Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.295085
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

No rescue that takes in a lot of homeless dogs is capable of keeping up with such a huge amount of
paperwork. I think to resolve this issue it should be stated on their website not to expect a return call in less then two weeks. All volunteer rescues have to depend on what time is left in
anyone's day to help out and more often then not these are married people with children and/or a fulltime job. It appears that MMR needs some help in this area but I would not consider them a bad rescue just for that. They do their adoptions the right way. The dogs are spayed/neutered and completely vetted PRIOR to adoption and housechecks are done as well. I understand there is some frustration but I have seen some really bad, sloppy rescues and MMR is NOT one of them.
I do have my own rescue so I can walk a mile in their shoes. I can never please everyone no matter how hard I try. My point here is that MMR is saving a lot of dog's lives. Please try not to discourage them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put the suggested time frame to get back with an applicant right on the website. Keep up the good work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

We applied for a dog and listed another dog in case our first choice was already adopted. We filled out the application and asked to be notified of receipt of the application because we are actively looking to adopt a rescue rather then deal with a breeder. We have always rescued and we understand it can be a bit of a challenge because they are dealing with volunteers who have full time employment.

After a week we sent another email simply asking receipt of our application. I understand with the current cold weather many volunteers may be actively rushing to help animals right now, but a simple email response back would take just a few seconds. To not even show enough professionalism to do this, suggests they are poorly managed and overwhelmed.

For this reason, we will continue our search and attempt to deal mainly with the ASPCA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take 2 seconds to hit respind back and say "application received".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I filled out an application for a dog they had on petfinder. After two weeks I had not heard back from anyone so I sent an email asking if someone could contact me. Again I never heard from anyone. The dog I was interested in is still listed on petfinder but I won't be wasting my time filling out any applications from this organization. I understand they are staffed by volunteers but how hard is it to respond to an email?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get back to potential adopters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I filled out an application for a dog. I knew there was no promise I would meet the criteria for adopting. I was going through the processes when I was told that the dog I applied for had been adopted. Why ws I not told? What a disappointment. ! !

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

We applied for a dog on this site. We were quite excited as we thought we had found the perfect pet who could find a great home with us after our aged dog passed away. We had great reviews from our vet as we are experienced dog owners, puppy raisers, and dog sitters so we were certain we would be accepted. We didn't hear back from them for over a week, so we wrote asking if everything was okay with our application. We were asked two more questions not listed on the application and ten minutes later we were informed we were not acceptable to their organization. Even our vet was surprised to hear this. No explanation of what criteria were given other than we were not a good fit. How can one tell if we are a great fit if no one has even interviewed us?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers