Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.911765
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

My daughter takes guitar lessons at the MAI. She has really grown in her abilities, and her lessons have helped in other areas (academically, cognitively, etc.). I love that she's also learning music theory, reading and writing music, and receives progress reports from her instructor, which helps a lot with her growth and accountability.

All of the staff at the MAI are music professionals, so substitutions are never a problem if needed, and my daughter learns from everyone, as well as the other students. I strongly believe in arts education, and the training she receives at the MAI, I believe, is superior and will benefit her for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A larger space/center would be excellent!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

i've taken voice lessons from other people before, and they were good. However, there was something a little different about my lessons at the Musical Arts Institute. Lana, my vocal coach, has so much passion and excitement. Lana doesn't rush me through my sessions. She has taken her time to teach and explain the basics and foundation of singing. She pushes and encourages me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I would change about the organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

The Musical Arts Institute has saved my life. I received a gift certificate from a special friend for voice lessons. I never would have thought it would has been used as a therapy session. Taking voice lessons from Lana has encouraged me there is no goal that can not be achieved, MAI strives for excellence in the Arts. It's not just another music school, it's a ministry within the African American Community.

Thanks Micheal and Lana Manson for sharing your gift. Thank you for giving people the opportunity to live their dreams through the Arts,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No change

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I am very pleased with the quality of service that my son, Malcolm receives at MAI. His instrument of choice is the Bass and Mr. Manson is excellent with him as well as patient. I have no complaints and look forward to the next session when my son can begin keyboards.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, very affordable and flexible when schedule conflicts arise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

My daughter Brielle is a junior in High school and is one of Musical Arts Institute students. I was very pleased with the school and the great improvements that she has accomplished with her violin sessions. I highly recommend this school to parents who are interested in placing their children in one of the schools various classes. The staff is wonderful, the prices are very affordable and the staff really work with you to accommodate working parents schedule. The school also caters to adults who are beginners in music and want to learn how to play various instruments or take vocal lessons.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I dont see any changes in this organization at this time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Musical Arts Institute has been a god send for our family. My girls have been involved in several musical programs throughout the city (classical and jazz). It is wonderful to have a program of this caliber in our "backyard." The directors, instructors and staff treat the children like family. More importantly, they help them to understand performance perfection, musicality, and theory. I am a MAI evangelist!


More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

MAI has truly been and inspiration to my daughter. Participating in this program she has become more serious regarding her violin playing and perfecting her craft. She has also became a more serious academic student as well. The changes I see in her includes increase confidence, creativity and being more out going. Being a part of MAI has started some habits that she will carry with her for a life time, some habits she will go out into the world and grow positively. Thanks MAI for helping me lay a strong and positive foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's hard to make changes to something that is already great, but if I had to make a change the music theory classes would be focused more for the instrument the child is playing. For instance, my daughter plays the violin whereas it's important that she understand chord progressions she doesn't play chords on the violin. This aspect of theory for string players I would minimize and put more emphasis on major and minor scales, the types and the significants of the scale to the sting player.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My experience at MAI has been a dream come true! The school's environment is relaxing without compromising a pedagogical style that challenges each student to embrace excellence! The entire staff, (from the receptionist to the instructors), is competent and genuinely concerned about our academic success and personal wellbeing. I'm a singer, currently enrolled in 3 classes: piano, theory and voice. "Manson's Rules" consider the student's musical background and cultural awareness: a perfect approach for me to embrace and apply new knowledge! I'm so excited to become musically literate as MAI equips me to be a better musician!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The Musical Arts Institute is a hidden secret on the south side of Chicago. It is rare to find people that are passionate about the arts, specifically music, and they want to share their expertise, time and talent with our future, our youth. We were first introduced to the Manson's through a mentoring program that our oldest daughter participated in. It was at that program that Mike and Lana saw a "gift" in our daughter.

Since that time, our oldest daughter has developed so vocally that Mrs. Manson now has her on what she calls her "Senior Track" and she is just a Junior. Since being in the program, our daughter has learned to sing in 2 additional languages and she is now competing for national programs. It is because of the coaching and support given by the Manson's and the entire Musical Arts Institute staff that brings about success.

Since being with the program, we have recommended several youth to the program and they are extremely pleased as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

This past summer, I decided to learn how to play the electric bass guitar. At 47 years old, I am just learning to read music and play an instrument. I want something fun and challenging, The teachers made this to be the best experience for me. I enjoy making mistakes and learning from them. I am positive that I will be able to play bass in one year. I am around a supportive and talented staff. They make me feel comfortable learning at this late age.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer classes 7 days a week.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers