Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I started working with My Angel with Paws just over a year ago, August 2014 When I recived a service dog from the organization. I came to the organization looking for a dog that might help with the injuries I recived in the United States Marine Corps durning my several deployments to Afghanistan. What I got from the organization was not only a Angel with paws the word dog just isnt an accurate statment for my life compainion, but also a family and since of belonging to something bigger than myself and a group that saw me as a person not a man with a unifrom. Since that first meeting and after reciving my life compainion I have continued volunteer my time to the organization to give back to a group that have given me not only my viability and life back but has also taught me how to live.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

My fiancee and I found my angel with paws through the V.A. and my fiancee was match with ford. Ford is a beautiful 3yr old golden retriever. Thanks to the whole team at m.a.w.p. ford has changed our life so much. My fiancee is a ret. Disable army vet that suffers from nightmares along ptsd and severe balance issues. Thanks to ford the anxiety and dreams are almost gone..ford is such an important part of our life I dont know what we would do without him and the awesome people at M.A.W.P. they dedicate their whole life to these dogs and we are eternally grateful.. thank you so much.
October 19, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 8, 2013

I have been apart of My Angel With Paws since 2009. In that time I have raised 4 dogs (about to start the 5th) for the program. Everyone I have met with volunteering has become like a second family ... more

October 19, 2014

5 years and 7 service dogs in training later, My Angel With Paws is everything I could have hoped for and more. The amount of time and work that goes into each dog and every person is amazing. It is even more amazing that everything is done by volunteers. The volunteers of this organization have the biggest hearts and souls around. My Angel With Paws is a great nonprofit but great doesn't even begin to cover how fantastic MAWP is.
April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been apart of My Angel With Paws since 2009. In that time I have raised 4 dogs (about to start the 5th) for the program. Everyone I have met with volunteering has become like a second family to me. The amount of passion and love that everyone has is absolutely delightful. When I started, I wasn't exactly sure how our saying "Miracles, one angel at a time" worked. Now I fully believe in it. I have seen our dogs help so many people in so many different ways. It is life changing. This organization is truly a great one!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a board member and a puppy trainer for MAWP. It has been one of the best experiences I have had. Seeing what these dogs do for people and their families is truly amazing. I love everyone in the organization and know that we all work so hard for this cause that we believe in so very much.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer puppy raiser for My Angel with Paws. I have raised 2 dogs for the organization and am now raising my third. My Angel with Paws does amazing things for people and am so proud to say I am apart of it. My Angel with Paws is always there to help me with my training of the puppies and will lend support anyway they can. They encourage meeting the person your dog will go to and forming a life long bond. I have been nothing but happy while volunteering for them.

Videos

Serena's Commands

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen dogs placed with people with disabilities and how much positive change the dogs have on their lives. It is like nothing I have ever seen before. The dogs pick their person and a forever bond is formed. These dogs literally and figuratively open doors for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build them a facility so they could help more people get these amazing dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It taught me how to train dogs and more about people with disabilities. I have met so many amazing people and have made so many new friends. The experience is like nothing I have ever done before. For example how many people get to take their dog on a cruise with them? It is so very cool!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Warm and fuzzy inside

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with MAWP for only 2 months now and have seen some of the amazing things they do. They work hard to care for the dogs they work with but also strive to facilitate their volunteers as best possible. They understand the importance of their volunteers and their knowledge and always attempt to educate further.
October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

From the very first phone call to MAWP, I knew this was the service dog organization I wanted to work with.

They allowed me to go to classes while I was making up my mind whether to apply for a service dog. They always answered questions, and have been helpful and willing to take the
time to share their knowledge.

After many months of sitting back and observing, I feel totally comfortable in my decision to apply. Not only that, I have decided to volunteer to help out. This is a top-notch organization with compassionate and dedicated personnel. They strive for excellence in everything they do. They care and it shows.
May 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

All the people associated with My Angel With Paws have been helpful, knowledgeable, compassionate and informed in my obtaining my forever friend, partner and service dog, Dora. Chris has a big heart and is an excellent dog trainer. She brings together a rewarding union between canine and client, bonding both into a working team. Since receiving my Labrador Retriever, Dora, I no longer am taking a back-seat in life. We go places, have a greater involvement in life and our confidence level is at an all time high. The experience associated with obtaining a service dog was one of the my most rewarding experiences. Since I became diagnosed with multiple autoimmune issues and disabilities over 10 years ago, I am more than happy. My Angel With Paws has help strengthened my ABILITIES! Thank You, MAWP!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I met Chris at My Angel with Paws about a year ago. I had been working with a rescue I had adopted from the animal shelter but he just wasn't working out for what I needed & Chris recognized that right away. Once I was introduced to Edge a beautiful Golden Retriever it wasn't long after that the journey began. It has completely changed my life! Since my brain surgery in 2005 I had become very insecure & very depressed. I had no desire to go out anywhere. I almost backed out because I did not think I would ever be able to go through with the Partner Training. But Chris & Titus were so understanding of my situation. With that experience & receiving my service dog Edge I now have the confidence & the desire to get out & go places. Edge is not only my balance~brace support, he is my forever companion. I can't say enough...thank them enough...for all they do! They are always there for continued support too!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard of MAWP while I was in the hospital recovering from a brain injury. MAWP is unlike any other organization, training and placing service dogs to people in need for no charge. It is a true service. They took the time to meet with me to not only determine which dog chooses me, but to educate me about what having a service dog entails and how it can change my life. That's exactly what Cricket, my service dog has done. Before I met Cricket, I could not walk on my own, nor did I have the confidence or sense of safety that she provides. It is now almost 2 years since I got a service dog and I not only returned to college, but I am pursuing a masters degree and now independently walking. I owe everything to MAWP, and I cannot thank them enough. I would not be where I am today without their support and my companion, Cricket.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When my husband and I decided that a service dog may benefit him in his journey with Parkinson's Disease, I started researching. When we made this decision we were all in together on it, no matter which way it turned out. I did my research and sadly found that it takes 2 to 6 years to get a fully trained service dog. It was discouraging because my husband was already 75 years old. We didn't have time to wait. Then, in a Parkinson's Disease journal I found out that My Angel with Paws was presenting at their next monthly meeting. I attended and was extremely impressed by the presentation. I immediately checked out their website, printed the application and sent it off to his neurologist to complete his part. That took awhile of course and a little prodding from me to get him to complete it. As soon as that was done we finished the application and sent it to My Angel with Paws. Then the waiting began. I even considered rescueing a dog and training it myself. Actually on the day we received our approval from My Angel with Paws, we had scheduled to meet a yellow lab that might fit our needs. However, as soon as our approval came from MAWP I knew that was our road to begin this journey. My husband was chosen by a most wonderful dog. Half Labrador and half golden retriever. She was young and not fully trained. MAWP trained me how to train her. To say it was successful is an understatement. She has lived and learned with us now for 1 and 1/2 years. Though my husbands disease is sadly progressing, she learns something new everyday to help him. She just knows, I don't know how but it is beautiful. I know I have said a lot about the dog but there is also something beautiful in the way everyone is treated at MAWP. When we are there we can be comfortable with the fact the my husband has a progressive disease. We are all the same in that everyone there is dealing with problems. No one judges him to be different. We are totally comfortable with them. I know I have to end this so I will by saying a loving thank you to My Angel with Paws for changing our lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell more people about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

I have been volunteering for My Angel with Paws for one and a half years. I am always impressed with the care they take in matching dogs with people. They allow the dog to pick the person, therefor... more

May 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for MAWP for 2 and1/2 years and I find the interigity of the people who run it to be impeckable. I always love going out to volunteer, it is like a big family, and we all the opportunity to put in our input. I feel it is a priviledge to help out there.
April 7, 2013

I have been volunteering for My Angel with Paws for one and a half years. I am always impressed with the care they take in matching dogs with people. They allow the dog to pick the person, therefore the dog is really devoted to that client. Great dedication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers