Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.821435
Write A Review
November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Finding MPV was a life changing event for me. As an organization which upholds women's rights, LGBT rights, freedom of speech, diversity, equality, and many other progressive values, It has provided safe and tolerant spaces for me to reconnect with my Muslim faith through it's retreats, Unity Mosques, and online forums. There is no other Muslim organization like it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My city, Columbus OH, is the 25 largest city in America. Yet there was no mosque where a Muslim woman could attend Friday Prayers and not feel like a second class citizen. There was no mosque where a Gay Muslim could attend Friday Prayers and not feel either vilified or pitied. As of Dec. Seventh that will no longer be the case. Thanks to the support we have received from MPV we will have a local MPV Unity Mosque to welcome EVERY Muslim to share EQUALLY in the joy of Islam.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MPV represents a way to view Islam without prejudices. It doesn't mean changing Islam. It means freeing Islam from obscurantism using our mind to try to understand what Allah wants to us. There should be more MPV around the world to help the new generation to get out from intolerant teachings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Hace 5 años que soy Musulmán, Alhamdulillah, y toda mi vida que soy homosexual, "Todos hemos sido creados por Alläh, si reniego de quien soy, le estoy atribuyendo un fallo a Él y como Alläh es Perfecto en Su Creación, no puedes dejar de ser lo que soy" El trabajo que viene realizando MPV me ha servido para entenderme y aceptarme para así que los demás me acepten y entiendan. Alläh sabe recompensar a los justos. ZamZam, Secretario General de AMHO. A.M.HO.
Associació de Musulmans HOmosexuals LGTB
Web:www.amho.es
E-mail: amho.lgtb@gmail.com
Telf: 0034 - 622 436 726
PIN BB: 23787933
www.facebook.com/amho.es
www.facebook.com/asoc.amho
https://twitter.com/AMHOlgtbi

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an Indonesian. currently live in Indonesia, yet I have experienced living abroad when I was young and a few years ago for an inter-faith programme. I found MPV as a good place to know more of colorful dimensions in Islamic world especially expressed by Muslims who live in the so-called the West world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a very important organization for both Muslims and the World at large. It is a space where Islam and tolerance go hand in hand, and a way to combat the extremism that is being fueled unfortunately in many circles. I have never met such an open minded space, and religious as well. I feel that if MPV were to expand even further, it could be a way for not just peace but even civil rights being upheld where it is based. For people who want a moderate and progressive Islam, but have nowhere to go, this is a haven. For myself personally, it allowed me a space to be myself and a way to connect with my religious values, without being discriminated against or harmed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Alhumdulilah! I am so grateful to Allah for Muslims for Progressive Values. My wife and I have 3 small children. We want to raise our children in community with Muslims for Progressive Values. Our family finds common values with MPV in that we are committed to educating to counter oppression and to building just and sustainable communities. Ani Zonneveld is an amazing leader and visionary for MPV. I have found both she and the board members of MPV to be professional, knowledgable, caring, compassionate and enjoyable. I met them initially online and then in person. They have been instrumental in supporting me to start a chapter in my local area, the Great Salt Lake region of Utah. My dream is coming true, building community and friendships with other Muslims for Progressive Values where my family is accepted and welcomed as I believe the Prophet Muhammad (Peace and Blessings be Upon Him) would welcome us. I appreciate so much about MPV and it is expressed best in the MPV's principles and the people that are attracted to congregate in MPV community and to covenant over the values expressed in the MPV principles. ~ Jamila Tharp, Founder of the Salt Lake MPV Unity Gathering

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When I was feeling lost and questioning Islam I found MPV. It gave me the strength to be who I am and know I have a place in Islam. Even though their are many diffrent views and beliefs it is an accepting place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MPV is a friendly open space for anyone to experiences the positive spirituality of Islam. A group of intelligent, open minded individuals with a big heart that welcomse wanderers and seekers. They brought me closer to Islam and allowed me to see a side of our religion that I never knew even existed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MPV is an amazing organization. I've had the privilege to contribute to their cause and to see their vision and passion come to life and give a voice to the moderate muslims around the world is a breath of fresh air. MPR Rocks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers