Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.344835
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

We are ready to have a nice small dog at home again and I decided to go for a rescue dog, there are so many in need of a nice home. We got excited with the idea and started the search, lots of the small dogs we liked could be found at the Mutts Matter Rescue, so I filled the adoption application, sent emails, tried to call them, I never never had any reply and I just don't know how to reach them. I will try other rescue places and hopefully we will be luckier.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

I am both an adopter and now a volunteer with Mutts Matter rescue. I've adopted from other rescues in the past and found Mutts Mater to be very thorough and responsive in comparison. They asked me great questions during the approval process to determine the type of pup who would best fit my lifestyle, and really seemed to care about the fit. Their dogs live in foster homes, so they get to know them and what they need to make a better match for the dog and adopter. Not everyone who applies for a dog will get approved, so you will always have disappointed and angry folks, but the mission is to save pups and find them great homes and that's what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 8, 2014

more

January 8, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about this organization. We have been dealing with several rescues trying to find the right dog for our family and Mutts Matter was by far the best to work with. Their process was very thorough but they kept us in the loop the entire way. Everyone from the phone screener to the home visit person could not have been any nicer. All of them are volunteers and you can really tell they do this out of love for the animals. I'm amazed when I read some of the bad reviews on this site as far as not getting calls or waiting forever. Only thing I can imagine is that they were not qualified applicants or something. Anyway, keep up the great work and thank you for bringing our little buddy Travis into our lives!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I got my Goober from this rescue. I found them to extremely dedicated and helpful. Everyone I talked to during the process was very nice and considerate. I met a lot of the volunteers during an adoption event, and they were all very knowledgeable about the dog they were with. If I had the time, I would actually foster and volunteer for them. My dog was as he was explained on the website, and very well taken care of while he was fostered.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I contacted Mutts Mattes regarding adopting a dog. Rosemary contacted me. She was very unprofessoinal. I called the owner Megan. Her excuse for the unprofessional was becaues her staff are volunteers. Being a volunteer is not an excuse for being unprofessional. Your staff should not send out emails with "BTW" in the content. Correspondence in a work environment should be differentiated between texting. Lastly, while talking to Megan she was rude and tried to yell at me. Was not having that. They were not honest regarding the dog I wanted and the excuses provided by Megan were horrific. Because of her stank attitude and lies she not only lost my potential adoption but I made sure to tell the four people in my office who are also on the lookout for dogs to not bother with this place as well. I am also ensuring that no one I know makes a donation to a place that treats people with so little consideration and respect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get a new owner who appreciates that honesty and integrity are integral in running a business (non profit or otherwise). Employ staff who know how to communicate with complete sentences to potential customers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

I met Melanie prior to 2010 through our work with other rescues. When she started her own rescue, I worked with her on a volunteer basis, AND adopted two two dogs from the organization. Melanie runs... more

April 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We had the privledge of adopting two wonderful pugs from MMR. We were elated to learn that our adoptions were the 999th and 1000th successful adoptions for MMR. That is a great acomplishment for a rescue that "opened" in 2010. I just read a few other reviews from folks who were annoyed that they had not been contacted in a time frame that they felt appropriate. I just want to say that this is an ALL volunteer group, and it takes some time to get through to everyone that wants a dog. One person stated that they were excited to find a dog they thought would be perfect. Try to remember that there are more than likely 10 other families who are just excited for the same dog!!! The rescue folks do the best they can, I am sure of that. It does take time, and sometimes you don't get the dog you think you should get. But, listen to the rescue, and see if there is another dog for you!!! I am glad we waited, as two wonderful dogs walked into our lives, and it was clear that THESE were the dogs we should adopt.
This rescue is very professional and wants to place all their dogs in good homes. It does take time, so be patient.....they will work with you to find the right dog. I would definitely recommend them, and am very happy with our adoptees!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

I met Melanie prior to 2010 through our work with other rescues. When she started her own rescue, I worked with her on a volunteer basis, AND adopted two two dogs from the organization. Melanie runs the rescue with boundless energy and endless heart. She is an animal advocate in the truest sense, and is not afraid to let applicants know that the dog they want will not be a match for their family, and will work tirelessly, along with her team, to help a family find the right dog. As a non profit, it is not about the money, it is about the life a dog often times plucked from certain death in a shelter, hoarding or cruelty case, or given up by another family. While some may say the process is unfair, I can honestly share that is simply the care and due process that all reputable rescues should take when placing animals. We have adopted two dogs from MMR, and although I was well known to Melanie, I still had to sign a contract and talk with Melanie about each of the dogs....that is how much she values each and every life that comes into her rescue.

Through Melanie's tireless efforts, MMR has reached across state lines to partner with rural southern shelters and rescues to save dogs that rarely have a chance. This is in additon to the countless dogs she rescues in the MD/VA/DC area. ALL dogs are vetted and temperament tested prior to placement in foster care, and there is never a rush to placement. MMR also does not shy away from harder to place dogs, with an overall success rate close to 100%.

Melanie and MMR have an equal love and compassion for both the all American Mutt as well as the many purebred dogs that come to the rescue. The bottom line is that the life of any dog is worthwhile.

I would encourage anyone to adopt from MMR, especially given the time and energy they take for each placement. There is extensive follow up and support post adoption, as well as intense pre adoption screening.

Thank you MMR for our two wonderful dogs....




More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

Over a week ago my wife and I applied to adopt a dog we fell in love with on petfinder. A week ago I emailed them to check on the status of the application. We still have yet to hear from this organization. No application comfirmation. No follow up. No response to our email. This is completely unprofessional and rude. Honestly, it takes two mintues to say "Sorry, but we don't think you are the right fit." If that is even the case!

Feel free to try your luck, but I would NOT recommend trying to adopt from this rescue. Completely unprofessional.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 21, 2011

It's such a pleasure to write a review for MMR! There are many nonprofits that have similar missions but MMR differentiates themselves with their unwavering commitment to making a difference and thei... more

November 30, 2012

Mutts Matter is a wonderful organization that puts dogs first and believes that every dog deserves a good home. They take great care in helping make the right match between animals and families. We adopted a puppy from MMR ins early 2011. He had been severely injured and abandoned at an animal hospital. His injuries required extensive surgery but MMR raised funds to cover the cost of his treatment and support his rehab until he could go to a good home. We were so fortunate that we were matched with him! He's a very important part of our family and we're grateful that MMR was there for him. While all organizations are more than than a single person, Melanie S. is truly the heart of the organization and she does an amazing job. She is tireless in her efforts to help every dog find their family, especially senior and hard to place animals that most others would never even care about. She and her volunteers help these dogs shine so that everyone can see how great they are too. MMR is very special and very deserving of every dollar that they receive. It's money well spent.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

It's such a pleasure to write a review for MMR! There are many nonprofits that have similar missions but MMR differentiates themselves with their unwavering commitment to making a difference and their animal-centered focus. They consistently step in to rescue animals that many would consider unadoptable or unworthy of saving. Our puppy Mieko was just such a case and may not have been saved without them. Mieko was abandoned at 5 weeks at a local vet with a severe eye injury. His owners (designer dog breeders) neglected to seek timely care so the result was a massive surgery, permanent disfiguration, infection, and much pain and suffering for little Mieko. MMR agreed to support his care and find him a forever family. We were incredibly lucky to be chosen as his family and we're thankful every day to Mel and Julie and the multitude of volunteers that support their network. We are fans of MMR for life and I'd encourage anyone that's looking for a worthy cause to make a donation or consider adopting.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Our family is one member greater because of their excellent work! We've also received wonderful comprehensive advice about the needs of our puppy and introducing a new puppy to our family. MMR has also helped us find other professional services we need (puppy training, etc.).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm not sure what advice I could give to such hardworking women.

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

In May 2011, I was browsing Petfinder and noticied an extremely sweet Wheaten Terrier, Emma, and lost my heart. I went through a rigorous screening and home visit with Mutts Matter Rescue and finally on Memorial Day, I brought Emma home. She had been well cared for in a foster home and had received excellent vet care in preparation for adoption. Everyone in the organization was friendly and professional. The main goal was to find the right forever home for this wonderful dog. Since then Emma has thrived in her new family with her brother, Ben, who was adopted from Anne Arundel SPCA. It was love at first sight for all of us and I will always be grateful to Mutts for making our family complete.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Mutts Matter Rescue truly practices what it preaches. Rescuing dogs that are in desperate need of a human who can do what it can't and provide it with medical needs, fostering, rehabilitation and a forever home. My life has forever changed because of Mutts Matter Rescue. Not only because I adopted two precious girls that I could not imagine life without, but have inspired me to take action and do what I can to help dogs in need. I definitely recommend Mutts Matter Rescue!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers