Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.164185
Write A Review
December 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I found a puppy on the Mutts Matters site that was exactly the type of dog I was looking for. I got so excited at the idea of making him part of our home! First, I submitted a couple of inquiries to the organization, but after a week, I hadn't heard back, so I went ahead and submitted an application. After several days, I still hadn't heard anything from them, so I tried contacting them through their web site. After a few more days of hearing nothing, I tried through Facebook - but more than 3 weeks after initial contact, still nothing, Not a peep. And the puppy is still on the site (his sisters have been adopted - yea!).

Maybe they are great to work with if/when you actually get some interaction going with them. For now, I'll cross them off my list of organizations to support. I recognize that they are served by many volunteers, but even a simple "thanks but no thanks" response would have been better than complete silence. Bummer.
November 8, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

It took my wife and I about a year after losing a fine companion dog to us and our 2 year old boxer to finally make the decision to adopt another to replace him, after scanning through the numerous ones on "Petfinder" over that period. We had hoped to find a younger, male, fairly large dog in the Lab family, as our Katy seems to gravitate to this type, and also due to their somewhat laid back attitude and even temperament. My wife found one that seemed like just what we were looking for. I submitted the application on September 20th, and received a positive, and encouraging response on the 21st. We maintained regular and often correspondence with MMR up to, and through the interview, home visit process, and after, with some hurdles along the way. Our new prospective family member was being fostered in West Virginia at the time we applied for him, so he had to be transported to MD for the routine vetting process, and was found to be suffering an enlarged spleen due to tick borne disease, so he needed to run a 30 day course of antibiotics. He also had not been neutered, and could not have the surgery until the drug therapy was completed. No matter, after hearing all the great updates on him, how everyone loved him, how well behaved he was, and getting along with cats/dogs, and the excellent reports from Lynn, his MD foster, and Suzanne, how we were getting a "dream" dog, we were prepared to do whatever was going to be necessary to complete the process, and get to meet him and bring him home. All the preparations and expense had been worth it. Finally, after a long year of procrastinating about even getting another dog, then about adoption itself, we had made the right decision. So finally, after 5 weeks of waiting, of anticipation, of updates and reports, we were finally going down to southern MD from our home in Herndon, VA on October 26th, to introduce our Katy to Big John and if all went well, bring him home. We got a call Saturday night (well not exactly, our phone rang but went to vm, and we heard Lynn asking Melanie (Samet) to call her right back. She had mistakenly called our phone, thinking it was Melanie) from Lynn, but didn't get to it in time, so Sue (my wife) called her back, and was told that she (Lynn) was sorry, but that she had become "attached" to Big John ( she may have renamed him JJ), and could not let him go. I came out to the dining room to see my wife on the phone in tears,and knew immediately what was up. It was one of our fears all along, about adoption, but I convinced Sue that that wouldn't happen because I was positive that the fosters are told going in, that there has to be a point of no return, where as keeping the dog is no longer an option, and to prepare for that, and most likely are required to sign an agreement to that effect. Obviously, I am sadly mistaken. The foster can, and will snatch your dog out from under you right up to, and including the day you were to pick it up, and MMR (Melanie) will sanction, and even condone it. This was just so wrong on so many levels. I could not write this right away, as much as I wanted to because I first had to get past the sadness and disbelief, and then the anger. MMR has no code of ethics, regardless of what their mission statement may say, and there is nothing fair or morally just about it. Suzanne even had the audacity to send me an email the following Monday titled "sincerest apologies", from which I could glean nothing sincere or apologetic. All she did was proceed to make excuses for Lynn, saying that she doesn't have much experience as a fostering, and reminding me that fosters have a right of first choice, neither of which apply here. We heard nothing from Melanie, even though she has the authority to make the appropriate call, and by that I mean the fair, and morally correct call. When she was told of this by Lynn she replied, "you're really doing this"? Apparently, the fosters' emotions take precedent over not only an adoptor, who has not only been promised a particular dog, without whose application would not have even met Big John, because he would most likely still be with the foster in West Virginia, but also over the very reputation of Mutts Matter Rescue, and their ethics. I believe it is essential for the general public to know what to expect and be prepared for in dealing with this organization, because if it happened to us, it can happen to them. We'll be seeing you out at the adoption events in the area, and on social media as well. John Warnock, Herndon, VA
February 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

No rescue that takes in a lot of homeless dogs is capable of keeping up with such a huge amount of
paperwork. I think to resolve this issue it should be stated on their website not to expect a return call in less then two weeks. All volunteer rescues have to depend on what time is left in
anyone's day to help out and more often then not these are married people with children and/or a fulltime job. It appears that MMR needs some help in this area but I would not consider them a bad rescue just for that. They do their adoptions the right way. The dogs are spayed/neutered and completely vetted PRIOR to adoption and housechecks are done as well. I understand there is some frustration but I have seen some really bad, sloppy rescues and MMR is NOT one of them.
I do have my own rescue so I can walk a mile in their shoes. I can never please everyone no matter how hard I try. My point here is that MMR is saving a lot of dog's lives. Please try not to discourage them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put the suggested time frame to get back with an applicant right on the website. Keep up the good work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 9, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

We applied for a dog and listed another dog in case our first choice was already adopted. We filled out the application and asked to be notified of receipt of the application because we are actively looking to adopt a rescue rather then deal with a breeder. We have always rescued and we understand it can be a bit of a challenge because they are dealing with volunteers who have full time employment.

After a week we sent another email simply asking receipt of our application. I understand with the current cold weather many volunteers may be actively rushing to help animals right now, but a simple email response back would take just a few seconds. To not even show enough professionalism to do this, suggests they are poorly managed and overwhelmed.

For this reason, we will continue our search and attempt to deal mainly with the ASPCA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take 2 seconds to hit respind back and say "application received".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I filled out an application for a dog they had on petfinder. After two weeks I had not heard back from anyone so I sent an email asking if someone could contact me. Again I never heard from anyone. The dog I was interested in is still listed on petfinder but I won't be wasting my time filling out any applications from this organization. I understand they are staffed by volunteers but how hard is it to respond to an email?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get back to potential adopters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I filled out an application for a dog. I knew there was no promise I would meet the criteria for adopting. I was going through the processes when I was told that the dog I applied for had been adopted. Why ws I not told? What a disappointment. ! !

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

We applied for a dog on this site. We were quite excited as we thought we had found the perfect pet who could find a great home with us after our aged dog passed away. We had great reviews from our vet as we are experienced dog owners, puppy raisers, and dog sitters so we were certain we would be accepted. We didn't hear back from them for over a week, so we wrote asking if everything was okay with our application. We were asked two more questions not listed on the application and ten minutes later we were informed we were not acceptable to their organization. Even our vet was surprised to hear this. No explanation of what criteria were given other than we were not a good fit. How can one tell if we are a great fit if no one has even interviewed us?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers