Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
688 Reviews
1234.886635
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

MAPS is doing research that will allow people in the modern Western world to finally understand that consciousness can be changed, trauma can be healed, and neurosis can be transmuted into strength. MAPS is changing medical views of what is pathological/ terminal and what is within our power to transform. Though this work could have been accomplished long ago if not for draconian drug laws, MAPS should be commended a thousand times more profusely since they have managed to thrive even within a resistant and ignorant cultural paradigm. This is history that will be remembered fondly by anyone who enjoys the benefits of exploring the freedom of human consciousness in the future. In my personal opinion, the victory of this research will change the world in ways that will be analogous to any of the great philosophical triumphs in history. I recommend that MAPS be awarded with the highest honors imaginable since their main purpose is to deeply study human consciousness and use that knowledge to alleviate as much suffering as they can without compromising health, quality of life, or individual liberty.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The insights gained by these plant medicines can be tremendously healing and life-changing. This is the most important research being done today to further our understanding of the effect of plant medicines on our mental health. This could be the most effective aid for ending depression, ptsd, anxiety, addiction, and fear of death anxiety in hospice situations. I am so thankful this research is being pursued. I think the benefits to humanity in terms of limiting suffering will be tremendous.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

In a country where the government prohibits legitimate scholarly research into the efficacies of natural plant medicines, MAPS bravely marches forward, providing valuable information to the people regarding plant medicine treatments that are otherwise suppressed. Eventually, in the face of overwhelming evidence, the government will have no choice but to allow the use of plant medicines. MAPS appears to be totally committed to amassing evidence and providing valuable information to the public until the tipping point is attained.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The work that MAPS does is not only revolutionary, but necessary. MAPS advocates for the use of medicines that have been outlawed for nothing other than political reasons; said medicines have beautiful transformational power and provide an alternative method for folks dealing with diseases from depression to addiction, to end-of-life anxiety. MAPS advocates for the necessity of the scientific community having access to these medicines so that society is able to empirically understand their potential. Without the ability to and benefits of research, we are left in the dark and must rely on anecdotal information that the government provides. With the amount of healing that is needed on American soil, these medicines MUST be studied. Politics must not prevail. Power to the people. Just say know. Thank you for all that you do, MAPS, you are changing lives across the globe!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open up satellite offices across the country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

MAPS is saving lives ! They make the progress of getting to know our psyche to accelerate !
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MAPS is an inspiration and is saving lives. Period.
They are helping us understand the human psyche better and leading us to a future of greater mental health through connection with eachother, the planet and Source.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

My son suffers from PTSD and has tried many prescription drugs none have helped and many made it worse. He has only found relief with cannabis but in most places cannot get medical card for this condition and continues to suffer. I am thankful to MAPS for supporting research and use of these alternatives!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I have suffered from PTSD and have coincidentally found out about MDMA being used to treat the symptoms, also found out about MAPS clinical studies and work to make marijuana and psychedelics a prsescription medicines. I am very thankful for their work, they've done a great job :) drugs that are prohibited work much better than pharmaceutical drugs, which makes me feel completely negative towards big pharma, they create customers, not cures. It's time for revolution !
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

After ten years of participating in AA to address what was a debilitating alcoholism I came to realize, as many scientists studying addiction pathology and treatment are now finding, that the 12 step model was not only horribly ineffective and unsuccessful- it actually hampered my recovery and personal growth. It was out of desperation that I saught out psychedelic therapy after researching addiction online for the better part of a year and I'm so incredibly thankful that I did as it not only ended my physical addiction it disabused me of the PTSD, toxic shame, and poisonous resentments that were the fuel for my discontent and compulsion to self-medicate with booze. I was relieved of my self centeredness and shown my roll in my own situation, I was blessed with a sense of increased empathy which allowed me to forgive those I was harboring resentments towards who had abused and neglected me as a child. This increased empathy was not temporary, and has continued to enrich my life two years later. I have also disabused myself of misleading neo con propaganda and denounced my previous stance as a militant atheist islamophobe I went from denouncing all of Islam to advocating for displaced and occupied Palestinians. Psychedelic therapy not only cured my addiction, it showed me addiction wasn't even disease- it was a symptom of a larger affliction I was unaware I even had- this condition was of a spiritual nature. Psychedelics didn't chemically cure me- they simply brought me into a spiritual place where I could heal myself. The power doesn't come from a chemical, it comes from us- I never knew I had this power within me. We all have this potential for healing, insight, growth of empathy, and MAPS is far and away at the forefront of the bringing psychedelic therapy research and the resulting conversation to the forefront, and this is why it is essential that we support them. Psychedelic therapy is absolutely thee future of addiction and trauma treatment and the future is happening... Now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Update the look of the website and prominently feature non clinical video testimonials of those helped by psychedelic therapy on the home page.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered and donated to various non-profits over my many years. Some 6 or so years ago I became aware of the work of MAPS and attended my first conference in 2013. Was I ever impressed! What an extraordinary group of people are involved. I am still feeling the "workshop high" I left with and no it isn't something I smoke or ingest! Presenters were passionate about their work and it was heartening to observe that. It is clear that the work MAPS is doing has far-reaching possibilities to help people with serious and intractable health issues. There is an urgency to their work and I want to see them flourish.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers could help us raise funds by tabling at events and passing our information on to potential donors. We also always need help with office-related tasks such as writing, proofreading, data entry, etc. Volunteer