Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.344835
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

We are ready to have a nice small dog at home again and I decided to go for a rescue dog, there are so many in need of a nice home. We got excited with the idea and started the search, lots of the small dogs we liked could be found at the Mutts Matter Rescue, so I filled the adoption application, sent emails, tried to call them, I never never had any reply and I just don't know how to reach them. I will try other rescue places and hopefully we will be luckier.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

No rescue that takes in a lot of homeless dogs is capable of keeping up with such a huge amount of
paperwork. I think to resolve this issue it should be stated on their website not to expect a return call in less then two weeks. All volunteer rescues have to depend on what time is left in
anyone's day to help out and more often then not these are married people with children and/or a fulltime job. It appears that MMR needs some help in this area but I would not consider them a bad rescue just for that. They do their adoptions the right way. The dogs are spayed/neutered and completely vetted PRIOR to adoption and housechecks are done as well. I understand there is some frustration but I have seen some really bad, sloppy rescues and MMR is NOT one of them.
I do have my own rescue so I can walk a mile in their shoes. I can never please everyone no matter how hard I try. My point here is that MMR is saving a lot of dog's lives. Please try not to discourage them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put the suggested time frame to get back with an applicant right on the website. Keep up the good work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

I am both an adopter and now a volunteer with Mutts Matter rescue. I've adopted from other rescues in the past and found Mutts Mater to be very thorough and responsive in comparison. They asked me great questions during the approval process to determine the type of pup who would best fit my lifestyle, and really seemed to care about the fit. Their dogs live in foster homes, so they get to know them and what they need to make a better match for the dog and adopter. Not everyone who applies for a dog will get approved, so you will always have disappointed and angry folks, but the mission is to save pups and find them great homes and that's what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

We applied for a dog and listed another dog in case our first choice was already adopted. We filled out the application and asked to be notified of receipt of the application because we are actively looking to adopt a rescue rather then deal with a breeder. We have always rescued and we understand it can be a bit of a challenge because they are dealing with volunteers who have full time employment.

After a week we sent another email simply asking receipt of our application. I understand with the current cold weather many volunteers may be actively rushing to help animals right now, but a simple email response back would take just a few seconds. To not even show enough professionalism to do this, suggests they are poorly managed and overwhelmed.

For this reason, we will continue our search and attempt to deal mainly with the ASPCA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take 2 seconds to hit respind back and say "application received".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014

more

January 8, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about this organization. We have been dealing with several rescues trying to find the right dog for our family and Mutts Matter was by far the best to work with. Their process was very thorough but they kept us in the loop the entire way. Everyone from the phone screener to the home visit person could not have been any nicer. All of them are volunteers and you can really tell they do this out of love for the animals. I'm amazed when I read some of the bad reviews on this site as far as not getting calls or waiting forever. Only thing I can imagine is that they were not qualified applicants or something. Anyway, keep up the great work and thank you for bringing our little buddy Travis into our lives!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My husband and I applied to this agency for adopting a new family member. We are avid pet lovers, offer a loving and safe home, have excellent references, and a close relationship with our veterinarian. We are understanding that this agency engages volunteers for its operations; however, the time and lack of communication throughout the process was excessive. It took much energy to continue to prompt follow-up. Further, while we recognize that the application process is designed to secure approval by the agency to adopt overall, we did share our interest in a particular dog, and were not told that he was being adopted to another home, which we only discovered 4 weeks into the process by seeing it on the website. Perhaps this presents itself as an issue in this case due to the excessive duration of time that we invested and the commitment that we demonstrated to continue the process, which was not respected by this agency. Unfortunately, we withdrew just before the home visit was being scheduled as we lost confidence in the agency, since over one month had passed and we truly have a desire to find a new family member for our home.

Just to share, since this experience, another MD rescue reached out to us and engaged us in a similar process (application, references, and home visit) and in just 2 weeks, we brought our new little one home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I filled out an application for a dog they had on petfinder. After two weeks I had not heard back from anyone so I sent an email asking if someone could contact me. Again I never heard from anyone. The dog I was interested in is still listed on petfinder but I won't be wasting my time filling out any applications from this organization. I understand they are staffed by volunteers but how hard is it to respond to an email?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get back to potential adopters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I filled out an application for a dog. I knew there was no promise I would meet the criteria for adopting. I was going through the processes when I was told that the dog I applied for had been adopted. Why ws I not told? What a disappointment. ! !

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I got my Goober from this rescue. I found them to extremely dedicated and helpful. Everyone I talked to during the process was very nice and considerate. I met a lot of the volunteers during an adoption event, and they were all very knowledgeable about the dog they were with. If I had the time, I would actually foster and volunteer for them. My dog was as he was explained on the website, and very well taken care of while he was fostered.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I contacted Mutts Mattes regarding adopting a dog. Rosemary contacted me. She was very unprofessoinal. I called the owner Megan. Her excuse for the unprofessional was becaues her staff are volunteers. Being a volunteer is not an excuse for being unprofessional. Your staff should not send out emails with "BTW" in the content. Correspondence in a work environment should be differentiated between texting. Lastly, while talking to Megan she was rude and tried to yell at me. Was not having that. They were not honest regarding the dog I wanted and the excuses provided by Megan were horrific. Because of her stank attitude and lies she not only lost my potential adoption but I made sure to tell the four people in my office who are also on the lookout for dogs to not bother with this place as well. I am also ensuring that no one I know makes a donation to a place that treats people with so little consideration and respect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get a new owner who appreciates that honesty and integrity are integral in running a business (non profit or otherwise). Employ staff who know how to communicate with complete sentences to potential customers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers