Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met and got to know Judith Pasco over 20 years ago on a global education trip to Nicaragua. It is clear to me that this non profit was founded with soul, compassion, intelligence, understanding and most important a great respect for the integrity of the people it supports and serves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 4, 2012

My husband and I have been casual supporters of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation for four years because we have listened to and been impressed by the story from the founder, board members, and o... more

July 7, 2013

After returning from a trip to Chiapas in 2011 with a few board members and others like me who were curious about this vibrant non-profit Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Fund, I amazed myself: I created my first digital photo album! I wanted to tell everyone I knew what an incredible, insightful, inspiring, dynamic program this is. How could I introduce my friends to Yollie, Juana, America, Christina, and other young women who now go to school and university because they have earned scholarships, who mentor children and adults in their own communities, who are learning how to create economic opportunities through computer skills, who share knowledge about health-care practices in their home towns, who support each other in recognizing their dignity and self-worth and their right to be respected and to participate in making decisions that affect their lives and families? And this photo story needs to be in bright colors, because these women also work long hours as weavers, on backstrap looms, kneeling on the ground, creating apparel of exceptional beauty.
The story of Mujeres de Maiz keeps spreading because we can't stay quiet about it; and now I have a story book in living color to share!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2012

My husband and I have been casual supporters of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation for four years because we have listened to and been impressed by the story from the founder, board members, and other participants in our community. It is an amazing opportunity to participate in conversations and contributions and activities with a group of people who are passionate about the people they serve, who know these people personally, and who engage with them in discerning the projects that will best achieve the Foundation's goals. Then, this past December, I traveled to Chiapas, Mexico, with several other supporters and a couple of Board members, on a tour arranged and led by Judith Pasco, Founder. We celebrated the Guadalupana with the women of the cooperative; we visited several of the communities; we participated in the Saturday school program that two of the Mujeres scholarship participants have established in their home town; we sat down to lunch in one of the homes around a gaily painted table; we watched a demonstration of weaving with a back-strap loom, which many fo the women use to make products for sale to support their schooling and families; we noticed that some of the women now wear eyeglasses because a need was identified and subsequently eye exams were provided and glasses supplied as prescribed; and we met with the on-site coordinator who represents the Foundation and brings the Mayan women of Chiapas and the women of Sequim, Washington together to create and nurture opportunities for higher education, better health, and improved economic opportunity. Now I know that what "Mujeres" is achieving in partnership with these Mayan women of Chiapas is so much more than what I had expected, and the experience enriches every participant. I can never again be a "casual" supporter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 6, 2013

more

July 6, 2013

Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation has accomplished a lot in seven years. The indigenous women and girls who are scholarship recipients are also enriching their communities by creating and teaching workshops and classes. So the educational benefits continue to enrich lives. The board works with tireless enthusiasm throughout the year as volunteers. All funds raised go to support programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mujeres de Maiz exemplifies grass roots organization; it is a small group of very hard working and dedicated people who have an absolutely clear vision of their mission. They work long hours to raise money and fairly distribute it to the indigenous women of Chiapas with yard sales, musical and holiday presentations, dinners, solicitations of donations, newsletters. The women of Chiapas must design the projects that require funding they request and remain accountable for the success of the projects. Equally, the small size of Mujeres de Maiz keeps it accountable to the community that supports it. I believe that not a dollar is wasted.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013

more

July 5, 2013

The Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation provides opportunities to women and girls to improve their lives. I learned of this organization through my local Soroptimist club. We have been giving money to the foundation since their first year. Their mission closely matches the mission of Soroptimist. The Mujeres group has a proven track record of living their mission. They don’t just give lip-service; they take action and get things done. Many of the girls who have become educated have passed along what they have learned to other women and girls. Like a pebble in a stream, the effect continues to spread. There is a definite impact. As the women are educated they get stronger, as individuals and as a community.

This past year, Judith Pasco, the Board Chair, published a book. It includes some of her experiences in Mexico. I attended Judith’s first book reading/signing. I believe that the Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation was not just merely part of the book. I believe it is the experiences of what the foundation has done for the women in Mexico that inspired Judith to go within herself, where she discovered the story and the courage to put it into print. It is exciting to see the power of the ripple!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 12, 2011

As a founding board member, I have been a part of Mujeres de Maiz OF since its inception 6 years ago when we gave one scholarship. Now, in addition to 19 women/girls receiving scholarships from the se... more

July 3, 2013

I am constantly amazed at the positive changes in the lives of the indigenous women with whom we, Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation, partner. It seems like such a short time ago when the possibility of education beyond the primary level was non-existent. This year two of the women received their university degrees and next year one is going to be involved in a nursing practicum! Even those who are not direct scholarship recipients are enthusiastically participating in adult literacy programs and workshops. The children are taking advantage of remedial and enrichment sessions on weekends. Sometimes as a board member it seems that all we do is raise funds. But my annual trip to Chiapas to reunite with the women humbles me, energizes me, and fills me with a profound sense of the worth of what we do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find a core of people besides the board who would independently fundraise for us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2011

As a founding board member, I have been a part of Mujeres de Maiz OF since its inception 6 years ago when we gave one scholarship. Now, in addition to 19 women/girls receiving scholarships from the secondary to the university levels, we fund two children's programs which meet all year round on Saturdays and a women's literacy program. Last July I went to Zinacantan to watch elementary aged girls and boys share stories they had written, to listen to a puppet show they had organized, and to participate in multiplication practice. The children told us that they were very happy with the help they get at the Saturday school. And they were glad that their teachers don't complain to their parents about bad behavior and missing homework which used to happen often. The program is so successful that the children have requested to meet on Sundays as well!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By offering scholarships to girls, Mujeres de Maiz OF has produced role models.The trust we have developed with each other has allowed young women to have options in what they do with their lives. Juana got a civic job due to the computer training she received on scholarship. She is working to preserve her native language. In another year, Yolanda will be a certified teacher. Ana Belen continues on her course of becoming a human rights attorney.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In the short time Mujeres de Maiz OF has been a nonprofit, it's accomplishments have been amazing. We have a loyal but small base. If Mujeres could broaden its support, there would be no dream too big.

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I have been involved with Soroptimist which is an international service organization that supports women and girls in bettering their lives. Our local Soroptimist club has been supporting Mujeres de Maiz for several years because Mujeres's goal of supporting Mayan women and girls to better their lives through education fits the Soroptimist goal. As I learned more and more about Mujeres and the number of lives of girls and young women who are being changed by the scholarships and support of Mujeres, I became a member of the Mujeres Board in 2012.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I am not easily persuaded to serve on a board these days, but am proud to be a member of the Mujeres board. We have been to Mexico to see our work in action and are able to tell our supporters how every penny of their donations is spent. Being in constant contact with the women and communities we support lets us know that our efforts are making a difference in their lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 12, 2011

I have traveled twice to San Cristobal de las Casas & had exceptional experiences with this organization, and thus the remarkable young women who are recipients. The educational opportunities that are... more

June 30, 2013

I have been involved in one way or another with Mujeres since it's inception. I've traveled to San Cristobal de las Casas a couple of time and have been there when scholarships were given to the young indigenous women and witnessed the pride. I have experienced the excitement and enthusiasm for learning at the cooperative. This organization is making a difference in lives and I'm proud to be a supporter and "Friend" of Mujeres.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2011

I have traveled twice to San Cristobal de las Casas & had exceptional experiences with this organization, and thus the remarkable young women who are recipients. The educational opportunities that are being provided to young indigenous women by Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation with small amounts of money is amazing and the women are so appreciative. The money goes so far. I would encourage you to find out more about Mujeres de Maiz and when you do you will want to participate any way you can. I believe that educating women makes a huge difference in their family and their community and this organization does just that.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I particpated in taking the girls to an optometrist for eye exams, resulting in new glasses for most, interacting with them at their cooperative. At their invitation, a few of us went to the homes of a couple of the girls in the mountains, hiking up hills, thru cornfields & thus realizing what kind of dedication it takes for them to go to school as well as take care of all that needs to be done at home and in the fields.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find even more dedicated people to participate in fundraising!

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

I traveled to Chiapas with my Grandmother (board member) and several other board members a few years ago to visit with the women of the cooperative and see the work that is being done by them and the foundation. I have gone on many cultural trips and this was by far the most rewarding, the Mujeres Foundation is inspirational in what they have been able to accomplish in a relatively short period of time in Chiapas. I greatly enjoyed the meeting the women of the cooperative and was struck by their dedication to education and also to give back to their communities. I support this foundation regularly and would encourage others to do the same!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Create a fundraiser, set up venues where we could give talks. Because we deal with education and work in Mexico, most of our work here involves raising funds.