Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

My daughter has been taking violin lessons for 5 years and we always had to have financial aid through the Community Arts. When the Community Arts decided to no longer sponsor the Suzuki Violin Program her teacher moved to a local Music School and again we were able to secure financial aid through the Music School. When the teacher decided to go on her own the teacher kept us at a minimal cost. That is when we got signed up with MusicLink. The process was easy and I feel better knowing that her teacher is getting some benefits from the program. This last year my daughter was able to attend a Suzuki Day Long Workshop due to the Teacher Reimbursement Program. Thanks So Much!
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I have known Joanne Haroutounian for over 50 years. Her commitment to link talented, willing music teachers with talented, eager students--who might not otherwise be able to obtain or afford private music lessons--has never dwindled. I am a contributor to MusicLink because I believe their mission benefits so many more lives than just that of a particular student and teacher. Music enriches the quality of life for all--whether we write music, make music or simply listen to it. Gwen K.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 21, 2013

I have been involved in the MusicLink program since 1999, teaching piano to musically talented students whose parents cannot afford to pay for lessons. Each MusicLink teacher makes their own arrangeme... more

August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved in the MusicLink program as a piano teacher since 1999, teaching six students over the years since then. I have also served as the ML Chair for the local chapter of music teachers, having the responsibility of finding free pianos for each ML student in our community and arranging for the moving of those pianos. I have served as the ML chair for the Washington state music teachers association (WSMTA), presenting a program on ML at a WSMTA convention and meeting other teachers who have become ML volunteers. It has been a joy to share the music that has made a difference in my life with those who otherwise would be unable to have lessons.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2013

I have been involved in the MusicLink program since 1999, teaching piano to musically talented students whose parents cannot afford to pay for lessons. Each MusicLink teacher makes their own arrangement with the parents as to how much they can invest moneywise in lessons. Most of my parents have been able to pay for the music. I have also had several students help me with housecleaning or music inventory.

These students must be on reduced lunch, free lunch or on the borderline in their schools.

Washington State Music Teachers Association waives the fees for Adjudications, an educational event where each student plays two memorized pieces and is given constructive criticism by a college music professor, held each year in our local chapter. Fees are also waived if a MusicLink student enters the Young Composers Project, also part of the state organization's activities.

Music has been such a large part of my life that I know how taking lessons and learning how to discipline one's self to practice helps in adulthood. I see the benefit of music for these students as it may be the only contact they have on a one-to-one basis with an adult other than parents. Some have gone on to major or minor in college and would not have had exposure to music except through the MusicLink program.

I have been able to find free pianos for these students in my community. The local chapter of music teachers has been willing to pay for the appraisal of the instruments offered by people in the community and moving the pianos into people's homes. Once a student takes lessons for four years, they may keep the piano.

When I have a MusicLink student leave my studio, I talk with music specialists in the local schools to see if they have musically talented students who meet the criteria for the MusicLink program. I feel it is so important to reach out to those students and give them a chance to succeed and love music.

I have served as the local coordinator for this program since its inception in my town.

I've also been pleased of the partnership with our local Symphony which has offered free tickets to for a MusicLInk student and adult to take them to the concerts.

Also, a former piano tuner in town offered to give free tunings to the pianos of the MusicLink students. I am hopeful that the present piano tuner will offer to do the same thing.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

I have been a MusicLink teacher for over 15 years and also serve as a State Coordinator. MusicLink has provided my students with the opportunity to take lessons that they otherwise could not afford. They are hard workers and disciplined when it comes to practice. They will enjoy music for a lifetime and hopefully pass on this love to others. It is a pleasure to work with these young individuals and share the gift of music-making.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 15, 2013

I have been involved with the MusicLink program as a teacher and a coordinator for over 10 years and I've seen first hand the positive impact it has made on so many children's lives. I have watched m... more

August 7, 2014

I've been associated with the MusicLink Foundation for over 10 years as a coordinator, Board Member and, most importantly, as a MusicLink teacher. I have personally experienced the rewards of being able to share my gift of music with children who wouldn't otherwise have had the chance to learn an instrument.
As a coordinator, I have seen amazing things happen when teachers step forward to teach at a reduced fee or even for free, the perfect instrument is suddenly donated or a business decides to offer a free piano move or tuning. This collaboration among many different parties is making a tremendous difference in the livrs of deserving children and this organization brings it all together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more coordinators so more students and teachers could be brought together.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 15, 2013

I have been involved with the MusicLink program as a teacher and a coordinator for over 10 years and I've seen first hand the positive impact it has made on so many children's lives. I have watched my own MusicLink students grow in multiple ways through their experience with music making. I have received dozens of thank you notes from parents and teachers for the possibilities that have become realities because of the MusicLink program. It is an awesome thing to watch a child develop into a fine musician and it's an awesome feeling to know you helped make that happen when it never could have without this program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love to see it receive more funding. We could reach so many more children if we had more coordinators to link teachers with eager students. We could spread the word about our program much more effectively if we had the resources to do that. I constantly hear contacts say, "This sounds like such a great program. Why have I never heard about it before."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 2, 2010

It's not every day that you can make a difference in the life of a child and their family, but with MusicLink this is possible. I've been involved with MusicLink as a teacher and a coordinator for many years and have seen the magic that happens when a teacher reaches out to a child to teach them music.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing the words of gratitude from parents of MusicLink students who know they could never afford to bring private music lessons to their children.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the willingness of music teachers to reach out to children in need to share with them the gift of music.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very giving and committed to children who benefit from MusicLink.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

hire coordinators to link more teachers and students together.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

I was lucky enough to become a participating piano teacher in the early days of MusiLink, the remarkable program which pairs talented students who cannot afford private lessons with teachers who are able to give lessons on full or half scholarships. In my experience, a family of five gifted youngsters who were already studying with me could no longer afford lessons and would not accept "Free" lessons which felt like charity to them.
By introduceing them to the MusicLink program they could accept being part of a national program - a larger group of like minded teachers who were passing on the legacy of music that had been handed down to them.
Since then I have accepted other MusicLink students and they have all been my greatest joy. All have contiued playing after leaving me, some have gone on to Music Schools and music careers, but all have continued to share their love of music with all who know them.
That's what MusicLink has given them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue roader and broader advertising with other profesional organizations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Music Link has sent me some very talented students. The good ones practice, prepare for lessons, and are respectful of my role as a teacher.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a piano teacher, I am always concerned when a talented student takes lessons for a while and then drops out. I am so glad I followed my instincts when I saw this family in the grocery store and mentioned the MusicLink program to them. They followed up with the necessary paper work to apply. It has been my privilege to see a brother and sister have a piano to use supplied through the MusicLink program.
It is exciting to see their progress as they prepare for various festivals and competitions. This has all been possible because of the MusicLink program!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage them to keep getting the word out to students that there is financial help for talented students who want to study music

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a kid, my dad lost his job and had to go back to college to get another degree ... and several years ago, the same thing happened to my husband. I don't know how my parents kept paying my brother and my piano during that time period, but we were able to keep my kids in piano (1), french horn (1), flute (1), and their swimming & gymnastics sports (1 each) through the generosity of partial scholarships from the Y and the Fort Wayne Symphony Orchestra. It was a tough time but we made it. I love that I am able to do this for others through MusicLink Foundation. Every child should have a chance to participate in music lessons/education. Through MusicLink Foundation (and Musikgarten's partnership with it), I am happy to offer early childhood music and piano classes to children who qualify for Free or Reduced Lunch.

Lynelle V.
Music for Life Musikgarten Studio

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I now volunteer my time with South King County chapter that is part of the WSMTA currently. The teacher receives credit for helping out students be provided with free or discounted lessons. The students in return will be continuing on with his or her musical education. This organization has local, regional, and national coordinators to help your student be successful. There are also scholarship programs available as well. This a great organization that everyone benefits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help match volunteer teachers with nominated students.