Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

In the spring of 2012, I was fortunate to come across Mt Hope Rescue while searching for a safe horse for my riding student. And that is how Rio came into our lives.

This wonderful Mexican quarterhorse that Donna mentioned had been through it all and the pictures I saw of him from the day
they rescued him were heartbreaking. When I met him, he'd already gained 300 pounds under Mt Hope's wonderful care and just continued to flourish with the good food,worming and overall attention he received there. By the time we picked him up he looked and felt even better.

I had been involved with a rescue before and been to several; all my horses are rescues. I have to say that Mt. Hope is the most organized, meticulously run rescue I have been to. Their trainer is extremely knowledgeable and the Potters are very, very particular about where and with whom they will place a horse. A forever home is of the utmost importance to them so I had no doubt that we were told honestly every issue Rio might face.

I would, and do , recommend them highly to anyone considering rescuing a horse or donating to a rescue.
Thank you Mt Hope Rescue!
Cathy Dieffenbach

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything to change

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I started volunteering with Mount Hope Horse Rescue in the winter of 2011. My fondest story to date is about a horse named Rio. Not long after I met Pat Potter she took me under her wing and trusted my "horse sense" enough to go with her on a rescue mission at a local residnece that needed help with saving a horse they had. While the family's intentions were good when the adopted Rio they soon found out he had to many issued and they could no longer afford to keep him. They reached out to Pat to see if she would consider taking him. When Pat and I met Rio for the first time it was love at first sight. Very under weight and terrible rain rot he obviously was in need of help, we chatted with the family and they demonstraged the willingness of Rio to please his "people" so Pat and I agreed he needed to come to MHHR. We had a Cinco De Mayo fund raiser a few month later in his Honor and not long after that Rio found his new forever home where he is thriving!!! . His recovery was remarkable and that is to be attributed to his will and to MHHR for all the love and care given to him. Rio was my first "Rescue" and will always, always have a very special place in my heart!!! Thank you Pat for placing enough faith in me and trusting me to help with his rescue!! To date I am still with MHHR in the role of Fundraising Chairperson and we have had serveral different fund raising events so stay tuned for more to come. We need your support to keep "Saving One Horse At A Time." Donna

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

When I started volunteering at Mt Hope Horse Rescue (MHHR), I had very little experience with horses. I began my time with them in March '09. I spent my Sat mornings mucking stalls, filling water buckets, putting hay in stalls, turning out horses and general barn upkeep. Each time I came in, I learned more about these amazing creatures. I have seen horses come in who were put in the slaughter pen for no other reason than their owners weren't able to afford them any longer. And I've seen horses who were abused and mistreated, starved and beaten find a second chance by the rehabilitation offered at MHHR and found forever homes with loving families. So because of that today, I volunteer my time as administrative assistant, organize the volunteer orientations, help with fundraisers, work on bookkeeping, and pretty much wear whatever hat needs worn that day. This is an amazing charity that needs all the support it can get!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

Mt Hope Horse rescue works very hard to support and finds homes for unwanted horses and off track Thoroughbreds. They take the time and attention to give the horses the utmost care and are devoted to the horses at all times.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean stalls, feed the horses, and give neglected horses some desparately needed affection and love. Volunteer