Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

Mujeres de Maiz is an organization that not only changes lives it speaks to the soul of those on both the receiving side and the giving side and you wonder who's really giving and who's really receiving. I have been involved with Mujeres since it's inception and friends with Judith Pasco even longer. I have been down to San Cristobal several times and have experienced the beauty, the poverty, the injustices and the dedication the young women in the cooperative have to better themselves. The day we took them for eye exams, and most were fitted with new glasses, was literally eye-opening for them and humbling for us. It was a day filled with giggles! You donations will be honored and well invested in helping to change lives of these remarkable indiginis women with compassion respect. If you haven't already, I encourage you to read "Somewhere for my Soul to Go" by Judith Pasco, then you'll get it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 19, 2014

more

April 19, 2014

I was so impressed by reading Judith Pasco's book, 'Somewhere for My Soul to Go' that we read her book in my book club and invited Judith to speak with us about her work. In both her book and in person, she charmed us with her stories and inspired us all to find our own passion and apply it to a cause we love. She and her organization have provided an outstanding model of how to do this...they have improved the lives of indigenous women and girls in Chiapas in the 8 years since Mujeres de Maiz was created. This organization is well worth supporting because of the vital work they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 24, 2012

Mujeres de Maiz "walks the talk". This group of dedicated volunteers has had a major impact on women and girls in Chiapas, Mexico. Through education, they have provided scholarships to very highly m... more

April 19, 2014

I have had the pleasure of partnering with Mujeres de Maiz through Soroptimist of Sequim. It is the primary organization that improves the lives of women and girls which is our Soroptimist mission. The board remains focused on the needs of the Chiapas families and gives them hope for the future. It is so impressive to hear the stories of the individuals that participate in the various educational programs. When Mujeres de Maiz walks the talk, they create a path to success.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2012

Mujeres de Maiz "walks the talk". This group of dedicated volunteers has had a major impact on women and girls in Chiapas, Mexico. Through education, they have provided scholarships to very highly motivated women that want a better life for themselves and their community. They have also seen the long-lasting effects of going that extra mile by getting glasses for many of the women in the program, providing solar lights for their homes and even teaching them the importance of oral hygiene. The volunteers arrive in Mexico with everything from laptop computers to toothbrushes and toothpaste. They closely monitor all the students to help them reach their zenith of potential!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 16, 2011

My first exposure to "Mujeres" was through my Spanish class. Our teacher heads up the board for the organization. Her passion for helping the young women living in Chiapas is inspiring. This past D... more

April 18, 2014

This organization continues to be among the most dedicated in their outreach to help with the education and life building skills for the young women of Chiapas Mexico. The women now have their own building in town for gathering and to showcase their crafts. The dedication of each volunteer and the Board is amazing....sponsoring multiple fundraisers annually that have helped so many. Not only do each of the scholarship recipients receive an education that otherwise would be unattainable, but then each gives back to their community in amazing ways.... classes for the children, helping their peers and increasing awareness of each person being able to better their life situation.
March 16, 2011

My first exposure to "Mujeres" was through my Spanish class. Our teacher heads up the board for the organization. Her passion for helping the young women living in Chiapas is inspiring. This past December I was able to travel with a group to visit Chiapas and meet many of the scholarship recipients, participate in a weekend workshop and be a part of a "saturday school" hosted by a couple of the young women to help supplement the education of children in their village by adding Espanol to their local dialect and teaching skills that will aid them as they grow. The dedication by the women in Chiapas to their families and communities is enhanced by the help of "Mujeres", providing not only dollars to provide scholarships but also items used daily that we here in the US take for granted. From personal hygiene to computers to help the women coordinate their workshops and aid them with the co-op they run to promote and sell their weavings. What I believe is special about "Mujeres" is the fact that all the women and girls have total control of the direction their co-op should take, and each have a commitment to it's success. "Mujeres" presence is there to help them accomplish "their" goals, not impose their own agenda. That this is working extremely well is evidenced in the lives of all the women by their confidence in themselves and commitment to one another.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As I said above, seeing for myself the great things these women and young girls in Chiapas can accomplish with the help from the "Mujeres" organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I can think of would be wider exposure to bring in more that may be given to these remarkable women in Chiapas, Mexico

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

Mujeres de Maiz is an awe-inspiring organization, founded on the desire of one woman, Judith Pasco, to help the underprivileged women of rural Chiapas, Mexico. Over the years her organization has helped many worthy young women to complete their educations, improved literacy, provided vision care and dental hygiene supplies to those in need, offered empowerment to oppressed women and teaching to their children. Through their work, the women in the villages Mujeres de Maiz serves have become increasingly self-sufficient, self-confident and created cohesive groups to support personal growth among their members.
Amazingly, all this work has been done by dedicated volunteers, there are NO salaried employees of the foundation, and 100% of donations go directly to helping the women and children of Chiapas. Fundraising is mainly done through an annual community dinner with live and silent auctions and an annual concert, "Men with Guitars."
This is by far my favorite charity EVER, and worthy of any support you can offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Besides wanting to see it continue to flourish and grow, I wouldn't change a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I have been donating to this organization from the very beginning. I have always been impressed by their fundraising events accompanied by their emphasis on education to the supporters of the work that they do. They are very committed to the women of Chiapas and they empower people to make decisions on the paths they will follow and not tell them how to do it. They educate and support without dictating. The Board is all volunteer and I always feel my donated dollar is being wisely used!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 4, 2012

My husband and I have been casual supporters of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation for four years because we have listened to and been impressed by the story from the founder, board members, and o... more

July 7, 2013

After returning from a trip to Chiapas in 2011 with a few board members and others like me who were curious about this vibrant non-profit Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Fund, I amazed myself: I created my first digital photo album! I wanted to tell everyone I knew what an incredible, insightful, inspiring, dynamic program this is. How could I introduce my friends to Yollie, Juana, America, Christina, and other young women who now go to school and university because they have earned scholarships, who mentor children and adults in their own communities, who are learning how to create economic opportunities through computer skills, who share knowledge about health-care practices in their home towns, who support each other in recognizing their dignity and self-worth and their right to be respected and to participate in making decisions that affect their lives and families? And this photo story needs to be in bright colors, because these women also work long hours as weavers, on backstrap looms, kneeling on the ground, creating apparel of exceptional beauty.
The story of Mujeres de Maiz keeps spreading because we can't stay quiet about it; and now I have a story book in living color to share!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2012

My husband and I have been casual supporters of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation for four years because we have listened to and been impressed by the story from the founder, board members, and other participants in our community. It is an amazing opportunity to participate in conversations and contributions and activities with a group of people who are passionate about the people they serve, who know these people personally, and who engage with them in discerning the projects that will best achieve the Foundation's goals. Then, this past December, I traveled to Chiapas, Mexico, with several other supporters and a couple of Board members, on a tour arranged and led by Judith Pasco, Founder. We celebrated the Guadalupana with the women of the cooperative; we visited several of the communities; we participated in the Saturday school program that two of the Mujeres scholarship participants have established in their home town; we sat down to lunch in one of the homes around a gaily painted table; we watched a demonstration of weaving with a back-strap loom, which many fo the women use to make products for sale to support their schooling and families; we noticed that some of the women now wear eyeglasses because a need was identified and subsequently eye exams were provided and glasses supplied as prescribed; and we met with the on-site coordinator who represents the Foundation and brings the Mayan women of Chiapas and the women of Sequim, Washington together to create and nurture opportunities for higher education, better health, and improved economic opportunity. Now I know that what "Mujeres" is achieving in partnership with these Mayan women of Chiapas is so much more than what I had expected, and the experience enriches every participant. I can never again be a "casual" supporter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 6, 2013

more

July 6, 2013

Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation has accomplished a lot in seven years. The indigenous women and girls who are scholarship recipients are also enriching their communities by creating and teaching workshops and classes. So the educational benefits continue to enrich lives. The board works with tireless enthusiasm throughout the year as volunteers. All funds raised go to support programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013

more

July 5, 2013

The Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation provides opportunities to women and girls to improve their lives. I learned of this organization through my local Soroptimist club. We have been giving money to the foundation since their first year. Their mission closely matches the mission of Soroptimist. The Mujeres group has a proven track record of living their mission. They don’t just give lip-service; they take action and get things done. Many of the girls who have become educated have passed along what they have learned to other women and girls. Like a pebble in a stream, the effect continues to spread. There is a definite impact. As the women are educated they get stronger, as individuals and as a community.

This past year, Judith Pasco, the Board Chair, published a book. It includes some of her experiences in Mexico. I attended Judith’s first book reading/signing. I believe that the Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation was not just merely part of the book. I believe it is the experiences of what the foundation has done for the women in Mexico that inspired Judith to go within herself, where she discovered the story and the courage to put it into print. It is exciting to see the power of the ripple!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I really support this effort and have seen first hand how the women are benefiting and with such a respectful approach. This is not a top down organization - on the contrary the women benefiting (well we all are actually) are making the decisions and growing with the organization, thus becoming full autonomous players. Thanks to all who work with Mujeres de Maiz for all their effort and work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Create a fundraiser, set up venues where we could give talks. Because we deal with education and work in Mexico, most of our work here involves raising funds.