Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.212125
Write A Review
November 8, 2014

more

November 8, 2014

Not every rescue is perfect and our mission is to be the advocates for those animals who have been rescued from neglect, abandonment, abuse and from deplorable conditions. I know that each applicant wants to open their hearts and home for an animal that they are willing to give a second chance at life. It is a very difficult thing to try to find that loving and caring home for a dog and hope it will be a forever companion to someone. With all rescues, we do our best to screen the applicant, check with the vet and speak with personal references. Sometimes in spite all we have done to try to match the applicant with the dog, it does not work out. There are so many dogs who are waiting for a chance to be a part of a family and get an opportunity to be appreciated and love. Do not lamb baste Mutts Matter because your application for a dog was not selected. The shelters are full with dogs who have been neglected and surrendered. Why not think of a dog who you can save no matter where is rescued from.

No rescue is perfect and neither are the people who volunteer. If you were ever to see first hand the places Melanie Samet has been to rescue dogs, it would make your stomach turn. It is her total dedication and devotion to Mutts Matter Rescue that she is able to save so many dogs. She has worked tirelessly in every way shape and form, to help animals who are in need.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

It took my wife and I about a year after losing a fine companion dog to us and our 2 year old boxer to finally make the decision to adopt another to replace him, after scanning through the numerous ones on "Petfinder" over that period. We had hoped to find a younger, male, fairly large dog in the Lab family, as our Katy seems to gravitate to this type, and also due to their somewhat laid back attitude and even temperament. My wife found one that seemed like just what we were looking for. I submitted the application on September 20th, and received a positive, and encouraging response on the 21st. We maintained regular and often correspondence with MMR up to, and through the interview, home visit process, and after, with some hurdles along the way. Our new prospective family member was being fostered in West Virginia at the time we applied for him, so he had to be transported to MD for the routine vetting process, and was found to be suffering an enlarged spleen due to tick borne disease, so he needed to run a 30 day course of antibiotics. He also had not been neutered, and could not have the surgery until the drug therapy was completed. No matter, after hearing all the great updates on him, how everyone loved him, how well behaved he was, and getting along with cats/dogs, and the excellent reports from Lynn, his MD foster, and Suzanne, how we were getting a "dream" dog, we were prepared to do whatever was going to be necessary to complete the process, and get to meet him and bring him home. All the preparations and expense had been worth it. Finally, after a long year of procrastinating about even getting another dog, then about adoption itself, we had made the right decision. So finally, after 5 weeks of waiting, of anticipation, of updates and reports, we were finally going down to southern MD from our home in Herndon, VA on October 26th, to introduce our Katy to Big John and if all went well, bring him home. We got a call Saturday night (well not exactly, our phone rang but went to vm, and we heard Lynn asking Melanie (Samet) to call her right back. She had mistakenly called our phone, thinking it was Melanie) from Lynn, but didn't get to it in time, so Sue (my wife) called her back, and was told that she (Lynn) was sorry, but that she had become "attached" to Big John ( she may have renamed him JJ), and could not let him go. I came out to the dining room to see my wife on the phone in tears,and knew immediately what was up. It was one of our fears all along, about adoption, but I convinced Sue that that wouldn't happen because I was positive that the fosters are told going in, that there has to be a point of no return, where as keeping the dog is no longer an option, and to prepare for that, and most likely are required to sign an agreement to that effect. Obviously, I am sadly mistaken. The foster can, and will snatch your dog out from under you right up to, and including the day you were to pick it up, and MMR (Melanie) will sanction, and even condone it. This was just so wrong on so many levels. I could not write this right away, as much as I wanted to because I first had to get past the sadness and disbelief, and then the anger. MMR has no code of ethics, regardless of what their mission statement may say, and there is nothing fair or morally just about it. Suzanne even had the audacity to send me an email the following Monday titled "sincerest apologies", from which I could glean nothing sincere or apologetic. All she did was proceed to make excuses for Lynn, saying that she doesn't have much experience as a fostering, and reminding me that fosters have a right of first choice, neither of which apply here. We heard nothing from Melanie, even though she has the authority to make the appropriate call, and by that I mean the fair, and morally correct call. When she was told of this by Lynn she replied, "you're really doing this"? Apparently, the fosters' emotions take precedent over not only an adoptor, who has not only been promised a particular dog, without whose application would not have even met Big John, because he would most likely still be with the foster in West Virginia, but also over the very reputation of Mutts Matter Rescue, and their ethics. I believe it is essential for the general public to know what to expect and be prepared for in dealing with this organization, because if it happened to us, it can happen to them. We'll be seeing you out at the adoption events in the area, and on social media as well. John Warnock, Herndon, VA
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I don't usually write reviews but felt the need to share my experience with MMR, especially after some of the recent bad reviews. I have been a Veterinary Technician for 10 years and have worked with many different rescues. I have never worked with one as organized or as caring as MMR. I am currently the manager at one of MMR's vet partners and know first hand that MMR will do whatever is needed for the dogs in their care. I have worked with rescues who will not do dentals or lumpectomies if they are needed, they will leave it up to the new owners. MMR does not work that way. If they take a dog in that needs care they will address the issues. They are always clear on the dogs bios if they have medical concerns. I have also adopted two dogs over the past few years through MMR. One a pug with terminal cancer who needed hospice care. We were able to give him a loving home for 14 months before he declined from the cancer. The second was a severely emaciated pit bull who has doubled his weight since we got him. Both dogs have been family members to us, and my husband and I are grateful that MMR brought them to us and allowed us to give them forever homes.

MMR receives a LARGE number of applications on a daily basis and they are run exclusively by volunteers. It is hard to make everyone happy but they try their absolute best!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 6, 2011

MMR made the adoption process go so smoothly. They are a very well run organization. The communication was great, and now we are lucky enough to have a new dog in our lives! more

October 8, 2014

I am a two time adopter with Mutts Matter and have now been a volunteer with them for the past 3 years. After reading a few of the reviews, I felt I could not sit silent while people disrespect all the great work that MMR volunteers do.
I can say without a doubt this is the most well run
rescue organization I have ever been associated with and they are extremely well respected throughout the rescue community.
I am amazed how mean and rude people can be when they do not get approved or get what they want. MMR has some of the most dedicated and passionate volunteers who do this out of the goodness of their heart and don't deserve that treatment. We are very appreciative that people take the time to rescue from MMR but not every dog is perfect for every home. This is where our experience comes into play. We have rules for a reason and they are not for you...they are for the welfare of the dog. If you do not get the dog you want, it does not mean you are a bad dog owner and it certainly shouldn't mean you write a scathing review of Mutt Matter Rescue.
I love MMR and the great work we do!!
August 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

MMR made the adoption process go so smoothly. They are a very well run organization. The communication was great, and now we are lucky enough to have a new dog in our lives!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having my new best friend. He has made a huge difference in our lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them grow. They have a great team that really knows what they are doing.

October 8, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

MUTTS MATTER BUT APPLICANTS DO NOT!

Absolutely, the worst animal rescue organization ever! After submitting an application to adopt, no response received after approximately a week! As a result, sent e-mail message stating common courtesy would have been appreciated in receiving at least
an acknowledgment. Within only 30 minutes, received a scathing response from the President of MMR. As she apparently could not deal with the truth that persons typically expect common courtesy in the form of an acknowledgment, she proceeds to attack us by stating we wasted our time by not reviewing the policies on their website, and in affect, were not suitable pet owners despite the fact we have adopted from numerous other rescue organizations over the years! In response to my statement that numerous others have vetted similar complaints on sites such as this one, her response was the following:

"most of those people that have written those are people that of been declined by our organization for either not having a good vet reference personal reference or not having a good application."

It's amazing, how the President of MMR responded in less than 1/2 hour with a verbose response when she felt wronged after reading my message, whereas she could not even send a couple of sentences acknowledging receipt of our application for a week. Of course, persons like myself who voice their opinions of not receiving common courtesy are "bad applicants who wasted their time applying after not reviewing the policies on their website." For an organization operated by such an UNPROFESSIONAL individual, all I can recommend to others searching for homeless dogs would be steer clear of MMR and seek an organization where ANIMALS AND PERSONS BOTH MATTER!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OCTOBER 10, 2014:

In response to the volunteer who left an obviously biased review after mine, I am sorry to say that persons have every right to post their experience here or elsewhere regarding their negative encounters with MMR! In fact, I have every right to contact previous persons (couple have already been contacted) who left comments or file a formal complaint to the Attorney General of Maryland, if I desire.

Unfortunately, you are not seeing the forest for the trees, as persons have not complained about not receiving a pet but the manner in which they were inconsiderately treated including myself. In fact, the remark made to the MMR President was done after she was explicitly told not to contact me but continued to send another inflammatory message.

With respect to facts concerning at least a three year history of disrespectful and unprofessional service on the part of MMR, numerous examples are listed below:

1) In response to a customer review, MMR President responded with the following inconsiderate remark:

“Why don't you show some courage and tell us your name and the dogs name?”

My Response: You don't consider that question to be unprofessional and unnecessary? I am certain any reasonable person would! It's ironic, the MMR President and yourself are blaming others for whatever reason such as they did not receive a pet, etc.

2) Content excerpted from prior customer review:

“... but a simple email response back would take just a few seconds. To not even show enough professionalism to do this, suggests they are poorly managed and overwhelmed.”

My Response: Completely agree as this was the basis of my original complaint. In this day and age, automated mechanisms can be configured to automatically notify applicants without any time on the part of MMR. Either the MMR President has no knowledge of technology or simply does not care about good public relations! Don't see any complaint about not receiving a dog and would bet the lack of common courtesy was the motivator for leaving the complaint.

3) Content excerpted from prior customer review:

“I understand they are staffed by volunteers but how hard is it to respond to an email?”

My Response: Once again, completely agree as this was the basis of my original complaint. In this day and age, automated mechanisms can be configured to automatically notify applicants without any time on the part of MMR. Either the MMR President has no knowledge of technology or simply does not care about good public relations! Don't see any complaint about not receiving a dog and would bet the lack of common courtesy was the motivator for leaving the complaint.

4) Content excerpted from prior customer review: “Rosemary contacted me. She was very unprofessional. I called the owner Megan. Her excuse for the unprofessional was because her staff are volunteers. Being a volunteer is not an excuse for being unprofessional.”

“Lastly, while talking to Megan she was rude and tried to yell at me.”

My Response: Completely unprofessional and should not be tolerated! However, given the same type of attitude from MMR President, not surprised! Don't see any complaint about not receiving a dog and would bet the lack of common courtesy was the motivator for leaving the complaint.

5) “We still have yet to hear from this organization. No application confirmation. No follow up. No response to our email. This is completely unprofessional and rude. Honestly, it takes two minutes to say Sorry, but we don't think you are the right fit."

“I would NOT recommend trying to adopt from this rescue. Completely unprofessional.”

My Response: Once again, completely agree as this was the basis of my original complaint. In this day and age, automated mechanisms can be configured to automatically notify applicants without any time on the part of MMR. Either the MMR President has no knowledge of technology or simply does not care about good public relations! As mentioned numerous times already, don't see any complaint about not receiving a dog and would bet the lack of common courtesy was the motivator for leaving the complaint.

6) “After a week of not being contacted by anyone from the rescue I sent an email to their questions about adoption address. after two days of hearing nothing again, I sent an email to Melanie. She called me the next day and although she had a very nasty tone set up a phone interview for the next day.”

My Response: Once again, completely unprofessional and should not be tolerated! However, given the same type of attitude from MMR President, not surprised! As mentioned numerous times already, don't see any complaint about not receiving a dog and would bet the lack of common courtesy was the motivator for leaving the complaint.

Based upon the ratio of complaints to overall number of reviews, I recommend MMR work on treating persons with respect and their public relations!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Based upon the ratio of complaints to overall number of reviews, I recommend MMR work on treating persons with respect in order to improve their public relations! The President and volunteer who believe they are treating persons with dignity and respect need to face the realization that individuals post negative reviews as a result of the way they were treated!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

This is one of the most dedicated, organized, compassionate group of people.
A wonderful group that constantly puts itself on the front line, fighting for dogs who are simply helpless, and that most have given up on. I applaud this group for their efforts and compassion.


September 5, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

We chose Mutts Matter as a primary agency to look into adoptions from. Our experience was quite bad. We chose a dog that obviously had an autoimmune disorder, but the serverity was unclear at the time. After accepting our money it took them two weeks to get us the dog's vet records. Once we got them they were woefully inadequate. Aside from the autoimmune issue, the dog had two tumors. In the first month we paid 3 times the adoption fee in healthcare. My issues are three: no one at Mutts Matter acknowledged the dog's condition, though it was plain to the eye; the vet Mutts Matter used failed to identify ANY of the dog's issues; it proved difficult to get any background medical information. On a separate note, the foster family was awful. Rather than introduce the dog, they spent the entire time talking about looking forward to the next "foster child" they would get. The dog was skinny, suffering from bad allergies, and had it's claws painted with nail polish. How did this family get picked to foster an animal? All these elements combined have led me to conclude that this non-profit's approach is "We're doing a good thing simply by providing an animal the bare minimum for survival." Sorry. Not good enough. If that's all you can provide, do something else. We donate money to animal rescues each Christmas. Mutt's matter will get the consideration they give the animals that come their way: pennies.
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

Unfortunately, people don't understand what goes into finding a home for a dog that has been abused, neglected, abandoned, living on the streets or sitting a high kill shelter because the owner just did not want to care for it anymore. Sure it would be nice to place a dog in every home that we get an application for, but it does not work that way.

No one can speak for the dogs except those who are in rescue. If one could see some of the conditions that some dogs were found in it would make one sick. Some were rescued from back yard breeders,living in filthy conditions, sores on their paws from being in a wire cage, never knowing what soft grass feels like or any kind of kind and loving human interaction.

One is responsible for taking care of the pets and making sure their vaccines are up to date, they are on Heartworm and Flea and Tick preventative. In any rescue, vet checks are important because it indicates how an individual takes care of their pets. After what these animals have been through both physically and mentally, all rescues want to do their best to find the right home. There are so many dogs and cats that every rescue is trying to save and it is every rescue's goal to help find them one.

We understand that you wanted to open your heart and home for an animal and sometimes we do have to turn someone down but we also try to reconsider the application. If the vet information is incorrect, it is everyone's responsibility to make sure it is accurate. Check with the vet first before you apply and ask if the vaccinations are up to date.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2014
3 people found this review helpful


On May 9, 2014, I submitted an application to “Mutts Matter Rescue (MMR) -- in Rockville, MD 20847”. After waiting 6 days later, I emailed to Jessica Llich, the application Manager/Trainer to inquire about the dog I chose named, “Emmy” a Yorkshire Terrier Yorkie Mix. On this date, Jessica
emailed me back saying, “When our volunteer contacted your vet, she was told that your cat had never received vaccines”. Boots had not received vaccines at this particular vet because we had just recently moved to this area, however; I did take Boots there on Sept 12, 2013, in Chestertown, MD, and came home with a bill of $163.00. But if there was a concern, or problem about Vaccinations, etc., why didn’t the MMR Volunteer call me to inquire? There is nothing on the Application that states anything at all to indicate, “Vaccination will be checked”. Otherwise, I would have provided that information, or at least called the Vets to have them provide that information, or sent the records in the postal mail, or drove there myself to give them in person if need be. The MMR did not state, list all Vet’s that Boots was taken care of for whatever medical care, or vaccinations, etc. So I only listed this last Vet, that I used in this newest area, which we just recently moved to.

I have all records on my cat named “Boots” who received all his vaccinations and other health concerns that were immediately taking care of and attended to. Boots was my pet, that I loved and cared for, who lived with me for 17.5 yrs. If he wasn’t healthy, and was not well attended to, how could he have lived as long as he did? I adopted Boots from Tucson, AZ and over the 17.5 years plus, he traveled with me across the US to different places in Maryland. After living 18 yrs, he was put down due to health reasons November 2013.

When looking for a small dog, I called around to many different “Rescue Sources” to be told, go on line. Thus, my time and effort went towards searching for a small dog on the Internet. I filled out new applications on 4 different occasions; but never heard back from any of them. However, I’d received new emails asking me to look at many new and available other dogs, but NOT the one I choose.

Today, May 15, 2014, when I inquired about what was taking so long and found out about the Vet issue. Jessica Llich Application Manager, wrote back asking for the other Vets I took Boots to, and if there was a way for me to provide the vacination records via email, or FAX. Neither of these worked for me, as I don’t have a FAX and do not know how to upload records onto the Computer. However, I stated that I lived on the other side of the Bay Bridge, 1 ½ hrs away from MMR, that I would be happy to drive there to show Boot’s records, and meet with them. And then I provided 4 Vet Hospitals with whom Boots (over 18 plus yrs) had received all vaccinations from. There were two in MD, and two from Tucson AZ. Jessica email’s me back saying, “our volunteer contacted the two vets listed on your application and neither had record of your cat being vaccinated. I regret that you are unhappy with our process”.

This makes me wonder, are the Animal Care People really interested in finding a good decent home for a pet? Or was the dog I choose, given to someone else because someone else was previously vetted before me?

There are thousands upon thousands of dogs wanting a homes, according to all Animal Rescues Centers/Resources. I could have provided a good decent home for one of them, as I have done so for a cat for over 18 years in the past. I have proof of all medical records, I have the desire, the commitment and enthusiasm. I have the finances to care for a dog. I would be a good companion and could give the dog a permanent home. I have a good home environment to offer the dog. I would nurture, love, and protect the dog. And most of all, I have the love, devotion, dedication all the means necessary to ensure the dog would be safe, comfortable, and that he/she would live vs. be put down. Yet, I was denied by Jessica Llich at MMR, Rockville MD. WHY?
March 25, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

We are ready to have a nice small dog at home again and I decided to go for a rescue dog, there are so many in need of a nice home. We got excited with the idea and started the search, lots of the small dogs we liked could be found at the Mutts Matter Rescue, so I filled the adoption application, sent emails, tried to call them, I never never had any reply and I just don't know how to reach them. I will try other rescue places and hopefully we will be luckier.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers