Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
688 Reviews
1234.886635
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MAPS has been an invaluable resource in navigating my own mental health and understanding how tools such as MDMA have helped those with PTSD and other anxiety disorders. The fear surrounding psychedelic medicines has resulted in disinformation and prohibition, thus making it impossible for those in need to access these potentially life-saving medicines. I have enormous respect for an organization like MAPS, who are bringing much needed sanity and research to this field. Few have been brave enough to take on such work, given the nature of the drug war, legal complexities, and lack of financial gain. And so I am very grateful for MAPS and their work and hope that funding for this vital research continues to grow.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

If we want to heal this world, first we have to heal ourselves. Psychedelic agents can be used as incredible tools of healing, but in the wrong hands, with the wrong attitude, they can be very dangerous as well. MAPS is the organization which took up the task of finding a suitable, safe context for the use of psychedelic medicines, one which could be seamlessly integrated into our modern Western society.

Neither the psychedelic be-ins of the sixties, nor the Goa parties of the 90s, nor the traditional ayahuasca rituals of Amazonian tribes could be integrated in such a way that they reached more than a few percent of the population. It would be very difficult for most people to get over the somewhat "fringe" nature of these contexts. But psychedelic psychotherapy - which grew out of well-established Western traditions of psychology and psychiatry - could be a game changer.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I am a woman suffering with PTSD and extreme anxiety issues and have not yet found a treatment that helps my condition. I am hopeful at the prospect of new treatments and am excited to see a group working on this important issue.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I value MAPS work because they are opening the paths to treatments possible for those suffering from several disorders. I have hope while keeping up with their research and their progress as I suffer from PTSD and know the benefits of the substances they are studying. MAPS has helped me spread awareness of the potential options available to us in our (hopefully) near future and removing the stigma of the substances described. For once, I've been able to have intelligent debates over two substances that MAPS has been studying without judgement that they're "just drugs used for partying". Its changing the mindset of many and planting the seed to change many more. I can't wait to see how MAPS flourishes over the coming years and I will be doing my best to support them to continue their marvelous work and helping me and many others like me to have a successful and happy life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MAPS is fighting for our fundamental right of free self-determination over our adult bodies and minds.
This basic human right has been stolen from us by pharmacological fascism's counterproductive and historically falsified prohibition policy which guarantees tax-free profits in the billions to
unregulated criminal cartels, while it effectively only prevents any control of access, age and quality. Air America, Iran-Contra, N987SA and the HSBC settlement clearly shows who is profiting from the corruption pyramid which is the base for the global tax-free Mafia monopoly. MAPS' research focus are medicines which are known to mankind for thousands of years and where stigmatized only recently(speaking in evolutionary time scales) by corrupt people like criminals, lying politicians, lobbyists, manipulative media empires, pharmacological fascists and religious fanatics. MAPS is researching our consciousness and how it can be modified with endogenous(like DMT) and exogenous(like LSD) psychotropic substances. They are not only restricted to psychedelic research and also research dissociatives like Ketamine and empathogens like MDMA, which also can have great therapeutic potential. They are fighting for mankind to restore our originally guaranteed universal dignity and humanity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

The people at MAPS are passionate in their efforts to bring health and peace to many patients for whom traditional therapies have proved unhelpful. They are also brave and principled professionals who are committed to a scientific inquiry in a field held back by social prejudice and misinformed political fear-mongering.

Go MAPS!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MAPS has worked tirelessly to do real research on substances with great healing merit that have been outlawed by our society for too long.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I full agree with everything MAPS is doing and strongly believe in the healing powers of psychedelic medicines.
October 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

It's simple really, they are the frontiers on a subject that has been demonized by the western world for far too long, without a legitimate reason.(There isn't a legit reason by the way)
People need to know this information regardless of their personal views on any "illicit drug" , since the
information they are basing it upon is not generally fact, but propaganda, "morals" and miss-information. We need to re-educate the people on all "illicit drugs", not just psychedelics.

Sovereignty over our own minds and bodies should be a fundamental human right.
Without it, we are not free, we just pretend to be.

Sincerely
Robert . L

Ps, my dream is to work in this field, so if anyone is hiring ;)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire me! I would do anything to be a part in this, making the world literally a better place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I support MAPS because after losing my left leg above knee in a motorcycle accident and almost losing my left arm, marijuana was the safest, most effective way to treat the anxiety and insomnia that came with the pain meds. Despite over a decade of 12 step work, it wasn't until I got to experience DMT that I was able to truly accept the life situation I found myself in, so I know the potential for hallucinogens used for healing in the appropriate settings and support further research.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers could help us raise funds by tabling at events and passing our information on to potential donors. We also always need help with office-related tasks such as writing, proofreading, data entry, etc. Volunteer