Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.821435
Write A Review
October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I co-founded MPV with Ani Zonneveld, but after a couple years I had to step back due to difficult life circumstances. I have remained active in the organization not just because I believe passionately in it's missiong, but because it offers something very few American Muslims organizations and mosques do -- an inclusive, welcoming atmosphere where we are all invited to be true to ourselves and seek the pleasure of God as we believe is best. MPV has been a leader in promoting women's and lgbt rights in the Muslim community and in greater American society. It has been foundational in challenging the status quo among Muslim organizations, and has slowly (along with a lot of help from other social factors) begun pulling the mainstream Muslim community a bit more left, making them rethink their positions on women's leadership and the place of the queer community in Islam. It is so exciting to see as MPV mosques well up in city after city, and we hear stories of people who's faith, who's very life has been changed, and affirmed, by members of this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When I was feeling lost and questioning Islam I found MPV. It gave me the strength to be who I am and know I have a place in Islam. Even though their are many diffrent views and beliefs it is an accepting place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a member of MPV since its inception and I support MPV because of its principles and the way MPV remains inclusive and welcoming to all Muslims and non-Muslims. My faith continues to deepen and expand as I continue to outreach to other Muslims across the nation. MPV has established an open community that is an alternative to the more orthodox views held by 20 percent of Muslims. MPV is expanding it's appeal to Muslims internationally. MPV supports voices less often heard in the discussion of Muslims in the West.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As Director of LGBT Outreach, I continue to work on the 12 years of scholastic and religious lecturing on LGBT Muslim issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Establish a all purpose institute in Washington, DC for educational training, prayer and meeting space, and an office for lobbying and legislative development on Capitol Hill.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

When the organization emerged from an earlier reiteration of the Network of Progressive Muslims. I've been a part since it's beginning.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

There are two: (1) Develop its media outreach, and (2) develop counseling materials for LGBT Muslim youth and their families.

What is its top priority in the long run?

As a religious advisor for MPV, the effort to develop more sacred prayer spaces for Muslims worldwide.

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When I came to Muslims for Progressive Values I was on the verge or leaving Islam all together. I had become disillusioned from mainstream islam for a variety of reasons the main reason being that I am gay. Mpv gave me a place where I could grow and learn about my religion from people who truly cared and loved me for the sake of Allah. Mpv is not only an organization for progressive Islam it has become a second home for me. I can honestly say without hesitation that if it was not for MPV I would not be Muslim today. Ansother awesome thing about Mpv is that it is not just for Muslims. They do some truly great and inspiring interfaith work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MPV is a friendly open space for anyone to experiences the positive spirituality of Islam. A group of intelligent, open minded individuals with a big heart that welcomse wanderers and seekers. They brought me closer to Islam and allowed me to see a side of our religion that I never knew even existed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MPV has helped me to keep my faith by providing an online community that I am able to identify with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

What a wonderful group of people who love Allah, but believe in a progressive Islam welcoming all! Their website educates and invites one to dialogue. The scholarship behind their positions is excellent. They are a lifesaver to many. I love this organization! It should be noted that I am a liberal Christian... I donated so a Muslim from another country could attend MPV's national gathering here in the US.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MPV is an amazing organization. I've had the privilege to contribute to their cause and to see their vision and passion come to life and give a voice to the moderate muslims around the world is a breath of fresh air. MPR Rocks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers