Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.142865
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 8, 2014

more

April 8, 2014

One silly review aside, I agree that Move America Forward merits lising in Great Nonprofits.
I've given quite generously to Troops Direct, and will do so again. For Easter this year, I'll send Peeps and Jerky via MAF. I was once in the field in Vietnam, and I think there must be a few vets
who advised MAF as to what would best be appreciated by a line soldier. The Jerky is ALWAYS the best part.
The only suggestion I make is to leave out the deodorant, unless it's for the Afghans, and any other frilly stuff.
AND... do your best to get this to field troops, not those who can get to a base to buy things, OK

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Send more jerky.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014

more

January 21, 2014

Move America Forward is a great organization doing great things for our brave men and women in uniform. As a volunteer, it’s always exciting to see a soldiers note, thanking MAF for their support. Sending a care package may not seem like a big deal – to our troops however, it means the world. By supporting MAF, you are supporting our bravest men and women and their families here at home.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014

more

January 21, 2014

I have always had a great experience helping Move America Forward send care packages. The staff truly believes in the cause and it shows through their work. The organization goes above and beyond in supporting our troops and putting a smile on their face. I personally get a lot of satisfaction from knowing I played a role - albeit a small one - in packing care packages for MAF. I leave knowing that a soldier, somewhere in harms way, will be receiving that package and it will remind them a little bit of home and everything they are fighting for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014

more

January 21, 2014

Move America Forward supports the troops in their war on terror. By nature, the troops that need the most support are deployed abroad and are engaged in foreign wars. Foreign policy and wars are divisive by nature, but one thing we should all agree on is that our brave men and women of the armed forces deserve our support. This is something that Move America Forward does a good job at and takes pride in.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014

more

January 21, 2014

This made it very easy to send a package to my daughter and to a couple of her fellow soldiers. My daughter was thrilled with the contents. So good enuf for me ! I'll send again at Easter.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

Its really a shame that people feel the need to inject their own politics into these reviews, people are looking to find out what a charity is all about.

Move America Forward is a great non partisan, non profit. They ship care packages to the troops in Afghanistan all year and come with
great items. They also have dog care packages and let you sign up people to receive care packages for free. But what I like is being able to include my own letter to the troops.

I also get a call from a woman thanking me for the donation. Its not necessary but I do appreciate it.

Its a great way to send a care package to our military I would definitely recommend this charity and do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they had more events in the year not just around the holidays.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
July 17, 2013

Move America Forward bills itself as a charity to raise money for care packages for US troops abroad. However the organization's "troopathon" project is mostly a promotional vehicle for a variety of right-wing celebrities. Fund-raising pitches are mixed in with heavily ideological and harsh critiques of allegedly left-wing and defeatist US foreign and security policies by the likes of Mark Levin and Sarah Palin.
One of the principal charitable activities of the groups involves sending Conservative semi-celebrities to visit with troops and to distribute gifts. At the time these are distributed the original source of the gifts are not very clear.
MAF is a effectively a political outreach organization using a charity model.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Probably close it and start over. Some of these "spokespeople" have overtly encouraged troops to disobey their chain of command on issues ranging from women's rights to the treatment of forieng nationals in US custody. Far too little is done for our troops and far to much of the energy in the organization is focused on promoting its celebrities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We always can use volunteers to help assemble Care Package, write messages to the troops or help us at volunteer event booths. Volunteer