Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.821435
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MPV is a welcoming and safe place for Muslims and non-Muslims alike to come and discuss and learn about Islam. I have always felt welcome here and felt safe in asking questions and probing issues that are relevant to modern life. The Islam I find on the pages of MPV is not a violent, misogynistic, homophobic Islam. On the contrary the Islam I encounter daily at MPV is filled with hope, light, love, acceptance, tolerance, and forward thinking. I would not have converted to Islam if not for MPV which has shown me that too often Islam has been hijacked by extremists and ultra-conservatives and used for political gain. MPV brings the sun out to shine on the beauty that is Islam.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

this is an incredible and crucial organization. as a muslim who supports interfaith dialogue, women's and lgbt rights and an ongoing exploration of what islam really means, i have never seen such a loquacious, fascinating and compassionate group. i feel blessed to have found them and to be included in their anthology as well as invited to their gatherings. muslims for progressive values IS the future of islam - and ideally, faith itself - in the world today. i am a single mother of three outspoken teenaged girls, so i have a vested interest in the future of the world. an organization like muslims for progressive values gives me hope!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an Indonesian. currently live in Indonesia, yet I have experienced living abroad when I was young and a few years ago for an inter-faith programme. I found MPV as a good place to know more of colorful dimensions in Islamic world especially expressed by Muslims who live in the so-called the West world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I became Muslim, almost 2 years ago, I knew instinctively that Islam was a large tent under which many and all were welcome. I knew that Islam was tolerant and giving, but, unfortunately, there were few Muslims in my area that lived up to that. It was when I found Muslims for Progressive Values that I found a group of Muslims who practiced Islam in all of its loving, all-embracing, welcoming glory. They, the good people of MPV, were there to answer my questions and give me guidance. Not only were they not judgmental, almost always when I posted a questions -- or saw a question posted that I had been unsure of whether it would be appropriate to ask, the brothers and sisters of MPV gave information from their heart and from their heads -- and they made it absolutely clear that not only the question asked was appropriate, but they, the responders had at one point wondered the same thing. It makes you feel good when you find that you aren't the only one who was wondering about A, B or C -- whatever the question was/is. To find yourself surrounded by people of a like mind who are open and willing to share their doubts, their faith and their approach to their faith without judging you for yours is a blessing of such immense proportions that there is know way I can express it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a very important organization for both Muslims and the World at large. It is a space where Islam and tolerance go hand in hand, and a way to combat the extremism that is being fueled unfortunately in many circles. I have never met such an open minded space, and religious as well. I feel that if MPV were to expand even further, it could be a way for not just peace but even civil rights being upheld where it is based. For people who want a moderate and progressive Islam, but have nowhere to go, this is a haven. For myself personally, it allowed me a space to be myself and a way to connect with my religious values, without being discriminated against or harmed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Alhumdulilah! I am so grateful to Allah for Muslims for Progressive Values. My wife and I have 3 small children. We want to raise our children in community with Muslims for Progressive Values. Our family finds common values with MPV in that we are committed to educating to counter oppression and to building just and sustainable communities. Ani Zonneveld is an amazing leader and visionary for MPV. I have found both she and the board members of MPV to be professional, knowledgable, caring, compassionate and enjoyable. I met them initially online and then in person. They have been instrumental in supporting me to start a chapter in my local area, the Great Salt Lake region of Utah. My dream is coming true, building community and friendships with other Muslims for Progressive Values where my family is accepted and welcomed as I believe the Prophet Muhammad (Peace and Blessings be Upon Him) would welcome us. I appreciate so much about MPV and it is expressed best in the MPV's principles and the people that are attracted to congregate in MPV community and to covenant over the values expressed in the MPV principles. ~ Jamila Tharp, Founder of the Salt Lake MPV Unity Gathering

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MPV is a wonderful place for muslims, converts, and those interested in learning about Islam in an open and diverse manner. While the views of some members (even the ones of admins) might put you off, it is great to knwo that their views and your own can be heard and expressed in an open forum without fears of negativity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Through the presence of MPV, I was able to realize that a rich, viable community that is female-friendly, LGBTQI-positive, and socially progressive does indeed exist within Islam. This gave me the courage to make the momentous decision to convert -- a decision I had been putting off for some time and which likely never would have been reached had it not been for MPV.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I think MPV is a great organization in that it truly speaks to people on a personal level. You meet a lot of really wonderful people who are interested in your well being. The support system is there. I love their philosophy and respect their mission which is why I have donated to this organization. This organization has a community of people that accepts you as you are without the judgement. There is no other organization like MPV out there and I believe it was a blessing to have come across this group!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I appreciate MPV so much. MPV offers a community to anyone who wants to worship God and does not discriminate based on criteria that make many people feel unwelcome in other more orthodox Muslim communities: gender, sexual orientation, sect, and more. Everyone is welcome. The focus is on love, peace, and justice in Islam and not fear, shame, and hellfire. I look forward to growing in spirituality through MPV's inclusive atmosphere as the organization continues to develop.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers