Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.212125
Write A Review
February 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

No rescue that takes in a lot of homeless dogs is capable of keeping up with such a huge amount of
paperwork. I think to resolve this issue it should be stated on their website not to expect a return call in less then two weeks. All volunteer rescues have to depend on what time is left in
anyone's day to help out and more often then not these are married people with children and/or a fulltime job. It appears that MMR needs some help in this area but I would not consider them a bad rescue just for that. They do their adoptions the right way. The dogs are spayed/neutered and completely vetted PRIOR to adoption and housechecks are done as well. I understand there is some frustration but I have seen some really bad, sloppy rescues and MMR is NOT one of them.
I do have my own rescue so I can walk a mile in their shoes. I can never please everyone no matter how hard I try. My point here is that MMR is saving a lot of dog's lives. Please try not to discourage them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put the suggested time frame to get back with an applicant right on the website. Keep up the good work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

I am both an adopter and now a volunteer with Mutts Matter rescue. I've adopted from other rescues in the past and found Mutts Mater to be very thorough and responsive in comparison. They asked me great questions during the approval process to determine the type of pup who would best fit my lifestyle, and really seemed to care about the fit. Their dogs live in foster homes, so they get to know them and what they need to make a better match for the dog and adopter. Not everyone who applies for a dog will get approved, so you will always have disappointed and angry folks, but the mission is to save pups and find them great homes and that's what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

We applied for a dog and listed another dog in case our first choice was already adopted. We filled out the application and asked to be notified of receipt of the application because we are actively looking to adopt a rescue rather then deal with a breeder. We have always rescued and we understand it can be a bit of a challenge because they are dealing with volunteers who have full time employment.

After a week we sent another email simply asking receipt of our application. I understand with the current cold weather many volunteers may be actively rushing to help animals right now, but a simple email response back would take just a few seconds. To not even show enough professionalism to do this, suggests they are poorly managed and overwhelmed.

For this reason, we will continue our search and attempt to deal mainly with the ASPCA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take 2 seconds to hit respind back and say "application received".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014

more

January 8, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about this organization. We have been dealing with several rescues trying to find the right dog for our family and Mutts Matter was by far the best to work with. Their process was very thorough but they kept us in the loop the entire way. Everyone from the phone screener to the home visit person could not have been any nicer. All of them are volunteers and you can really tell they do this out of love for the animals. I'm amazed when I read some of the bad reviews on this site as far as not getting calls or waiting forever. Only thing I can imagine is that they were not qualified applicants or something. Anyway, keep up the great work and thank you for bringing our little buddy Travis into our lives!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I filled out an application for a dog they had on petfinder. After two weeks I had not heard back from anyone so I sent an email asking if someone could contact me. Again I never heard from anyone. The dog I was interested in is still listed on petfinder but I won't be wasting my time filling out any applications from this organization. I understand they are staffed by volunteers but how hard is it to respond to an email?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get back to potential adopters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I filled out an application for a dog. I knew there was no promise I would meet the criteria for adopting. I was going through the processes when I was told that the dog I applied for had been adopted. Why ws I not told? What a disappointment. ! !

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I got my Goober from this rescue. I found them to extremely dedicated and helpful. Everyone I talked to during the process was very nice and considerate. I met a lot of the volunteers during an adoption event, and they were all very knowledgeable about the dog they were with. If I had the time, I would actually foster and volunteer for them. My dog was as he was explained on the website, and very well taken care of while he was fostered.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I contacted Mutts Mattes regarding adopting a dog. Rosemary contacted me. She was very unprofessoinal. I called the owner Megan. Her excuse for the unprofessional was becaues her staff are volunteers. Being a volunteer is not an excuse for being unprofessional. Your staff should not send out emails with "BTW" in the content. Correspondence in a work environment should be differentiated between texting. Lastly, while talking to Megan she was rude and tried to yell at me. Was not having that. They were not honest regarding the dog I wanted and the excuses provided by Megan were horrific. Because of her stank attitude and lies she not only lost my potential adoption but I made sure to tell the four people in my office who are also on the lookout for dogs to not bother with this place as well. I am also ensuring that no one I know makes a donation to a place that treats people with so little consideration and respect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get a new owner who appreciates that honesty and integrity are integral in running a business (non profit or otherwise). Employ staff who know how to communicate with complete sentences to potential customers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I wanted to write in response to ShannonElizabeth's review. While I certainly am sorry if she felt that she was not treated professionally, I think it is important to understand that although the individuals who volunteer with MuttsMatter are extremely dedicated, they do have other jobs. In other words, MuttsMatter volunteers have other commitments that may make it difficult for someone to contact you immediately. We try our best to respond as quickly as possible. Additionally, and this may not have been known to whomever you spoke with, but just because you have an application for a particular dog or dogs, does not mean that there is not someone else who has also placed an application for the same dog or dogs and is farther along in the process than you are.

MuttsMatter is a wonderful organization that has rescued hundreds of dogs -- all with the help of individuals who volunteer their time for free.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

I met Melanie prior to 2010 through our work with other rescues. When she started her own rescue, I worked with her on a volunteer basis, AND adopted two two dogs from the organization. Melanie runs... more

April 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

We had the privledge of adopting two wonderful pugs from MMR. We were elated to learn that our adoptions were the 999th and 1000th successful adoptions for MMR. That is a great acomplishment for a rescue that "opened" in 2010. I just read a few other reviews from folks who were annoyed that they had not been contacted in a time frame that they felt appropriate. I just want to say that this is an ALL volunteer group, and it takes some time to get through to everyone that wants a dog. One person stated that they were excited to find a dog they thought would be perfect. Try to remember that there are more than likely 10 other families who are just excited for the same dog!!! The rescue folks do the best they can, I am sure of that. It does take time, and sometimes you don't get the dog you think you should get. But, listen to the rescue, and see if there is another dog for you!!! I am glad we waited, as two wonderful dogs walked into our lives, and it was clear that THESE were the dogs we should adopt.
This rescue is very professional and wants to place all their dogs in good homes. It does take time, so be patient.....they will work with you to find the right dog. I would definitely recommend them, and am very happy with our adoptees!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

I met Melanie prior to 2010 through our work with other rescues. When she started her own rescue, I worked with her on a volunteer basis, AND adopted two two dogs from the organization. Melanie runs the rescue with boundless energy and endless heart. She is an animal advocate in the truest sense, and is not afraid to let applicants know that the dog they want will not be a match for their family, and will work tirelessly, along with her team, to help a family find the right dog. As a non profit, it is not about the money, it is about the life a dog often times plucked from certain death in a shelter, hoarding or cruelty case, or given up by another family. While some may say the process is unfair, I can honestly share that is simply the care and due process that all reputable rescues should take when placing animals. We have adopted two dogs from MMR, and although I was well known to Melanie, I still had to sign a contract and talk with Melanie about each of the dogs....that is how much she values each and every life that comes into her rescue.

Through Melanie's tireless efforts, MMR has reached across state lines to partner with rural southern shelters and rescues to save dogs that rarely have a chance. This is in additon to the countless dogs she rescues in the MD/VA/DC area. ALL dogs are vetted and temperament tested prior to placement in foster care, and there is never a rush to placement. MMR also does not shy away from harder to place dogs, with an overall success rate close to 100%.

Melanie and MMR have an equal love and compassion for both the all American Mutt as well as the many purebred dogs that come to the rescue. The bottom line is that the life of any dog is worthwhile.

I would encourage anyone to adopt from MMR, especially given the time and energy they take for each placement. There is extensive follow up and support post adoption, as well as intense pre adoption screening.

Thank you MMR for our two wonderful dogs....




More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers