Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.955565
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mujeres de Maiz exemplifies grass roots organization; it is a small group of very hard working and dedicated people who have an absolutely clear vision of their mission. They work long hours to raise money and fairly distribute it to the indigenous women of Chiapas with yard sales, musical and holiday presentations, dinners, solicitations of donations, newsletters. The women of Chiapas must design the projects that require funding they request and remain accountable for the success of the projects. Equally, the small size of Mujeres de Maiz keeps it accountable to the community that supports it. I believe that not a dollar is wasted.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

As the first Board Secretary (who resigned after five years for health reasons), the opportunity to be a part of the formation and growth of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation has been a life-enriching experience. Watching the women and girls in the cooperative in Chiapas that we partner with take advantage of educational opportunities and become more self-confident and competent over the years means that our foundation is living up to its mission statement and helping to change more and more women's lives for the better. This quote by Larry Summers, economist, expresses my sentiments: "Investment in girls' education may well be the highest return investment available in the developing world."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

These are local, non-professional "folks" who give considerable amounts of time AND money to make a difference in the world - Year after year after year - 1 human being at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I support this organization because it helps women get an education which helps the children & the entirte village. It gives more than it gets. I especially love the celebration of corn and the celebration of the dead each year, which is offers a gathering for my own for my community. Pat

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 4, 2012

My husband and I have been casual supporters of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation for four years because we have listened to and been impressed by the story from the founder, board members, and o... more

July 7, 2013

After returning from a trip to Chiapas in 2011 with a few board members and others like me who were curious about this vibrant non-profit Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Fund, I amazed myself: I created my first digital photo album! I wanted to tell everyone I knew what an incredible, insightful, inspiring, dynamic program this is. How could I introduce my friends to Yollie, Juana, America, Christina, and other young women who now go to school and university because they have earned scholarships, who mentor children and adults in their own communities, who are learning how to create economic opportunities through computer skills, who share knowledge about health-care practices in their home towns, who support each other in recognizing their dignity and self-worth and their right to be respected and to participate in making decisions that affect their lives and families? And this photo story needs to be in bright colors, because these women also work long hours as weavers, on backstrap looms, kneeling on the ground, creating apparel of exceptional beauty.
The story of Mujeres de Maiz keeps spreading because we can't stay quiet about it; and now I have a story book in living color to share!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2012

My husband and I have been casual supporters of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation for four years because we have listened to and been impressed by the story from the founder, board members, and other participants in our community. It is an amazing opportunity to participate in conversations and contributions and activities with a group of people who are passionate about the people they serve, who know these people personally, and who engage with them in discerning the projects that will best achieve the Foundation's goals. Then, this past December, I traveled to Chiapas, Mexico, with several other supporters and a couple of Board members, on a tour arranged and led by Judith Pasco, Founder. We celebrated the Guadalupana with the women of the cooperative; we visited several of the communities; we participated in the Saturday school program that two of the Mujeres scholarship participants have established in their home town; we sat down to lunch in one of the homes around a gaily painted table; we watched a demonstration of weaving with a back-strap loom, which many fo the women use to make products for sale to support their schooling and families; we noticed that some of the women now wear eyeglasses because a need was identified and subsequently eye exams were provided and glasses supplied as prescribed; and we met with the on-site coordinator who represents the Foundation and brings the Mayan women of Chiapas and the women of Sequim, Washington together to create and nurture opportunities for higher education, better health, and improved economic opportunity. Now I know that what "Mujeres" is achieving in partnership with these Mayan women of Chiapas is so much more than what I had expected, and the experience enriches every participant. I can never again be a "casual" supporter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Create a fundraiser, set up venues where we could give talks. Because we deal with education and work in Mexico, most of our work here involves raising funds.