Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.338985
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

Unfortunately, people don't understand what goes into finding a home for a dog that has been abused, neglected, abandoned, living on the streets or sitting a high kill shelter because the owner just did not want to care for it anymore. Sure it would be nice to place a dog in every home that we get an application for, but it does not work that way.

No one can speak for the dogs except those who are in rescue. If one could see some of the conditions that some dogs were found in it would make one sick. Some were rescued from back yard breeders,living in filthy conditions, sores on their paws from being in a wire cage, never knowing what soft grass feels like or any kind of kind and loving human interaction.

One is responsible for taking care of the pets and making sure their vaccines are up to date, they are on Heartworm and Flea and Tick preventative. In any rescue, vet checks are important because it indicates how an individual takes care of their pets. After what these animals have been through both physically and mentally, all rescues want to do their best to find the right home. There are so many dogs and cats that every rescue is trying to save and it is every rescue's goal to help find them one.

We understand that you wanted to open your heart and home for an animal and sometimes we do have to turn someone down but we also try to reconsider the application. If the vet information is incorrect, it is everyone's responsibility to make sure it is accurate. Check with the vet first before you apply and ask if the vaccinations are up to date.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014

more

May 15, 2014


On May 9, 2014, I submitted an application to “Mutts Matter Rescue (MMR) -- in Rockville, MD 20847”. After waiting 6 days later, I emailed to Jessica Llich, the application Manager/Trainer to inquire about the dog I chose named, “Emmy” a Yorkshire Terrier Yorkie Mix. On this date, Jessica
emailed me back saying, “When our volunteer contacted your vet, she was told that your cat had never received vaccines”. Boots had not received vaccines at this particular vet because we had just recently moved to this area, however; I did take Boots there on Sept 12, 2013, in Chestertown, MD, and came home with a bill of $163.00. But if there was a concern, or problem about Vaccinations, etc., why didn’t the MMR Volunteer call me to inquire? There is nothing on the Application that states anything at all to indicate, “Vaccination will be checked”. Otherwise, I would have provided that information, or at least called the Vets to have them provide that information, or sent the records in the postal mail, or drove there myself to give them in person if need be. The MMR did not state, list all Vet’s that Boots was taken care of for whatever medical care, or vaccinations, etc. So I only listed this last Vet, that I used in this newest area, which we just recently moved to.

I have all records on my cat named “Boots” who received all his vaccinations and other health concerns that were immediately taking care of and attended to. Boots was my pet, that I loved and cared for, who lived with me for 17.5 yrs. If he wasn’t healthy, and was not well attended to, how could he have lived as long as he did? I adopted Boots from Tucson, AZ and over the 17.5 years plus, he traveled with me across the US to different places in Maryland. After living 18 yrs, he was put down due to health reasons November 2013.

When looking for a small dog, I called around to many different “Rescue Sources” to be told, go on line. Thus, my time and effort went towards searching for a small dog on the Internet. I filled out new applications on 4 different occasions; but never heard back from any of them. However, I’d received new emails asking me to look at many new and available other dogs, but NOT the one I choose.

Today, May 15, 2014, when I inquired about what was taking so long and found out about the Vet issue. Jessica Llich Application Manager, wrote back asking for the other Vets I took Boots to, and if there was a way for me to provide the vacination records via email, or FAX. Neither of these worked for me, as I don’t have a FAX and do not know how to upload records onto the Computer. However, I stated that I lived on the other side of the Bay Bridge, 1 ½ hrs away from MMR, that I would be happy to drive there to show Boot’s records, and meet with them. And then I provided 4 Vet Hospitals with whom Boots (over 18 plus yrs) had received all vaccinations from. There were two in MD, and two from Tucson AZ. Jessica email’s me back saying, “our volunteer contacted the two vets listed on your application and neither had record of your cat being vaccinated. I regret that you are unhappy with our process”.

This makes me wonder, are the Animal Care People really interested in finding a good decent home for a pet? Or was the dog I choose, given to someone else because someone else was previously vetted before me?

There are thousands upon thousands of dogs wanting a homes, according to all Animal Rescues Centers/Resources. I could have provided a good decent home for one of them, as I have done so for a cat for over 18 years in the past. I have proof of all medical records, I have the desire, the commitment and enthusiasm. I have the finances to care for a dog. I would be a good companion and could give the dog a permanent home. I have a good home environment to offer the dog. I would nurture, love, and protect the dog. And most of all, I have the love, devotion, dedication all the means necessary to ensure the dog would be safe, comfortable, and that he/she would live vs. be put down. Yet, I was denied by Jessica Llich at MMR, Rockville MD. WHY?
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

We are ready to have a nice small dog at home again and I decided to go for a rescue dog, there are so many in need of a nice home. We got excited with the idea and started the search, lots of the small dogs we liked could be found at the Mutts Matter Rescue, so I filled the adoption application, sent emails, tried to call them, I never never had any reply and I just don't know how to reach them. I will try other rescue places and hopefully we will be luckier.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

No rescue that takes in a lot of homeless dogs is capable of keeping up with such a huge amount of
paperwork. I think to resolve this issue it should be stated on their website not to expect a return call in less then two weeks. All volunteer rescues have to depend on what time is left in
anyone's day to help out and more often then not these are married people with children and/or a fulltime job. It appears that MMR needs some help in this area but I would not consider them a bad rescue just for that. They do their adoptions the right way. The dogs are spayed/neutered and completely vetted PRIOR to adoption and housechecks are done as well. I understand there is some frustration but I have seen some really bad, sloppy rescues and MMR is NOT one of them.
I do have my own rescue so I can walk a mile in their shoes. I can never please everyone no matter how hard I try. My point here is that MMR is saving a lot of dog's lives. Please try not to discourage them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put the suggested time frame to get back with an applicant right on the website. Keep up the good work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

I am both an adopter and now a volunteer with Mutts Matter rescue. I've adopted from other rescues in the past and found Mutts Mater to be very thorough and responsive in comparison. They asked me great questions during the approval process to determine the type of pup who would best fit my lifestyle, and really seemed to care about the fit. Their dogs live in foster homes, so they get to know them and what they need to make a better match for the dog and adopter. Not everyone who applies for a dog will get approved, so you will always have disappointed and angry folks, but the mission is to save pups and find them great homes and that's what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

We applied for a dog and listed another dog in case our first choice was already adopted. We filled out the application and asked to be notified of receipt of the application because we are actively looking to adopt a rescue rather then deal with a breeder. We have always rescued and we understand it can be a bit of a challenge because they are dealing with volunteers who have full time employment.

After a week we sent another email simply asking receipt of our application. I understand with the current cold weather many volunteers may be actively rushing to help animals right now, but a simple email response back would take just a few seconds. To not even show enough professionalism to do this, suggests they are poorly managed and overwhelmed.

For this reason, we will continue our search and attempt to deal mainly with the ASPCA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take 2 seconds to hit respind back and say "application received".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014

more

January 8, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about this organization. We have been dealing with several rescues trying to find the right dog for our family and Mutts Matter was by far the best to work with. Their process was very thorough but they kept us in the loop the entire way. Everyone from the phone screener to the home visit person could not have been any nicer. All of them are volunteers and you can really tell they do this out of love for the animals. I'm amazed when I read some of the bad reviews on this site as far as not getting calls or waiting forever. Only thing I can imagine is that they were not qualified applicants or something. Anyway, keep up the great work and thank you for bringing our little buddy Travis into our lives!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I filled out an application for a dog they had on petfinder. After two weeks I had not heard back from anyone so I sent an email asking if someone could contact me. Again I never heard from anyone. The dog I was interested in is still listed on petfinder but I won't be wasting my time filling out any applications from this organization. I understand they are staffed by volunteers but how hard is it to respond to an email?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get back to potential adopters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I filled out an application for a dog. I knew there was no promise I would meet the criteria for adopting. I was going through the processes when I was told that the dog I applied for had been adopted. Why ws I not told? What a disappointment. ! !

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I got my Goober from this rescue. I found them to extremely dedicated and helpful. Everyone I talked to during the process was very nice and considerate. I met a lot of the volunteers during an adoption event, and they were all very knowledgeable about the dog they were with. If I had the time, I would actually foster and volunteer for them. My dog was as he was explained on the website, and very well taken care of while he was fostered.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers