Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
688 Reviews
1234.886635
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MAPS is an inspiration and is saving lives. Period.
They are helping us understand the human psyche better and leading us to a future of greater mental health through connection with eachother, the planet and Source.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

My son suffers from PTSD and has tried many prescription drugs none have helped and many made it worse. He has only found relief with cannabis but in most places cannot get medical card for this condition and continues to suffer. I am thankful to MAPS for supporting research and use of these alternatives!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MAPS gives hope to us that we can end the insanity and uninformed hysteria and illegality that surrounds the issue of plant medicines and psychedelics. These medicines have been shown throughout history and throughout the world to be supportive to health and happiness. The current epidemic of PTSD and stress related psychological disorders is threatening the very fabric of our society. This organization is bringing information forward to support responsible research and the healing use of currently illegal substances to the people that will benefit from them. Ending unreasonable and unproductive incarceration of citizens is also important, the war on drugs is keeping us from having access to the very healing medicines that the modern world desperately needs. Thank you for supporting them
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I have suffered from PTSD and have coincidentally found out about MDMA being used to treat the symptoms, also found out about MAPS clinical studies and work to make marijuana and psychedelics a prsescription medicines. I am very thankful for their work, they've done a great job :) drugs that are prohibited work much better than pharmaceutical drugs, which makes me feel completely negative towards big pharma, they create customers, not cures. It's time for revolution !
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

After ten years of participating in AA to address what was a debilitating alcoholism I came to realize, as many scientists studying addiction pathology and treatment are now finding, that the 12 step model was not only horribly ineffective and unsuccessful- it actually hampered my recovery and personal growth. It was out of desperation that I saught out psychedelic therapy after researching addiction online for the better part of a year and I'm so incredibly thankful that I did as it not only ended my physical addiction it disabused me of the PTSD, toxic shame, and poisonous resentments that were the fuel for my discontent and compulsion to self-medicate with booze. I was relieved of my self centeredness and shown my roll in my own situation, I was blessed with a sense of increased empathy which allowed me to forgive those I was harboring resentments towards who had abused and neglected me as a child. This increased empathy was not temporary, and has continued to enrich my life two years later. I have also disabused myself of misleading neo con propaganda and denounced my previous stance as a militant atheist islamophobe I went from denouncing all of Islam to advocating for displaced and occupied Palestinians. Psychedelic therapy not only cured my addiction, it showed me addiction wasn't even disease- it was a symptom of a larger affliction I was unaware I even had- this condition was of a spiritual nature. Psychedelics didn't chemically cure me- they simply brought me into a spiritual place where I could heal myself. The power doesn't come from a chemical, it comes from us- I never knew I had this power within me. We all have this potential for healing, insight, growth of empathy, and MAPS is far and away at the forefront of the bringing psychedelic therapy research and the resulting conversation to the forefront, and this is why it is essential that we support them. Psychedelic therapy is absolutely thee future of addiction and trauma treatment and the future is happening... Now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Update the look of the website and prominently feature non clinical video testimonials of those helped by psychedelic therapy on the home page.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Psychedelics are the only medicines that treat my schizoaffective disorder without side effects. MAPS has worked consistently to build the scientific and evidential framework to legalize this treatment. I'm proud to support MAPS.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I have finally got some relief. Knowing MAPS work in helping the PTSD problem in our military. I feel that we have made a leap in to our future help with PTSD. And other related mental health problems. Thank You MAPS
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered and donated to various non-profits over my many years. Some 6 or so years ago I became aware of the work of MAPS and attended my first conference in 2013. Was I ever impressed! What an extraordinary group of people are involved. I am still feeling the "workshop high" I left with and no it isn't something I smoke or ingest! Presenters were passionate about their work and it was heartening to observe that. It is clear that the work MAPS is doing has far-reaching possibilities to help people with serious and intractable health issues. There is an urgency to their work and I want to see them flourish.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MAPS has been an invaluable resource in navigating my own mental health and understanding how tools such as MDMA have helped those with PTSD and other anxiety disorders. The fear surrounding psychedelic medicines has resulted in disinformation and prohibition, thus making it impossible for those in need to access these potentially life-saving medicines. I have enormous respect for an organization like MAPS, who are bringing much needed sanity and research to this field. Few have been brave enough to take on such work, given the nature of the drug war, legal complexities, and lack of financial gain. And so I am very grateful for MAPS and their work and hope that funding for this vital research continues to grow.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

If we want to heal this world, first we have to heal ourselves. Psychedelic agents can be used as incredible tools of healing, but in the wrong hands, with the wrong attitude, they can be very dangerous as well. MAPS is the organization which took up the task of finding a suitable, safe context for the use of psychedelic medicines, one which could be seamlessly integrated into our modern Western society.

Neither the psychedelic be-ins of the sixties, nor the Goa parties of the 90s, nor the traditional ayahuasca rituals of Amazonian tribes could be integrated in such a way that they reached more than a few percent of the population. It would be very difficult for most people to get over the somewhat "fringe" nature of these contexts. But psychedelic psychotherapy - which grew out of well-established Western traditions of psychology and psychiatry - could be a game changer.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers could help us raise funds by tabling at events and passing our information on to potential donors. We also always need help with office-related tasks such as writing, proofreading, data entry, etc. Volunteer