Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
656 Reviews
1234.885675
Previous | 1 2 3...65 |
Write A Review
October 13, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

MAPS has been diclosing the tabu of psychoactive substance adaptive consumption. They have been facing immense legal, political and financal challanges and proved themselve to be patient, tireless and competent. After many years of their activiy we have here several rigorous psychedelic studies done and other precise research of this potent ancient psychotechnologies is coming. Im grateful I could pick up the thread of their work and proceed with promising research which could benefit human health and human-ecosystem relationship and by so it could change the way society understand itself, human nature and nature in general.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Having experienced mescaline as a young and reckless adolescent just for some colourful kicks, I soon discovered that there was an intrinsic meaning present and an elder fortunately showed me the respect and reverence that these pants deserved. From here I was shown their true potential to reveal our true place as humans in the cosmic web of life, our significance and our misplaced self-importance. These latter events left me with profoundly life-altering and personally trans-formative experiences that I will never forget and guided my life in directions that seemed to be fortuitous becoming an integral part of who I am now some 25 years later. That organizations like MAPS exist vindicates the validity of these experiences for me as not just 'crazy trips' but as the spiritual and deeply insightful phenomenon that they are. It is clear that the (historically recent) current drug enforcement and prohibition paradigm has continually been shown as ineffective, counter-productive and destructive and a war which unfortunately Psychedelic/entheogenic substances have been caught in. Plant substances hold enormous value for the human condition and their millennial old presence in ritual/ceremonial religious contexts across the globe vindicates the validity of studying and examining the effects on these substances with academic rigour. As my own experiences so profoundly changed my inner being, when I came to academics late in life, I found within my Cultural Studies major that the vicissitudes of everyday life, our inculcation and socialization into negative patterns of consumption and behaviour are so entirely capable of being reconfigured by psychedelics. Not only for the momentary stripping away of the ego and the profound connection and visualization of all living networks from the micro to the macro cosmic level, but for the deep realization that we are all connected and more similar than different. I am hoping to go on and examine an apparent revival in legitimate psychedelic-entheoegenic cultures and how they affect peoples articulations of spirituality in the spirit of James William's 'Varieties of Religious Experience'....for this I am endlessly grateful to MAPS for providing scientific literary resources and ongoing academic investigation through a range of disciplines. This may well be one of the most important techniques and fields of study in the 21st century if we are to progress from the ego-based destructive drive that is turning humanity against it self and its environment and move toward a new era of cooperation, awareness and sustainability through legitimate scientific discourse

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see an incorporation of more Arts, Social Sciences, Media and Cultural Studies research into MAPS repertoire to examine hoe psychedelics/entheogens are being discovered, used, perceived and expressed in contemporary society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I love MAPS for all of the work they put into cutting edge research, education, and great events! Their work is truly important for so many reasons.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

one of the most upcomming and important organizations. There is so much treatment, public health, and general reseach potential here which is not nearly enough explored.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Psychadelics help evolve mankind in his endless journey for enlightenment. Psychadelics have an extremely beneficial effect on any person that thinks they are ready to take in what their subconciouse wants to tell them. Please continue the research on psychadelics so that we can get a better scientific understanding of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

In determining the usefulness or uselessness of a thing, it is best to allow for certain liberties in keeping with the framers of our Constitution. Fear of the unknown keeps it unknown as Carl Jung has said. One of the tenents of our Constitution is the pursuit of happiness. If a law dis-allows the pursuit of happiness and as studies are now showing, much usefulness to individuals as a medicine, those who seek to ban or stop it are operating from something that in reality does not exist (irrational fear). The rhetoric of status quo and fear must give way to awareness and with the accuracy of science and understanding, it can. With so many lives currently being affected negativley and so much riding on appropriate discourse and knowledge, only insight into and study of a chemical or plant's potential usefulness or uselessness will bring out it's rightful place in our society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on new science-oriented people and bridging the gap between older rhetoric and newer ideology. Exhibit A: Sanja Gupta

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Prior to my own introduction with these powerful sacraments, I was unconvinced of there ability to provide structured meaningful therapy for those in need regarding: PTSD, alcoholism, abuse, ect.
But after personally allowing them into my psyche, It has revealed a profound world of endless
possibilities for those eager to move in the direction of overcoming. It is ingrained in our being and intertwined in our bio-logy. It increases sensitivity to all of the senses and the ability to get the the bottom of the issue in the right environment (set and setting) far sooner than traditional therepy. It seams immature and childish to regard medicines of this stature as a criminal offence, for something that has the power to change habit and thought.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try and make all information regarding psychedelic sarements widely available to everyone, to assist in combating the propaganda that has been propagated worldwide for the last 50 years by the drug war, intergrating false information into the collective minds of all.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I first learned about psychedelics during undergrad working towards my BS in Neuroscience & have been amazed by their huge potential for helping mental illness both in my academic research and personal experiences.

MAPS has had similar interests & research goals as myself & would love to
be involved in any way with the organization!

I firmly believe countless peoples's lives could benefit from psychedelic drugs in a controlled, medical context. Personally, my experiences with MDMA, ayahuasca & psilocybe fungi have, on separate occasions, helped me immensely in my own battles with anxiety & depression. It is because of these & legitimate academic research that lead me to believe in the potential of psychedelic drugs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money & public exposure!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

There doesn't exist a valid excuse for supressing scientific research with psychedelics. Like is said, psychedelics are for psychiatry and neuroscience the same as microscope is for microbiologist. Science is for seeking facts and truth, and it shouldn't be influenced by politics. MAPS is out there to change that and with decades of hard work, they are finally seeing the results. MAPS's work may result in dramatic changes in the medical fields mentioned.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't, at least at the moment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

It is difficult as an individual to fight the unjust predispositions that society has towards psychedelics and marijuana usage for therapy. Being a member of MAPS I feel empowered knowing that as a group we have a larger voice and a stronger support system.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...65 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers could help us raise funds by tabling at events and passing our information on to potential donors. We also always need help with office-related tasks such as writing, proofreading, data entry, etc. Volunteer