonderful feeling to see the bonding between the dog and the person that dog has chosen. It can bring tears to your eyes to see what the comradship that a unit of dog and person can do and mean for one another.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2013

more

June 23, 2013

My Dad has had Parkinsons now for several years, and realizing a service dog could be of help to he and his wife, they became part of this organization to be trained on using a god and to be in line for receiving one. But it turned out to be so much more a blessing then either of them ever expected. The family of trainers and supporters that they've adopted in this organization, in addition to Gia, their service dog, have all helped immensely, what a fantastic community and service these folks provide. My Dad has not been this alive and happy in a while!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them become nationwide.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2012

I have mobility problems and fall easily. We were so fortunate to have met Chris at My Angel With Paws, teaching us to train our then 8-week old German Shepherd puppy on the road to becoming a Balanc... more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We met Chris, the Director at My Angel With Paws, a few years ago. My husband and I have been training our German Shepherd since he was a puppy to be a Balance Assist Service Dog for me. Of course, he helps me in so many other ways, too. Chris and the other volunteer trainers have been working weekly with us for about 2 years now. They are all so knowledgeable, encouraging, patient and caring and really want us to succeed. Nicky has come a long way since he was a little 8-week old puppy - thanks to them. He's becoming an awesome Service Dog and a BIG help to me! In the two years we've been with them, and seeing the dedicated volunteer puppy raisers, we've seen many dogs paired with their forever person. They even have a graduation ceremony, which really brings tears to your eyes when you see the interaction, love and great pride between the disabled person and their dog partners. The dogs really change the forever persons lives forever and give them their independence back! Such an amazing Organization!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have mobility problems and fall easily. We were so fortunate to have met Chris at My Angel With Paws, teaching us to train our then 8-week old German Shepherd puppy on the road to becoming a Balance Assist Service Dog for me. She and the other volunteer instructors have been working weekly with us for a year and a half now. They are all so patient and caring and really want us to succeed. Nicky has come a long way, thanks to them. He's going to be an awesome Service Dog and a BIG help to me! It's really amazing to see the dogs paired with their forever person. They even have a graduation ceremony, which really brings tears to your eyes when you see the interaction, love and great pride between the disabled people with their partners. They really do change their forever persons life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

When I thought all hope was lost I found My Angel With Paws. Most service dog organizations will tell you to fill out an application and when they have an available dog in 3 to 7 years they will contact you. The Executive Director of this 100% volunteer organization called me personally and assured me that someway, somehow, my child's needs would be met as quickly as possible. As the mother of a special needs child with Autism, severe PTSD, ADHD, intellectually Disabilities, and Mobility Issues, where do you turn when all the specialists tell you a service dog is urgently needed and will change your child's life and put her on the road to recovery? After speaking with many organizations, with layers of administration, My Angel With Paws stepped up and met my needs by compassionate people. They embraced my child and went above and beyond. They have given me hope, changed my child's life, started her on the road to recovery, ensured that she will have a lifelong companion and provided me with renewed faith that there are nonprofits who uphold the public's trust, what every nonprofit pledges to do. They are to be commended for their heartfelt commitment and compassion to those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing other than personally work harder to ensure they have the resources they need to continue the important work they do for people with disabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 7, 2012

I am a volunteer and Board Member with My Angel With Paws. This organization is staffed by volunteers and raise and train Service Dogs for people with mobility disabilities. The support that the Ser... more

June 7, 2013

I have been a board member working with My Angel with Paws for several years. This organization provides many services to the community. As a 100% volunteer organization all efforts and funds go directly to the Breeding, Raising, Training and placement of Services Dogs. Help is also given to insure an ideal working relationship with the Partner and Service Dog. This bond goes beyond companionship. People have been able to become active and vital members in the community. Independence boost self esteem, mobility and purpose in life for so many. Marylou Weiner

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

I am a volunteer and Board Member with My Angel With Paws. This organization is staffed by volunteers and raise and train Service Dogs for people with mobility disabilities. The support that the Service Dog give their Partners is valuable to help them become independent and many times provide confidence they need to fulfill an active life that we all deserve to enjoy. These animals can have a profound impact on quality of life for our clients and their family. For me this is a very important way of contributing to our community. I am very Blessed and gratefut for an opportunity to help others. Marylou Weiner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2011

I have been on the Board of Directors as a volunteer for a short time(6mos.) The organization one that has touched my heart because of the bond that is created by the clients with their canine partners. This is an emotional bond as well as a physical one. The dogs give their partners assistance in mobility as well as self esteem.
I have been involved with other organizations in past years but My Angel With Paws is the MOST positive group effort that I have ever seen. The positive energy and group dynamics are extrordinary. This is an organization that is inspired by people with courage that guide those that just need a little assistance to have a full and rewarding life. Marylou Weiner ( fundraising)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have helped in organizing fund raising events and enlisting the local community in public relations and awareness of our mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am happy with the way the organization has grown over the past 2 years. It really just needs more time as well as monetary donations to continue it's growth to help more people find their potential. MLW

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers