Mutts Matter Rescue

Rating: 4.19 stars   69 reviews

Issues: Animals

Location: PO BOX 2047 Rockville MD 20847 USA

Mission: Mutts Matter Rescue is a 501 (c)3, non profit, all volunteer based organization, with combined rescue experience of over 15 years. We work in conjunction with shelters and other organizations to help save animals on death row, the strays on the street, or ones in unsafe living conditions. We adopt in the DC, VA, and MD areas, with a few exception out of the tri-state area depending on the dog and situation. We are driven by love, compassion, and hope. With enough dedication, we hope to be able to empty the shelters one day soon.
Target demographics: save dogs on death row, and ones in abusive situations.
Geographic areas served: the Northeast
2012 Top-Rated Nonprofit
Write a Review

See How $25 Can Help

More Info

EIN 30-0614593
410-227-8889
Invite people to share their experience with this nonprofit!

Promote This Nonprofit

GreatNonprofits badges allow you to raise awareness of your favorite nonprofits on your own web sites!

Review this charity on
GreatNonprofits

Community Reviews

Rating: 5 stars  

I am a two time adopter with Mutts Matter and have now been a volunteer with them for the past 3 years. After reading a few of the reviews, I felt I could not sit silent while people disrespect all the great work that MMR volunteers do.
I can say without a doubt this is the most well run rescue organization I have ever been associated with and they are extremely well respected throughout the rescue community.
I am amazed how mean and rude people can be when they do not get approved or get what they want. MMR has some of the most dedicated and passionate volunteers who do this out of the goodness of their heart and don't deserve that treatment. We are very appreciative that people take the time to rescue from MMR but not every dog is perfect for every home. This is where our experience comes into play. We have rules for a reason and they are not for you...they are for the welfare of the dog. If you do not get the dog you want, it does not mean you are a bad dog owner and it certainly shouldn't mean you write a scathing review of Mutt Matter Rescue.
I love MMR and the great work we do!!

 
Flag review
1 previous review
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

MMR made the adoption process go so smoothly. They are a very well run organization. The communication was great, and now we are lucky enough to have a new dog in our lives!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having my new best friend. He has made a huge difference in our lives.

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them grow. They have a great team that really knows what they are doing.

 
Flag review
Rating: 1 stars  

19 people found this review helpful

MUTTS MATTER BUT APPLICANTS DO NOT!

Absolutely, the worst animal rescue organization ever! After submitting an application to adopt, no response received after approximately a week! As a result, sent e-mail message stating common courtesy would have been appreciated in receiving at least an acknowledgment. Within only 30 minutes, received a scathing response from the President of MMR. As she apparently could not deal with the truth that persons typically expect common courtesy in the form of an acknowledgment, she proceeds to attack us by stating we wasted our time by not reviewing the policies on their website, and in affect, were not suitable pet owners despite the fact we have adopted from numerous other rescue organizations over the years! In response to my statement that numerous others have vetted similar complaints on sites such as this one, her response was the following:

"most of those people that have written those are people that of been declined by our organization for either not having a good vet reference personal reference or not having a good application."

It's amazing, how the President of MMR responded in less than 1/2 hour with a verbose response when she felt wronged after reading my message, whereas she could not even send a couple of sentences acknowledging receipt of our application for a week. Of course, persons like myself who voice their opinions of not receiving common courtesy are "bad applicants who wasted their time applying after not reviewing the policies on their website." For an organization operated by such an UNPROFESSIONAL individual, all I can recommend to others searching for homeless dogs would be steer clear of MMR and seek an organization where ANIMALS AND PERSONS BOTH MATTER!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OCTOBER 10, 2014:

In response to the volunteer who left an obviously biased review after mine, I am sorry to say that persons have every right to post their experience here or elsewhere regarding their negative encounters with MMR! In fact, I have every right to contact previous persons (couple have already been contacted) who left comments or file a formal complaint to the Attorney General of Maryland, if I desire.

Unfortunately, you are not seeing the forest for the trees, as persons have not complained about not receiving a pet but the manner in which they were inconsiderately treated including myself. In fact, the remark made to the MMR President was done after she was explicitly told not to contact me but continued to send another inflammatory message.

With respect to facts concerning at least a three year history of disrespectful and unprofessional service on the part of MMR, numerous examples are listed below:

1) In response to a customer review, MMR President responded with the following inconsiderate remark:

“Why don't you show some courage and tell us your name and the dogs name?”

My Response: You don't consider that question to be unprofessional and unnecessary? I am certain any reasonable person would! It's ironic, the MMR President and yourself are blaming others for whatever reason such as they did not receive a pet, etc.

2) Content excerpted from prior customer review:

“... but a simple email response back would take just a few seconds. To not even show enough professionalism to do this, suggests they are poorly managed and overwhelmed.”

My Response: Completely agree as this was the basis of my original complaint. In this day and age, automated mechanisms can be configured to automatically notify applicants without any time on the part of MMR. Either the MMR President has no knowledge of technology or simply does not care about good public relations! Don't see any complaint about not receiving a dog and would bet the lack of common courtesy was the motivator for leaving the complaint.

3) Content excerpted from prior customer review:

“I understand they are staffed by volunteers but how hard is it to respond to an email?”

My Response: Once again, completely agree as this was the basis of my original complaint. In this day and age, automated mechanisms can be configured to automatically notify applicants without any time on the part of MMR. Either the MMR President has no knowledge of technology or simply does not care about good public relations! Don't see any complaint about not receiving a dog and would bet the lack of common courtesy was the motivator for leaving the complaint.

4) Content excerpted from prior customer review: “Rosemary contacted me. She was very unprofessional. I called the owner Megan. Her excuse for the unprofessional was because her staff are volunteers. Being a volunteer is not an excuse for being unprofessional.”

“Lastly, while talking to Megan she was rude and tried to yell at me.”

My Response: Completely unprofessional and should not be tolerated! However, given the same type of attitude from MMR President, not surprised! Don't see any complaint about not receiving a dog and would bet the lack of common courtesy was the motivator for leaving the complaint.

5) “We still have yet to hear from this organization. No application confirmation. No follow up. No response to our email. This is completely unprofessional and rude. Honestly, it takes two minutes to say Sorry, but we don't think you are the right fit."

“I would NOT recommend trying to adopt from this rescue. Completely unprofessional.”

My Response: Once again, completely agree as this was the basis of my original complaint. In this day and age, automated mechanisms can be configured to automatically notify applicants without any time on the part of MMR. Either the MMR President has no knowledge of technology or simply does not care about good public relations! As mentioned numerous times already, don't see any complaint about not receiving a dog and would bet the lack of common courtesy was the motivator for leaving the complaint.

6) “After a week of not being contacted by anyone from the rescue I sent an email to their questions about adoption address. after two days of hearing nothing again, I sent an email to Melanie. She called me the next day and although she had a very nasty tone set up a phone interview for the next day.”

My Response: Once again, completely unprofessional and should not be tolerated! However, given the same type of attitude from MMR President, not surprised! As mentioned numerous times already, don't see any complaint about not receiving a dog and would bet the lack of common courtesy was the motivator for leaving the complaint.

Based upon the ratio of complaints to overall number of reviews, I recommend MMR work on treating persons with respect and their public relations!

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Based upon the ratio of complaints to overall number of reviews, I recommend MMR work on treating persons with respect in order to improve their public relations! The President and volunteer who believe they are treating persons with dignity and respect need to face the realization that individuals post negative reviews as a result of the way they were treated!

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

 
Flag review

Let's get the facts straight. You were declined because you use an electric fence, which is clearly stated on our website that we do not allow. Because you did not receive a response from us within the first couple of days of sending your application in, this was the first email we received from you which was very rude: "I sent an application about a week ago with absolutely no response! Given the number of homeless animals needing a loving home, your organization is an absolute disgrace as they deserve a much better chance of adoption by persons offering a forever home who cannot even receive an acknowledgement response from you! As far as we are concerned, you just lost a potential home for one of the helpless animals in your care. After reading numerous reviews for Mutts Matter, I am definitely not the first and probably won't be the last to voice this complaint! We will definitely communicate our experience on various review sites, as well as social media regarding your lack of common decency in responding to applicants!" My response was in defense of our organization after reading such a rude email. We get several hundred applications a week and I am not the person that does the direct response to each applicant. But yes, I responded quickly because it's not often that I receive such a rude email from someone who knows nothing about how our process works or didn't take the time to read the fact. I explained to you what our policy was, and why. You're response was "to go to hell". It's sad that you felt the need to send such a rude email to an all volunteer organization that spends most of their time dedicated to helping save the lives of animals. With an attitude like that you don't even deserve to own a dog. There is no need to lash out because things didn't go your way.

Let's get the facts straight. You were declined because you use an electric fence, which is clearly stated on our website that we do not allow. Because you did not receive a response from us within the first couple of days of sending your application in, this was the first email we received from you which was very rude: "I sent an application about a week ago with absolutely no response! Given the number of homeless animals needing a loving home, your organization is an absolute disgrace as they deserve a much better chance of adoption by persons offering a forever home who cannot even receive an acknowledgement response from you! As far as we are concerned, you just lost a potential home for one of the helpless animals in your care. After reading numerous reviews for Mutts Matter, I am definitely not the first and probably won't be the last to voice this complaint! We will definitely communicate our experience on various review sites, as well as social media regarding your lack of common decency in responding to applicants!" My response was in defense of our organization after reading such a rude email. We get several hundred applications a week and I am not the person that does the direct response to each applicant. But yes, I responded quickly because it's not often that I receive such a rude email from someone who knows nothing about how our process works or didn't take the time to read the fact. I explained to you what our policy was, and why. You're response was "to go to hell". It's sad that you felt the need to send such a rude email to an all volunteer organization that spends most of their time dedicated to helping save the lives of animals. With an attitude like that you don't even deserve to own a dog. There is no need to lash out because things didn't go your way.

Let's get the facts straight. You were declined because you use an electric fence, which is clearly stated on our website that we do not allow. Because you did not receive a response from us within the first couple of days of sending your application in, this was the first email we received from you which was very rude: "I sent an application about a week ago with absolutely no response! Given the number of homeless animals needing a loving home, your organization is an absolute disgrace as they deserve a much better chance of adoption by persons offering a forever home who cannot even receive an acknowledgement response from you! As far as we are concerned, you just lost a potential home for one of the helpless animals in your care. After reading numerous reviews for Mutts Matter, I am definitely not the first and probably won't be the last to voice this complaint! We will definitely communicate our experience on various review sites, as well as social media regarding your lack of common decency in responding to applicants!" My response was in defense of our organization after reading such a rude email. We get several hundred applications a week and I am not the person that does the direct response to each applicant. But yes, I responded quickly because it's not often that I receive such a rude email from someone who knows nothing about how our process works or didn't take the time to read the fact. I explained to you what our policy was, and why. You're response was "to go to hell". It's sad that you felt the need to send such a rude email to an all volunteer organization that spends most of their time dedicated to helping save the lives of animals. With an attitude like that you don't even deserve to own a dog. There is no need to lash out because things didn't go your way.

Rating: 5 stars  

This is one of the most dedicated, organized, compassionate group of people.
A wonderful group that constantly puts itself on the front line, fighting for dogs who are simply helpless, and that most have given up on. I applaud this group for their efforts and compassion.


 
Flag review
Rating: 1 stars  

10 people found this review helpful

We chose Mutts Matter as a primary agency to look into adoptions from. Our experience was quite bad. We chose a dog that obviously had an autoimmune disorder, but the serverity was unclear at the time. After accepting our money it took them two weeks to get us the dog's vet records. Once we got them they were woefully inadequate. Aside from the autoimmune issue, the dog had two tumors. In the first month we paid 3 times the adoption fee in healthcare. My issues are three: no one at Mutts Matter acknowledged the dog's condition, though it was plain to the eye; the vet Mutts Matter used failed to identify ANY of the dog's issues; it proved difficult to get any background medical information. On a separate note, the foster family was awful. Rather than introduce the dog, they spent the entire time talking about looking forward to the next "foster child" they would get. The dog was skinny, suffering from bad allergies, and had it's claws painted with nail polish. How did this family get picked to foster an animal? All these elements combined have led me to conclude that this non-profit's approach is "We're doing a good thing simply by providing an animal the bare minimum for survival." Sorry. Not good enough. If that's all you can provide, do something else. We donate money to animal rescues each Christmas. Mutt's matter will get the consideration they give the animals that come their way: pennies.

 
Flag review

We have no idea who you are or what dog you're speaking of, but by all means please do tell us. Since you are claiming one of our dogs and fosters are inadequate, but have never contacted anyone at the rescue to discuss this complaint, we find it odd you would only voice it on this website. We would want to know if one of our dogs had a supposed autoimmune issue, let alone tell us one of our dogs was malnourished. And if this is the case, why would you adopt such a supposed sick dog? We take pride in the care we give-which is above and beyond most. This is the first we've heard of this. Why don't you show some courage and tell us your name and the dogs name?

Rating: 1 stars  

9 people found this review helpful


On May 9, 2014, I submitted an application to “Mutts Matter Rescue (MMR) -- in Rockville, MD 20847”. After waiting 6 days later, I emailed to Jessica Llich, the application Manager/Trainer to inquire about the dog I chose named, “Emmy” a Yorkshire Terrier Yorkie Mix. On this date, Jessica emailed me back saying, “When our volunteer contacted your vet, she was told that your cat had never received vaccines”. Boots had not received vaccines at this particular vet because we had just recently moved to this area, however; I did take Boots there on Sept 12, 2013, in Chestertown, MD, and came home with a bill of $163.00. But if there was a concern, or problem about Vaccinations, etc., why didn’t the MMR Volunteer call me to inquire? There is nothing on the Application that states anything at all to indicate, “Vaccination will be checked”. Otherwise, I would have provided that information, or at least called the Vets to have them provide that information, or sent the records in the postal mail, or drove there myself to give them in person if need be. The MMR did not state, list all Vet’s that Boots was taken care of for whatever medical care, or vaccinations, etc. So I only listed this last Vet, that I used in this newest area, which we just recently moved to.

I have all records on my cat named “Boots” who received all his vaccinations and other health concerns that were immediately taking care of and attended to. Boots was my pet, that I loved and cared for, who lived with me for 17.5 yrs. If he wasn’t healthy, and was not well attended to, how could he have lived as long as he did? I adopted Boots from Tucson, AZ and over the 17.5 years plus, he traveled with me across the US to different places in Maryland. After living 18 yrs, he was put down due to health reasons November 2013.

When looking for a small dog, I called around to many different “Rescue Sources” to be told, go on line. Thus, my time and effort went towards searching for a small dog on the Internet. I filled out new applications on 4 different occasions; but never heard back from any of them. However, I’d received new emails asking me to look at many new and available other dogs, but NOT the one I choose.

Today, May 15, 2014, when I inquired about what was taking so long and found out about the Vet issue. Jessica Llich Application Manager, wrote back asking for the other Vets I took Boots to, and if there was a way for me to provide the vacination records via email, or FAX. Neither of these worked for me, as I don’t have a FAX and do not know how to upload records onto the Computer. However, I stated that I lived on the other side of the Bay Bridge, 1 ½ hrs away from MMR, that I would be happy to drive there to show Boot’s records, and meet with them. And then I provided 4 Vet Hospitals with whom Boots (over 18 plus yrs) had received all vaccinations from. There were two in MD, and two from Tucson AZ. Jessica email’s me back saying, “our volunteer contacted the two vets listed on your application and neither had record of your cat being vaccinated. I regret that you are unhappy with our process”.

This makes me wonder, are the Animal Care People really interested in finding a good decent home for a pet? Or was the dog I choose, given to someone else because someone else was previously vetted before me?

There are thousands upon thousands of dogs wanting a homes, according to all Animal Rescues Centers/Resources. I could have provided a good decent home for one of them, as I have done so for a cat for over 18 years in the past. I have proof of all medical records, I have the desire, the commitment and enthusiasm. I have the finances to care for a dog. I would be a good companion and could give the dog a permanent home. I have a good home environment to offer the dog. I would nurture, love, and protect the dog. And most of all, I have the love, devotion, dedication all the means necessary to ensure the dog would be safe, comfortable, and that he/she would live vs. be put down. Yet, I was denied by Jessica Llich at MMR, Rockville MD. WHY?

 
Flag review

As a volunteer with MMR, I can tell you the first email we send to potential adopters includes the following: "Please be advised that we will try to contact your vet and personal reference two times.  If we are unable to reach the listed references, we will place your application on hold and advise you that we have done so.  If you would like to send additional references at that time, you may, and we will try to contact the new references. To avoid delay in processing your application, please take a moment to contact your vet and the personal references you have listed on the application.  Let them know that we will be calling, and if a message is left we should be called back promptly.  Some vets will require that you give your permission to share information with us and should be contacted before we call." If you only put the current vet info, and they had your cat as not up to date, how is that a flaw in our process? We only go by the info you give us. We unfortunately don't have time to track things down beyond the information you provide. Hence why we ask for current information on your application. If you had multiple vets, then your current vet should have had something in their file indicating you had transferred, with a copy of the old records. So perhaps you should take this up with your new vet. Asking that a potential owner have their pet up to date on shots, isn't an outrageous request. It is also listed that we require this on our Adoption Facts page. Best of luck

Rating: 1 stars  

10 people found this review helpful

We are ready to have a nice small dog at home again and I decided to go for a rescue dog, there are so many in need of a nice home. We got excited with the idea and started the search, lots of the small dogs we liked could be found at the Mutts Matter Rescue, so I filled the adoption application, sent emails, tried to call them, I never never had any reply and I just don't know how to reach them. I will try other rescue places and hopefully we will be luckier.

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

I am both an adopter and now a volunteer with Mutts Matter rescue. I've adopted from other rescues in the past and found Mutts Mater to be very thorough and responsive in comparison. They asked me great questions during the approval process to determine the type of pup who would best fit my lifestyle, and really seemed to care about the fit. Their dogs live in foster homes, so they get to know them and what they need to make a better match for the dog and adopter. Not everyone who applies for a dog will get approved, so you will always have disappointed and angry folks, but the mission is to save pups and find them great homes and that's what they do.

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

I cannot say enough great things about this organization. We have been dealing with several rescues trying to find the right dog for our family and Mutts Matter was by far the best to work with. Their process was very thorough but they kept us in the loop the entire way. Everyone from the phone screener to the home visit person could not have been any nicer. All of them are volunteers and you can really tell they do this out of love for the animals. I'm amazed when I read some of the bad reviews on this site as far as not getting calls or waiting forever. Only thing I can imagine is that they were not qualified applicants or something. Anyway, keep up the great work and thank you for bringing our little buddy Travis into our lives!!

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

I got my Goober from this rescue. I found them to extremely dedicated and helpful. Everyone I talked to during the process was very nice and considerate. I met a lot of the volunteers during an adoption event, and they were all very knowledgeable about the dog they were with. If I had the time, I would actually foster and volunteer for them. My dog was as he was explained on the website, and very well taken care of while he was fostered.

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

 
Flag review
Rating: 1 stars  

10 people found this review helpful

I contacted Mutts Mattes regarding adopting a dog. Rosemary contacted me. She was very unprofessoinal. I called the owner Megan. Her excuse for the unprofessional was becaues her staff are volunteers. Being a volunteer is not an excuse for being unprofessional. Your staff should not send out emails with "BTW" in the content. Correspondence in a work environment should be differentiated between texting. Lastly, while talking to Megan she was rude and tried to yell at me. Was not having that. They were not honest regarding the dog I wanted and the excuses provided by Megan were horrific. Because of her stank attitude and lies she not only lost my potential adoption but I made sure to tell the four people in my office who are also on the lookout for dogs to not bother with this place as well. I am also ensuring that no one I know makes a donation to a place that treats people with so little consideration and respect.

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get a new owner who appreciates that honesty and integrity are integral in running a business (non profit or otherwise). Employ staff who know how to communicate with complete sentences to potential customers.

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

 
Flag review