Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.9255
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

Being a student at Musical Arts Institute for many years now, I have grown so much in regards to learning and experience in the music field. All of the instructors that I have been in contact with have helped me in tremendous way to exceed in music. I have recieved so many opportunities being a part of this organization. I sang with an amazing saxophonist, Kirk Whalm. Along with so many other events I have participated in, above all I have a expanded my horizon as far a music as a whole.
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

I have been attending Musical Arts Institute for about 3 and a half years. From the time I started to now, I feel I have truly grown with my musicianship and musical knowledge overall. My music teachers are Ms. Lana Manson and Mr. Michael Manson and they have both been very supportive of me with every lesson. I have learned much repertoire in Italian songs and spirituals in my vocal lessons which helped me get into my dream high school, ChiArts. I have learned scales and bass fitness in my bass guitar lessons. MAI has taught me to be confident and expressive with my music and to just make it my own when I perform. I love the performance opportunities they provide throughout the year. It's a really warm and hardworking place for anyone, any age, wanting to soar in this art. They also are preparing me for college.
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

I have 2 sons that attend the Musical Arts Institute. My oldest son Jared is 15 years old and he plays the trombone. My youngest son Jasiah is 13 years old and he plays the piano. My sons have been taking lessons at the Musical Arts Institute for more than a year now, and I am so impressed with the progress that both of them have made so far. The Musical Arts Institute has a very home-like atmosphere and all the instructors are very professional and down to earth. My husband and I have made a great choice in choosing Musical Arts Institute as a place where our sons are not only learning how to play music, but they are getting educated in the theory of music as well. Kudos to Mr. and Mrs. Manson for opening this school and to Mr Berry and Mrs. Lindsey for being great instructors!!! We are very satisfied with the
Musical Arts Institute.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

My son, Maxwell, is learning to play the viola with Michael Manson at Musical Arts Institute (MAI). My husband and I wanted our son to learn to play an instrument in an effort to increase his ability to focus as well as his determination to learn new skills. Maxwell's experience with MAI has exceeded our expectations. Maxwell is learning to play the viola, attending lessons and practicing at home with great ease. This has also translated into him starting his homework on his own and taking more ownership of his elementary school education.

I must also praise the teachers and staff at MAI, they are consistently pleasant and informative. It is simply a wonderful, approachable experience. I highly recommend MAI for anyone--young and not-so-young--who would like to learn to play an instrument and/or receive voice lessons.
October 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 5, 2013

This organization is wonderful. My child has really benefitted double from learning piano. First, she is doing something that she really enjoys. She's learning alongside with her friends and having fu... more

October 11, 2014

My daughter is currently takes violin lessons at the Music and Arts Institute. Her teacher Mr. Manson is wonderful. He has brought out a confidence and talent in my daughter that I did not know was there. All the staff and teachers are very patient, personable and supportive of their students and do their best to take them to a different level in music. Their recitals that they showcase the students' talents are beyond words. They teach the students how to present themselves and do their best, which is awesome. My child is very shy and I see a difference in her pose and attitude towards herself and it has spilled over into her social life. Even her teachers and counselor at school are seeing a subtile difference in her confidence and have comment on it. Her grades are even better because she believes in herself. This is a great Music school and I would recommend it to all potential music student of any age.
October 5, 2013

This organization is wonderful. My child has really benefitted double from learning piano. First, she is doing something that she really enjoys. She's learning alongside with her friends and having fun. Secondly, she seems to be more focus at school and her grades seems to be better. The classes are also affordable and within my budget. This is a great experience for her and I'm glad that she is exposed to it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes, other than spread this program to more elementary schools.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I consider it a great honor to write a review for Musical Arts Institute. About a year ago my husband and I were looking for a music program for our daughter. Fortunately, we found MAI for piano and vocal training. The Manson's are outstanding in the area a music theory, music instruction, and excellence in stage performance. Our daughter enjoys learning music in an environment that is kind and nurturing. She has had many opportunities to grow and learn in professional settings with world celebrated musicians and vocalists. She is totally engaged in the lessons with instructors. As parents who are constantly trying to expose our little one to new experiences.....we are so blessed to have found this wonderful jewel right here in our Chicago community! We absolutely love MAi:)

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

My daughter takes guitar lessons at the MAI. She has really grown in her abilities, and her lessons have helped in other areas (academically, cognitively, etc.). I love that she's also learning music theory, reading and writing music, and receives progress reports from her instructor, which helps a lot with her growth and accountability.

All of the staff at the MAI are music professionals, so substitutions are never a problem if needed, and my daughter learns from everyone, as well as the other students. I strongly believe in arts education, and the training she receives at the MAI, I believe, is superior and will benefit her for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A larger space/center would be excellent!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

i've taken voice lessons from other people before, and they were good. However, there was something a little different about my lessons at the Musical Arts Institute. Lana, my vocal coach, has so much passion and excitement. Lana doesn't rush me through my sessions. She has taken her time to teach and explain the basics and foundation of singing. She pushes and encourages me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I would change about the organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

The Musical Arts Institute has saved my life. I received a gift certificate from a special friend for voice lessons. I never would have thought it would has been used as a therapy session. Taking voice lessons from Lana has encouraged me there is no goal that can not be achieved, MAI strives for excellence in the Arts. It's not just another music school, it's a ministry within the African American Community.

Thanks Micheal and Lana Manson for sharing your gift. Thank you for giving people the opportunity to live their dreams through the Arts,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No change

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I am very pleased with the quality of service that my son, Malcolm receives at MAI. His instrument of choice is the Bass and Mr. Manson is excellent with him as well as patient. I have no complaints and look forward to the next session when my son can begin keyboards.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, very affordable and flexible when schedule conflicts arise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers