Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.960785
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

I was lucky enough to become a participating piano teacher in the early days of MusiLink, the remarkable program which pairs talented students who cannot afford private lessons with teachers who are able to give lessons on full or half scholarships. In my experience, a family of five gifted youngsters who were already studying with me could no longer afford lessons and would not accept "Free" lessons which felt like charity to them.
By introduceing them to the MusicLink program they could accept being part of a national program - a larger group of like minded teachers who were passing on the legacy of music that had been handed down to them.
Since then I have accepted other MusicLink students and they have all been my greatest joy. All have contiued playing after leaving me, some have gone on to Music Schools and music careers, but all have continued to share their love of music with all who know them.
That's what MusicLink has given them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue roader and broader advertising with other profesional organizations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Music Link has sent me some very talented students. The good ones practice, prepare for lessons, and are respectful of my role as a teacher.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a piano teacher, I am always concerned when a talented student takes lessons for a while and then drops out. I am so glad I followed my instincts when I saw this family in the grocery store and mentioned the MusicLink program to them. They followed up with the necessary paper work to apply. It has been my privilege to see a brother and sister have a piano to use supplied through the MusicLink program.
It is exciting to see their progress as they prepare for various festivals and competitions. This has all been possible because of the MusicLink program!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage them to keep getting the word out to students that there is financial help for talented students who want to study music

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a kid, my dad lost his job and had to go back to college to get another degree ... and several years ago, the same thing happened to my husband. I don't know how my parents kept paying my brother and my piano during that time period, but we were able to keep my kids in piano (1), french horn (1), flute (1), and their swimming & gymnastics sports (1 each) through the generosity of partial scholarships from the Y and the Fort Wayne Symphony Orchestra. It was a tough time but we made it. I love that I am able to do this for others through MusicLink Foundation. Every child should have a chance to participate in music lessons/education. Through MusicLink Foundation (and Musikgarten's partnership with it), I am happy to offer early childhood music and piano classes to children who qualify for Free or Reduced Lunch.

Lynelle V.
Music for Life Musikgarten Studio

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I now volunteer my time with South King County chapter that is part of the WSMTA currently. The teacher receives credit for helping out students be provided with free or discounted lessons. The students in return will be continuing on with his or her musical education. This organization has local, regional, and national coordinators to help your student be successful. There are also scholarship programs available as well. This a great organization that everyone benefits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

MusicLink Foundation is amazing. Teachers provide free or discounted lessons to students who may not be able to afford private lessons. During the past year, MusicLink has helped reach and teach over 5,500 students in all 50 states and several Canadian provinces. The ongoing research confirms student success and the importance of the teacher-student long-term relationship at the heart of MusicLink lessons.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

Hi,

I work for an organization that coordinates music and art lessons for the community - both young students and older than average pupils. MusicLink provides scholarships for the families that cannot afford these lessons, providing artistic opportunities to people who would not have had
the chance to reach their artistic potential. While the instructors in our organization teach their students to play instruments, make bowls from lumps of clay, and sing songs in a choir, I believe the wealth of knowlege that students learn and the confidence gained from their arts classes spills over into the pupils' everyday lives - causing them to think "outside of the box" and approach tasks more creatively. Therefore, MusicLink not only creates artists but they also provide a vital way to empower the mind and enlighten the scholarship recipients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

publicize their mission in more ways...maybe through the school systems?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

I have been a member of the OMTA MusicLink committee in Oregon for the past 15 years. This has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have ever had on a committee. We provide lessons, music and scholarships to students with financial need. When we began, we had a few volunteer teachers and students in Portland. Currently, our 16 volunteer teachers serve 29 students throughout the state of Oregon. Most of these students would not be able to study music without the help of MusicLink.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed- just continue to grow and serve more students with financial need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

I have been involved in the MusicLink program since 1999, teaching piano to musically talented students whose parents cannot afford to pay for lessons. Each MusicLink teacher makes their own arrangement with the parents as to how much they can invest moneywise in lessons. Most of my parents have been able to pay for the music. I have also had several students help me with housecleaning or music inventory.

These students must be on reduced lunch, free lunch or on the borderline in their schools.

Washington State Music Teachers Association waives the fees for Adjudications, an educational event where each student plays two memorized pieces and is given constructive criticism by a college music professor, held each year in our local chapter. Fees are also waived if a MusicLink student enters the Young Composers Project, also part of the state organization's activities.

Music has been such a large part of my life that I know how taking lessons and learning how to discipline one's self to practice helps in adulthood. I see the benefit of music for these students as it may be the only contact they have on a one-to-one basis with an adult other than parents. Some have gone on to major or minor in college and would not have had exposure to music except through the MusicLink program.

I have been able to find free pianos for these students in my community. The local chapter of music teachers has been willing to pay for the appraisal of the instruments offered by people in the community and moving the pianos into people's homes. Once a student takes lessons for four years, they may keep the piano.

When I have a MusicLink student leave my studio, I talk with music specialists in the local schools to see if they have musically talented students who meet the criteria for the MusicLink program. I feel it is so important to reach out to those students and give them a chance to succeed and love music.

I have served as the local coordinator for this program since its inception in my town.

I've also been pleased of the partnership with our local Symphony which has offered free tickets to for a MusicLInk student and adult to take them to the concerts.

Also, a former piano tuner in town offered to give free tunings to the pianos of the MusicLink students. I am hopeful that the present piano tuner will offer to do the same thing.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

MusicLink has been a wonderful asset in providing my child with a musical education. I am thankful for organizations such as this!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help match volunteer teachers with nominated students.