Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
685 Reviews
1234.886135
Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MAPS has taken the lead in guts. It takes guts to dedicate time and energy to their cause, and it is truly a noble one. Psychedelics are to the mind what the telescope is to the cosmos. Their professionalism and dedication bring a level of legitimacy and publicity necessary to encourage honest discussion about these potentially groundbreaking tools. Keep up the good work.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MAPS gives hope to us that we can end the insanity and uninformed hysteria and illegality that surrounds the issue of plant medicines and psychedelics. These medicines have been shown throughout history and throughout the world to be supportive to health and happiness. The current epidemic of PTSD and stress related psychological disorders is threatening the very fabric of our society. This organization is bringing information forward to support responsible research and the healing use of currently illegal substances to the people that will benefit from them. Ending unreasonable and unproductive incarceration of citizens is also important, the war on drugs is keeping us from having access to the very healing medicines that the modern world desperately needs. Thank you for supporting them
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MAPS is frontlining a battle for health and cognitive liberty. What else does matter?
October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

In determining the usefulness or uselessness of a thing, it is best to allow for certain liberties in keeping with the framers of our Constitution. Fear of the unknown keeps it unknown as Carl Jung has said. One of the tenents of our Constitution is the pursuit of happiness. If a law dis-allows the pursuit of happiness and as studies are now showing, much usefulness to individuals as a medicine, those who seek to ban or stop it are operating from something that in reality does not exist (irrational fear). The rhetoric of status quo and fear must give way to awareness and with the accuracy of science and understanding, it can. With so many lives currently being affected negativley and so much riding on appropriate discourse and knowledge, only insight into and study of a chemical or plant's potential usefulness or uselessness will bring out it's rightful place in our society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on new science-oriented people and bridging the gap between older rhetoric and newer ideology. Exhibit A: Sanja Gupta

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Prior to my own introduction with these powerful sacraments, I was unconvinced of there ability to provide structured meaningful therapy for those in need regarding: PTSD, alcoholism, abuse, ect.
But after personally allowing them into my psyche, It has revealed a profound world of endless
possibilities for those eager to move in the direction of overcoming. It is ingrained in our being and intertwined in our bio-logy. It increases sensitivity to all of the senses and the ability to get the the bottom of the issue in the right environment (set and setting) far sooner than traditional therepy. It seams immature and childish to regard medicines of this stature as a criminal offence, for something that has the power to change habit and thought.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try and make all information regarding psychedelic sarements widely available to everyone, to assist in combating the propaganda that has been propagated worldwide for the last 50 years by the drug war, intergrating false information into the collective minds of all.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

There doesn't exist a valid excuse for supressing scientific research with psychedelics. Like is said, psychedelics are for psychiatry and neuroscience the same as microscope is for microbiologist. Science is for seeking facts and truth, and it shouldn't be influenced by politics. MAPS is out there to change that and with decades of hard work, they are finally seeing the results. MAPS's work may result in dramatic changes in the medical fields mentioned.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't, at least at the moment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

As a physician treating people with opioid addictions, a chronic, relapsing disease where the available treatments have an 85% failure rate, I see the potential to help turn lives around with the use of psychedelics.

Under controlled conditions, in an open, non-judgemental setting where
trust is established, it is possible for people who habitually use drugs to obliterate feelings to have the opportunity to experience awareness, trust and joy. No amount of motivational interviewing will allow people to experience what they do not know exists.

MAPS has been very instrumental in raising awareness about these issues and bringing together some of the best and brightest minds in neurology and psychiatry. A respect for the ancient cultures that gave birth to these substances seems to be integrated into their philosophy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Address the cognitive disconnect of trying to establish the legitimacy of psychedelic science while selling "healing crystal" jewellery at their conferences.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

MAPS has been diclosing the tabu of psychoactive substance adaptive consumption. They have been facing immense legal, political and financal challanges and proved themselve to be patient, tireless and competent. After many years of their activiy we have here several rigorous psychedelic studies done and other precise research of this potent ancient psychotechnologies is coming. Im grateful I could pick up the thread of their work and proceed with promising research which could benefit human health and human-ecosystem relationship and by so it could change the way society understand itself, human nature and nature in general.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2010

MAPS has been a courageous spearhead in the struggle to end the prohibition of therapeutically valuable psychedelics. I congratulate Rick Doblin and his staff for undertaking this important work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the enthusiastic reception it has received by Psychiatists and other professionsals around the country.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 6, 2010

As a MAPS supporter for many years, I can say, without reservation, that the work Rick Doblin and his staff have done to promote important clinical research has been superlative. I believe MAPS along with The Heffter Society have the potential to manifest new treatment paradigms for many sufferers of mental illness. I believe these have potential for healing psychic wounds which may otherwise not respond to conventional allopathic modalities. Phillip Grob. M.D.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

MAPS Conference 2010 San Jose, CA

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers could help us raise funds by tabling at events and passing our information on to potential donors. We also always need help with office-related tasks such as writing, proofreading, data entry, etc. Volunteer