Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.821435
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MPV is a welcoming and safe place for Muslims and non-Muslims alike to come and discuss and learn about Islam. I have always felt welcome here and felt safe in asking questions and probing issues that are relevant to modern life. The Islam I find on the pages of MPV is not a violent, misogynistic, homophobic Islam. On the contrary the Islam I encounter daily at MPV is filled with hope, light, love, acceptance, tolerance, and forward thinking. I would not have converted to Islam if not for MPV which has shown me that too often Islam has been hijacked by extremists and ultra-conservatives and used for political gain. MPV brings the sun out to shine on the beauty that is Islam.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

this is an incredible and crucial organization. as a muslim who supports interfaith dialogue, women's and lgbt rights and an ongoing exploration of what islam really means, i have never seen such a loquacious, fascinating and compassionate group. i feel blessed to have found them and to be included in their anthology as well as invited to their gatherings. muslims for progressive values IS the future of islam - and ideally, faith itself - in the world today. i am a single mother of three outspoken teenaged girls, so i have a vested interest in the future of the world. an organization like muslims for progressive values gives me hope!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I became Muslim, almost 2 years ago, I knew instinctively that Islam was a large tent under which many and all were welcome. I knew that Islam was tolerant and giving, but, unfortunately, there were few Muslims in my area that lived up to that. It was when I found Muslims for Progressive Values that I found a group of Muslims who practiced Islam in all of its loving, all-embracing, welcoming glory. They, the good people of MPV, were there to answer my questions and give me guidance. Not only were they not judgmental, almost always when I posted a questions -- or saw a question posted that I had been unsure of whether it would be appropriate to ask, the brothers and sisters of MPV gave information from their heart and from their heads -- and they made it absolutely clear that not only the question asked was appropriate, but they, the responders had at one point wondered the same thing. It makes you feel good when you find that you aren't the only one who was wondering about A, B or C -- whatever the question was/is. To find yourself surrounded by people of a like mind who are open and willing to share their doubts, their faith and their approach to their faith without judging you for yours is a blessing of such immense proportions that there is know way I can express it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I appreciate MPV so much. MPV offers a community to anyone who wants to worship God and does not discriminate based on criteria that make many people feel unwelcome in other more orthodox Muslim communities: gender, sexual orientation, sect, and more. Everyone is welcome. The focus is on love, peace, and justice in Islam and not fear, shame, and hellfire. I look forward to growing in spirituality through MPV's inclusive atmosphere as the organization continues to develop.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When I came to Muslims for Progressive Values I was on the verge or leaving Islam all together. I had become disillusioned from mainstream islam for a variety of reasons the main reason being that I am gay. Mpv gave me a place where I could grow and learn about my religion from people who truly cared and loved me for the sake of Allah. Mpv is not only an organization for progressive Islam it has become a second home for me. I can honestly say without hesitation that if it was not for MPV I would not be Muslim today. Ansother awesome thing about Mpv is that it is not just for Muslims. They do some truly great and inspiring interfaith work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers