Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.295085
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

This is one of the most dedicated, organized, compassionate group of people.
A wonderful group that constantly puts itself on the front line, fighting for dogs who are simply helpless, and that most have given up on. I applaud this group for their efforts and compassion.


September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

We chose Mutts Matter as a primary agency to look into adoptions from. Our experience was quite bad. We chose a dog that obviously had an autoimmune disorder, but the serverity was unclear at the time. After accepting our money it took them two weeks to get us the dog's vet records. Once we got them they were woefully inadequate. Aside from the autoimmune issue, the dog had two tumors. In the first month we paid 3 times the adoption fee in healthcare. My issues are three: no one at Mutts Matter acknowledged the dog's condition, though it was plain to the eye; the vet Mutts Matter used failed to identify ANY of the dog's issues; it proved difficult to get any background medical information. On a separate note, the foster family was awful. Rather than introduce the dog, they spent the entire time talking about looking forward to the next "foster child" they would get. The dog was skinny, suffering from bad allergies, and had it's claws painted with nail polish. How did this family get picked to foster an animal? All these elements combined have led me to conclude that this non-profit's approach is "We're doing a good thing simply by providing an animal the bare minimum for survival." Sorry. Not good enough. If that's all you can provide, do something else. We donate money to animal rescues each Christmas. Mutt's matter will get the consideration they give the animals that come their way: pennies.
May 15, 2014

more

May 15, 2014


On May 9, 2014, I submitted an application to “Mutts Matter Rescue (MMR) -- in Rockville, MD 20847”. After waiting 6 days later, I emailed to Jessica Llich, the application Manager/Trainer to inquire about the dog I chose named, “Emmy” a Yorkshire Terrier Yorkie Mix. On this date, Jessica
emailed me back saying, “When our volunteer contacted your vet, she was told that your cat had never received vaccines”. Boots had not received vaccines at this particular vet because we had just recently moved to this area, however; I did take Boots there on Sept 12, 2013, in Chestertown, MD, and came home with a bill of $163.00. But if there was a concern, or problem about Vaccinations, etc., why didn’t the MMR Volunteer call me to inquire? There is nothing on the Application that states anything at all to indicate, “Vaccination will be checked”. Otherwise, I would have provided that information, or at least called the Vets to have them provide that information, or sent the records in the postal mail, or drove there myself to give them in person if need be. The MMR did not state, list all Vet’s that Boots was taken care of for whatever medical care, or vaccinations, etc. So I only listed this last Vet, that I used in this newest area, which we just recently moved to.

I have all records on my cat named “Boots” who received all his vaccinations and other health concerns that were immediately taking care of and attended to. Boots was my pet, that I loved and cared for, who lived with me for 17.5 yrs. If he wasn’t healthy, and was not well attended to, how could he have lived as long as he did? I adopted Boots from Tucson, AZ and over the 17.5 years plus, he traveled with me across the US to different places in Maryland. After living 18 yrs, he was put down due to health reasons November 2013.

When looking for a small dog, I called around to many different “Rescue Sources” to be told, go on line. Thus, my time and effort went towards searching for a small dog on the Internet. I filled out new applications on 4 different occasions; but never heard back from any of them. However, I’d received new emails asking me to look at many new and available other dogs, but NOT the one I choose.

Today, May 15, 2014, when I inquired about what was taking so long and found out about the Vet issue. Jessica Llich Application Manager, wrote back asking for the other Vets I took Boots to, and if there was a way for me to provide the vacination records via email, or FAX. Neither of these worked for me, as I don’t have a FAX and do not know how to upload records onto the Computer. However, I stated that I lived on the other side of the Bay Bridge, 1 ½ hrs away from MMR, that I would be happy to drive there to show Boot’s records, and meet with them. And then I provided 4 Vet Hospitals with whom Boots (over 18 plus yrs) had received all vaccinations from. There were two in MD, and two from Tucson AZ. Jessica email’s me back saying, “our volunteer contacted the two vets listed on your application and neither had record of your cat being vaccinated. I regret that you are unhappy with our process”.

This makes me wonder, are the Animal Care People really interested in finding a good decent home for a pet? Or was the dog I choose, given to someone else because someone else was previously vetted before me?

There are thousands upon thousands of dogs wanting a homes, according to all Animal Rescues Centers/Resources. I could have provided a good decent home for one of them, as I have done so for a cat for over 18 years in the past. I have proof of all medical records, I have the desire, the commitment and enthusiasm. I have the finances to care for a dog. I would be a good companion and could give the dog a permanent home. I have a good home environment to offer the dog. I would nurture, love, and protect the dog. And most of all, I have the love, devotion, dedication all the means necessary to ensure the dog would be safe, comfortable, and that he/she would live vs. be put down. Yet, I was denied by Jessica Llich at MMR, Rockville MD. WHY?
March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We are ready to have a nice small dog at home again and I decided to go for a rescue dog, there are so many in need of a nice home. We got excited with the idea and started the search, lots of the small dogs we liked could be found at the Mutts Matter Rescue, so I filled the adoption application, sent emails, tried to call them, I never never had any reply and I just don't know how to reach them. I will try other rescue places and hopefully we will be luckier.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

I am both an adopter and now a volunteer with Mutts Matter rescue. I've adopted from other rescues in the past and found Mutts Mater to be very thorough and responsive in comparison. They asked me great questions during the approval process to determine the type of pup who would best fit my lifestyle, and really seemed to care about the fit. Their dogs live in foster homes, so they get to know them and what they need to make a better match for the dog and adopter. Not everyone who applies for a dog will get approved, so you will always have disappointed and angry folks, but the mission is to save pups and find them great homes and that's what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 8, 2014

more

January 8, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about this organization. We have been dealing with several rescues trying to find the right dog for our family and Mutts Matter was by far the best to work with. Their process was very thorough but they kept us in the loop the entire way. Everyone from the phone screener to the home visit person could not have been any nicer. All of them are volunteers and you can really tell they do this out of love for the animals. I'm amazed when I read some of the bad reviews on this site as far as not getting calls or waiting forever. Only thing I can imagine is that they were not qualified applicants or something. Anyway, keep up the great work and thank you for bringing our little buddy Travis into our lives!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I got my Goober from this rescue. I found them to extremely dedicated and helpful. Everyone I talked to during the process was very nice and considerate. I met a lot of the volunteers during an adoption event, and they were all very knowledgeable about the dog they were with. If I had the time, I would actually foster and volunteer for them. My dog was as he was explained on the website, and very well taken care of while he was fostered.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I contacted Mutts Mattes regarding adopting a dog. Rosemary contacted me. She was very unprofessoinal. I called the owner Megan. Her excuse for the unprofessional was becaues her staff are volunteers. Being a volunteer is not an excuse for being unprofessional. Your staff should not send out emails with "BTW" in the content. Correspondence in a work environment should be differentiated between texting. Lastly, while talking to Megan she was rude and tried to yell at me. Was not having that. They were not honest regarding the dog I wanted and the excuses provided by Megan were horrific. Because of her stank attitude and lies she not only lost my potential adoption but I made sure to tell the four people in my office who are also on the lookout for dogs to not bother with this place as well. I am also ensuring that no one I know makes a donation to a place that treats people with so little consideration and respect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get a new owner who appreciates that honesty and integrity are integral in running a business (non profit or otherwise). Employ staff who know how to communicate with complete sentences to potential customers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

I met Melanie prior to 2010 through our work with other rescues. When she started her own rescue, I worked with her on a volunteer basis, AND adopted two two dogs from the organization. Melanie runs... more

April 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We had the privledge of adopting two wonderful pugs from MMR. We were elated to learn that our adoptions were the 999th and 1000th successful adoptions for MMR. That is a great acomplishment for a rescue that "opened" in 2010. I just read a few other reviews from folks who were annoyed that they had not been contacted in a time frame that they felt appropriate. I just want to say that this is an ALL volunteer group, and it takes some time to get through to everyone that wants a dog. One person stated that they were excited to find a dog they thought would be perfect. Try to remember that there are more than likely 10 other families who are just excited for the same dog!!! The rescue folks do the best they can, I am sure of that. It does take time, and sometimes you don't get the dog you think you should get. But, listen to the rescue, and see if there is another dog for you!!! I am glad we waited, as two wonderful dogs walked into our lives, and it was clear that THESE were the dogs we should adopt.
This rescue is very professional and wants to place all their dogs in good homes. It does take time, so be patient.....they will work with you to find the right dog. I would definitely recommend them, and am very happy with our adoptees!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

I met Melanie prior to 2010 through our work with other rescues. When she started her own rescue, I worked with her on a volunteer basis, AND adopted two two dogs from the organization. Melanie runs the rescue with boundless energy and endless heart. She is an animal advocate in the truest sense, and is not afraid to let applicants know that the dog they want will not be a match for their family, and will work tirelessly, along with her team, to help a family find the right dog. As a non profit, it is not about the money, it is about the life a dog often times plucked from certain death in a shelter, hoarding or cruelty case, or given up by another family. While some may say the process is unfair, I can honestly share that is simply the care and due process that all reputable rescues should take when placing animals. We have adopted two dogs from MMR, and although I was well known to Melanie, I still had to sign a contract and talk with Melanie about each of the dogs....that is how much she values each and every life that comes into her rescue.

Through Melanie's tireless efforts, MMR has reached across state lines to partner with rural southern shelters and rescues to save dogs that rarely have a chance. This is in additon to the countless dogs she rescues in the MD/VA/DC area. ALL dogs are vetted and temperament tested prior to placement in foster care, and there is never a rush to placement. MMR also does not shy away from harder to place dogs, with an overall success rate close to 100%.

Melanie and MMR have an equal love and compassion for both the all American Mutt as well as the many purebred dogs that come to the rescue. The bottom line is that the life of any dog is worthwhile.

I would encourage anyone to adopt from MMR, especially given the time and energy they take for each placement. There is extensive follow up and support post adoption, as well as intense pre adoption screening.

Thank you MMR for our two wonderful dogs....




More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

Over a week ago my wife and I applied to adopt a dog we fell in love with on petfinder. A week ago I emailed them to check on the status of the application. We still have yet to hear from this organization. No application comfirmation. No follow up. No response to our email. This is completely unprofessional and rude. Honestly, it takes two mintues to say "Sorry, but we don't think you are the right fit." If that is even the case!

Feel free to try your luck, but I would NOT recommend trying to adopt from this rescue. Completely unprofessional.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers