Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.965
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 16, 2011

My first exposure to "Mujeres" was through my Spanish class. Our teacher heads up the board for the organization. Her passion for helping the young women living in Chiapas is inspiring. This past D... more

April 18, 2014

This organization continues to be among the most dedicated in their outreach to help with the education and life building skills for the young women of Chiapas Mexico. The women now have their own building in town for gathering and to showcase their crafts. The dedication of each volunteer and the Board is amazing....sponsoring multiple fundraisers annually that have helped so many. Not only do each of the scholarship recipients receive an education that otherwise would be unattainable, but then each gives back to their community in amazing ways.... classes for the children, helping their peers and increasing awareness of each person being able to better their life situation.
March 16, 2011

My first exposure to "Mujeres" was through my Spanish class. Our teacher heads up the board for the organization. Her passion for helping the young women living in Chiapas is inspiring. This past December I was able to travel with a group to visit Chiapas and meet many of the scholarship recipients, participate in a weekend workshop and be a part of a "saturday school" hosted by a couple of the young women to help supplement the education of children in their village by adding Espanol to their local dialect and teaching skills that will aid them as they grow. The dedication by the women in Chiapas to their families and communities is enhanced by the help of "Mujeres", providing not only dollars to provide scholarships but also items used daily that we here in the US take for granted. From personal hygiene to computers to help the women coordinate their workshops and aid them with the co-op they run to promote and sell their weavings. What I believe is special about "Mujeres" is the fact that all the women and girls have total control of the direction their co-op should take, and each have a commitment to it's success. "Mujeres" presence is there to help them accomplish "their" goals, not impose their own agenda. That this is working extremely well is evidenced in the lives of all the women by their confidence in themselves and commitment to one another.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As I said above, seeing for myself the great things these women and young girls in Chiapas can accomplish with the help from the "Mujeres" organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I can think of would be wider exposure to bring in more that may be given to these remarkable women in Chiapas, Mexico

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

Mujeres de Maiz is an awe-inspiring organization, founded on the desire of one woman, Judith Pasco, to help the underprivileged women of rural Chiapas, Mexico. Over the years her organization has helped many worthy young women to complete their educations, improved literacy, provided vision care and dental hygiene supplies to those in need, offered empowerment to oppressed women and teaching to their children. Through their work, the women in the villages Mujeres de Maiz serves have become increasingly self-sufficient, self-confident and created cohesive groups to support personal growth among their members.
Amazingly, all this work has been done by dedicated volunteers, there are NO salaried employees of the foundation, and 100% of donations go directly to helping the women and children of Chiapas. Fundraising is mainly done through an annual community dinner with live and silent auctions and an annual concert, "Men with Guitars."
This is by far my favorite charity EVER, and worthy of any support you can offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Besides wanting to see it continue to flourish and grow, I wouldn't change a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I have been donating to this organization from the very beginning. I have always been impressed by their fundraising events accompanied by their emphasis on education to the supporters of the work that they do. They are very committed to the women of Chiapas and they empower people to make decisions on the paths they will follow and not tell them how to do it. They educate and support without dictating. The Board is all volunteer and I always feel my donated dollar is being wisely used!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

I love this organization. The donations they receive go directly to helping the women and girls in the Guatemalan cooperative. I have traveled with this organization as well to see some of the rural... more

April 17, 2014

This past year, I read Executive Director Judith Pasco's Book "Somewhere for my soul to go"about her journey to create the Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation and it inspired me in my own journey to create a children's education program. The compassion, humor and humility that this organization embodies is fantastic and an inspiration to our local and global community. I hope we can all link together in helping each other, one pair of reading glasses, one composting toilet, and one community dinner at a time. I have enjoyed every one of the Mujeres de Maiz fundraising events I have attended, it is always a fun, relaxing and well organized event. Thank you for the work you do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2012

I love this organization. The donations they receive go directly to helping the women and girls in the Guatemalan cooperative. I have traveled with this organization as well to see some of the rural communities affected by their work and was impressed with the professionalism and compassion towards these communities. I highly recommend this group for anyone wishing to donate, get involved or travel with this group.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I have been excited about Mujeres since it was created several years ago! In 2013 my husband and I lived in San Cristobal for a couple of months and we visited some of the recipients and stayed overnight in their home. As a retired community college employee I am especially proud of the educational parts of the programs. It is also a triumph that the organization has now bought a building! Mujeres is grass roots and very special!!
July 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met and got to know Judith Pasco over 20 years ago on a global education trip to Nicaragua. It is clear to me that this non profit was founded with soul, compassion, intelligence, understanding and most important a great respect for the integrity of the people it supports and serves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

Before I joined the board of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation, I traveled to Chiapas and saw first-hand the work that is being done to help the women and children with their education. I spent ... more

July 7, 2013

I traveled to Chiapas with Judith Pasco, founder and chairwoman of the Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation, a few years ago. I was so impressed with the work done by this non-profit that I became a donor, a volunteer and finally a board member. The things that impress me are: the relationship between the organization and the women and girls in the cooperative, the exceedingly low cost of administration (no paid staff), the effectiveness of the programs and the dedication of the group's supporters.
This is an exceptional group with a clear mission that is efficiently carried out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand the donor base.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

Before I joined the board of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation, I traveled to Chiapas and saw first-hand the work that is being done to help the women and children with their education. I spent a morning in one of the Saturday schools, run by Mujeres scholarship students who help their younger neighbors with their school work. I saw the women wearing glasses, for the first time able to see clearly. I attended a group meeting of the cooperative and saw the dedication and determination to better their own and their children's lives. As a board member, I can attest to the hard work of the volunteers who raise the funds for the foundation and the transparency of the organization. It does good work, does it well and economically.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 4, 2012

My husband and I have been casual supporters of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation for four years because we have listened to and been impressed by the story from the founder, board members, and o... more

July 7, 2013

After returning from a trip to Chiapas in 2011 with a few board members and others like me who were curious about this vibrant non-profit Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Fund, I amazed myself: I created my first digital photo album! I wanted to tell everyone I knew what an incredible, insightful, inspiring, dynamic program this is. How could I introduce my friends to Yollie, Juana, America, Christina, and other young women who now go to school and university because they have earned scholarships, who mentor children and adults in their own communities, who are learning how to create economic opportunities through computer skills, who share knowledge about health-care practices in their home towns, who support each other in recognizing their dignity and self-worth and their right to be respected and to participate in making decisions that affect their lives and families? And this photo story needs to be in bright colors, because these women also work long hours as weavers, on backstrap looms, kneeling on the ground, creating apparel of exceptional beauty.
The story of Mujeres de Maiz keeps spreading because we can't stay quiet about it; and now I have a story book in living color to share!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2012

My husband and I have been casual supporters of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation for four years because we have listened to and been impressed by the story from the founder, board members, and other participants in our community. It is an amazing opportunity to participate in conversations and contributions and activities with a group of people who are passionate about the people they serve, who know these people personally, and who engage with them in discerning the projects that will best achieve the Foundation's goals. Then, this past December, I traveled to Chiapas, Mexico, with several other supporters and a couple of Board members, on a tour arranged and led by Judith Pasco, Founder. We celebrated the Guadalupana with the women of the cooperative; we visited several of the communities; we participated in the Saturday school program that two of the Mujeres scholarship participants have established in their home town; we sat down to lunch in one of the homes around a gaily painted table; we watched a demonstration of weaving with a back-strap loom, which many fo the women use to make products for sale to support their schooling and families; we noticed that some of the women now wear eyeglasses because a need was identified and subsequently eye exams were provided and glasses supplied as prescribed; and we met with the on-site coordinator who represents the Foundation and brings the Mayan women of Chiapas and the women of Sequim, Washington together to create and nurture opportunities for higher education, better health, and improved economic opportunity. Now I know that what "Mujeres" is achieving in partnership with these Mayan women of Chiapas is so much more than what I had expected, and the experience enriches every participant. I can never again be a "casual" supporter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 6, 2013

more

July 6, 2013

Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation has accomplished a lot in seven years. The indigenous women and girls who are scholarship recipients are also enriching their communities by creating and teaching workshops and classes. So the educational benefits continue to enrich lives. The board works with tireless enthusiasm throughout the year as volunteers. All funds raised go to support programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mujeres de Maiz exemplifies grass roots organization; it is a small group of very hard working and dedicated people who have an absolutely clear vision of their mission. They work long hours to raise money and fairly distribute it to the indigenous women of Chiapas with yard sales, musical and holiday presentations, dinners, solicitations of donations, newsletters. The women of Chiapas must design the projects that require funding they request and remain accountable for the success of the projects. Equally, the small size of Mujeres de Maiz keeps it accountable to the community that supports it. I believe that not a dollar is wasted.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Create a fundraiser, set up venues where we could give talks. Because we deal with education and work in Mexico, most of our work here involves raising funds.