Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

As the first Board Secretary (who resigned after five years for health reasons), the opportunity to be a part of the formation and growth of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation has been a life-enriching experience. Watching the women and girls in the cooperative in Chiapas that we partner with take advantage of educational opportunities and become more self-confident and competent over the years means that our foundation is living up to its mission statement and helping to change more and more women's lives for the better. This quote by Larry Summers, economist, expresses my sentiments: "Investment in girls' education may well be the highest return investment available in the developing world."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been actively supporting this organization for only a few years and wish i'd started sooner! They work directly with the communities they have built relationships with, and they have a grassroots approach across the whole organization, from Chipas to here. Many of the board members are active in our local community on the Olympic Peninsula, and bring their professionalism, integrity and passion to their work with the Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation. My husband and I were so inspired by this this fantastic non profit, we started volunteering with its fundraising efforts, including the annual fundraisers, "Men with Guitars" and "El Día de los Muertos Dinner and Auction...fun times!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I really support this effort and have seen first hand how the women are benefiting and with such a respectful approach. This is not a top down organization - on the contrary the women benefiting (well we all are actually) are making the decisions and growing with the organization, thus becoming full autonomous players. Thanks to all who work with Mujeres de Maiz for all their effort and work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
March 19, 2012

This year was amazing for Mujeres de Maiz OF. Seventeen girls received scholarships this year and two of our long standing scholarship recipients will graduate from university in December, 2012. The ... more

October 25, 2012

As Board Chair of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation, there are a number of things that make me very proud. One is the fact that the women with whom we work assess their own needs and make proposals to us. This enables us to help them in the ways that will have the most impact. Another is the fact that we can see the changes over the past 7 years in the ways that the girls and women relate to each other and to us. 7 years ago there was little eye contact, little expressing of opinion, extreme shyness, almost no opportunities for life choices and feeling valueless. Now, especially in those who have continued their education through scholarships funded by us, we see assertiveness, decision making, eye contact, literacy teaching, and an ability and desire to express opinions. Moreover, the two continuing Saturday Children's Programs are in their 3rd year and flourishing, as it our adult literacy program. More women and girls are getting eye exams and wearing glasses. A new project provides the education and building materials for 28 families to have composting toilets. And, our supporters are the best!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2012

This year was amazing for Mujeres de Maiz OF. Seventeen girls received scholarships this year and two of our long standing scholarship recipients will graduate from university in December, 2012. The two Saturday Children's Programs are flourishing and serving about 55 primary school children. Not only are the children strengthening their academic skills, but they are learning to write their Maya language, They have the chance to express their creativity in various art and theater projects and are becoming stewards of the environment by learning about recycling, composting and planting trees. When we visited the community of Crucero, we found a new structure that the parents of the children had built to house the program. It demonstrates how much the parents value this program. The programs are in their 3rd year. The adult literacy program in Altamirano is also in its 3rd year and the 27 adults will complete their primary school education this year. We hope very much that funding will allow us to continue funding for these dedicated students and their instructor. Mujeres continues to fund workshops and eye exams, glasses and laptop computers. Three new valuable projects have been proposed and we are actively seeking grants and looking at more ways to fundraise because at the moment we are unable to take on more projects.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my many visits to Chiapas. I see the changes in the women...they are beginning to value themselves and see that their opinions have worth and want to share in the governance of their communities. Scholarship recipients are role models. Adult women who never thought they would read and write are experiencing the joy of accomplishment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I am a founding member.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Providing education in its many forms.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Empowering poor, indigenous women so that they may lead fuller lives, have decision-making opportunities, and be role-models in their communities. Education is the key.

March 19, 2011

I have been the Board Chair since we formed Mujeres de Maiz OF in 2006. At the beginning we were thinking only of scholarships to the indigenous women in the cooperative in Chiapas, Mexico, but what has transpired has been amazing. Soon we were funding workshops and eye exams and laptop computers. Then full year children's programs and adult literacy classes came into being. We also take toothpaste and toothbrushes every 6 months, have donated 100 children's backpacks and each community received a solar lamp. Now we are involved in helping the cooperative purchase a facility of their own. What we love is that while we provide access to education, the women assess their own needs and make decisions about the paths they are taking.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

... the scholarship girls who become role models in their communities, the women who learn to read and write who start to participate in the governance of their communities. I've seen the trust build year after year. I've seen the women start to speak their voice. I've seen more and more children interested in continuing their education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything at this point.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I'm a founding member.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

These are local, non-professional "folks" who give considerable amounts of time AND money to make a difference in the world - Year after year after year - 1 human being at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is a wonderful way to increase one's own knowledge and to find a way to assist indigenous women make the most out of their lives through higher education. There are no "middle men" involved. It is a very direct person to person contact, as well as a fine opportunity to see Chiapas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

This organization is THE BEST EXAMPLE EVER CREATED of how one single person can change the world. Mrs. Pasco has single handedly and then with the help of staff, created a strong non-profit group that by helping to educate a few girls from the mtn highlands of Southern Mexico, and creating a handicraft co-op, has changed some communities near Chiapas forever, allowing the women there to become more educated, and to slowly bring about healthy change for the communities, including solar power, health changes and even housing, so these girls can attend schools. Wish I could have been such a power!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I respect the way this organization goes directly to the women of Chiapas and asks them what they need in order to succeed. The women and girls set their own goals. They're greatest desire is education for themselves and their children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 8, 2012

I traveled with the Mujeres de Maiz organization to southern Mexico in December 2011. It was a fantastic experience to watch the interaction between the members from the US and the people they served/... more

October 23, 2012

I love this charity! It is small and intimate and it feels like you are making a huge difference in the lives of women in Chiapas. It also seems like almost all dollars are used to do good work and very little for overhead. Definitely a group worth being a part of or donating to.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

I traveled with the Mujeres de Maiz organization to southern Mexico in December 2011. It was a fantastic experience to watch the interaction between the members from the US and the people they served/helped in Mexico. It was apparant that there is affection and respect on both sides. I loved seeing the girls/women that were continuing their education because of this organization give back to their communities by conducting Saturday school with elementary age children. I could see the confidence these young women are gaining. I also appreciated that monies raised by the group go to the people served and not to admin/overhead costs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I support this organization because it helps women get an education which helps the children & the entirte village. It gives more than it gets. I especially love the celebration of corn and the celebration of the dead each year, which is offers a gathering for my own for my community. Pat

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Create a fundraiser, set up venues where we could give talks. Because we deal with education and work in Mexico, most of our work here involves raising funds.