Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12.8345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

After volunteering for MADD for several years, I was so impressed with their Victim Services, their preventative educational programs and their overall organizational management, that I decided to join the MADD family. I am proud to work for an organization where 78% of revenue funds goes directly to support programs and services. In addition, since 1980, MADD's mission work has saved more than 300,000 lives from drunk drivers and an additional 27,000 young lives have been saved through MADD's work of creating and/or lobbying for the implemenation of groundbreaking public health laws. MADD will continue to make great strides to make our communities and roads safer by eliminating drunk or impaired driving, providing support services to the victims of drunk driving crashes, and by working to prevent undeage drinking. Thank you MADD for all that you do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

Because MADD exists, hundreds of thousands of people are alive who would have otherwise been killed in senseless wrecks. MADD victim advocates help thousands of people each year. As a former advocate, I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to assist victims of drunk driving and I am proud of the difference that I and other advocates have made in the lives of innocent victims.

I was often asked how I could endure the emotional strain of working with bereaved and injured crime victims. That was never a problem. The problem was (and from what I hear, still is) the dysfunction of the MADD organization: a tendency to ignore problems, a lack of accountability in middle and upper management, a disconnect between the national office and the real world and MADD’s odd desire to be liked instead of respected. It is the MADD organization itself that frustrated and exhausted me.

If MADD's victim services program is as high a priority as MADD regularly claims, why is the general public unaware of it? Why is there no national program to promote awareness of those services? Victim speakers are responsible for hundreds of thousands of dollars of revenue through MADD’s victim impact panel program. However, that money is used for non-victim programs.

Advocates are expected to encourage the victims they assist to volunteer within the organization. Why would an advocate who has educated, encouraged and protected a victim want to expose that victim to an organization who sees that person not as a wounded human being but as a way to raise money?

MADD’s CEO is paid (last time I looked) $234,000 annually but MADD refuses to pay the full IRS mileage rate to compensate employees who travel in their personal vehicles. Being cheap with its employees while the big boss is paid nearly a quarter of a million dollars makes MADD appear unconcerned and/or out of touch.

Sadly, the restructure of MADD in 2006, meant to make the organization more efficient, has drained the passion from this previously well respected grass roots organization and has given it an impersonal, corporate feel. MADD was built on passion, but people with passion don't belong there anymore.

The group of people who started MADD in 1980 showed a tremendous amount of courage in confronting a crime that everyone else wanted to ignore. I would hate to see MADD become irrelevant while it is still possible to drive drunk. MADD still has work to do and I hope those in charge will do some soul-searching, set aside personal agendas, have the courage to admit there is a problem and do whatever needs to be done to fix it. If they don't, they can't claim to support MADD’s mission.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 5, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I completely agree with the above former employee. I, too, was caught in the nightmare of working at this extremely dysfunctional and poorly run organization. I feel it is my responsibility to warn donors and potential employees about the almost complete ineffectiveness of MADD. If the public understood the extent to which money is wasted in terms of overpaid personnel and a top heavy administration, I am certain it would make front page news and quickly shut down. I was truly excited to join their "team" when I first began working for them. Boy, was I in for a surprise! My very first week at work, I rec'd an email from a disgruntled employee who, as his last gesture before quitting, blasted the entire organization with his complaints. That was just a taste of what was to come. During my tenure, there was a minimum of one employee each week who either quit or was let go - at every level from upper management to admin assistants. The turnover was unbelievable! The morale was always low among employees. There are way too many overpaid mid-level "managers" who micro manage everything, including MADD volunteers! These are the same managers who treated my state's corporate donors like garbage, acting as if they come a dime a dozen. And these were donors who had given tens of thousands of dollars. The Underage Drinking component is completely ineffective, duplicated many times over by local programs in the different states, but MADD hangs onto this program because of the federal dollars. But here is the clincher: They run a first offenders program in which first offenders are mandated to pay a fee to attend, as part of their sentence. No problem with doing that - it's a great program. But, they use their volunteers to run the entire program - and the money DOES NOT STAY IN THEIR COMMUNITY - IT GOES TO THE NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS TO BE WASTED BY HIGH PAID "MANAGERS" WHO DO NOTHING TO ALLEVIATE DRUNK DRIVING. This is the "dirty little secret" that needs to get out to the public. Very poor model for running an effective non-profit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 24, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

I am a former employee at the MADD National office in Irving, TX. I worked in the finance department for MADD. There is no clear cut way to say this but MADD finance/accounting is a complete mess and it begins with poor leadership. The CFO, Accounting Manager, and Controller are all terrible leaders. I have worked for non-profits in the past, but I never saw a non-profit waste so much money like I saw with MADD. Almost every invoice that ran across my desk had "late fees" attached to it. The amount of late fees MADD paid out was ridiculous. Remember, this is your hard earned money that is being wasted on late fees. MADD accounting is terrible and it begins with its poor accounting leadership. The books never close on a monthly basis and not even the CFO knows where the company stands at any moment. Turnover in finance is high because of how poorly run the company is. MADD wasted $10,000 in recruitment fees for me and another employee and we both left the company in less than a year’s time because of how poorly run it is. Remember, this is your hard earned money being wasted. It irritates me to this day that MADD wasted so much money from victims donating money in the name of their loved ones. They also wasted tax payer dollars with stimulus grant money. MADD is a very wasteful non-profit with some questionable accounting practices. I could go on and on about what I saw during my time at MADD. It was that bad. Do not donate to MADD. Trust me!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was employed there. The entire experience was a nightmare.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We no longer need MADD. Most of their expenses are on salaries and very little goes to actual victim services. I would completely shut down this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What is unique about this organization?

Wasteful spending? Questionable accounting practices.

July 5, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 5, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

My 20-year old son was killed in April 2002 while leaving a party in a pasture in West Orange County, FL. The 18-year old driver, who had been drinking, ran him over and left the scene. The driver of the vehicle's BAC wasn't taken until 3 1/2 hours after my son's death; the driver's extrapolated BAC was .067. The driver had been on the phone with 911 when he ran my son over, and was clearly slurring his words. While my son had a designated driver that night, he still had been drinking and made a poor choice to walk back to that party. This was followed by the driver's choice to get behind the wheel after he had been drinking, run my son over and leave the scene. I refer to the events leading up to my son's death and the events that followed, as The Domino Effect of Poor Choices.

I contacted MADD right after Justin's death for support and direction. I left so many messages that I can't begin to tell you. I could tell by the questions coming from investigators that they were hesitant to press charges. I had no idea of what I was doing, but I put together my own plan of letter writing to the Governor, Florida Highway Patrol Investigators and the State Attorneys Office seeking justice for my son. I encouraged all friends and families to do the same. However, I was still a crying mess...a grieving mother who was dealing with the death of her first born; help my daughter deal with her only siblings death AND trying to come to terms with the fact that life would NEVER be the same. I finally got a call back from a nice woman with MADD several weeks later. We talked for abit and I asked for MADD's support. I was told by the MADD Representative that she thought I was doing a "fine job by myself." Really?!

I have no use for MADD, as when I needed them, they were no place to be found. Charges against the 18-year old driver were ultimately filed and dismissed because of a loophole in the Florida Statutes and this 18-year old walked away without consequence. In an effort to get some type of justice for my son, as well as the next family of a hit and run driver, I went on to change the Florida Law in his memory (The Justin McWilliams Act) and in July 2009 formed Parents Encouraging Confident Choices, a 501 (c)(3) Non-Profit Organization dedicated to the education of our young people on making confident and responsible choices. I go into middle schools and high schools and hold speaking events not only educating our young people on the dangers of underage drinking; drinking and driving; driving with an impaired driver and taking illegal substances...but also other poor choices that include prescription drug abuse; bullying; inappropriate use of the Internet/Cell Phone; texting while driving; sexting; street racing and car surfing.

Honestly, as the President and CEO of my own Non-Profit, and knowing how hard that I work ...I can not comprehend how the CEO of this Organization can in good faith and in good conscience take a paycheck for a quarter of a million dollars a year when his Organization stays in the red.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I wanted to experience all that I thought this organization had to offer. Unfortunately, I found they had nothing to offer me when I needed them most.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly, I would have to say clean house; replace the CEO and all board members. Anyone that would collect that type of paycheck, and those that would support an individual collecting that type of paycheck without results for many years, simply do not get it. It's time to go back to the basics of who MADD was, why it was formed and all that it did...before it didn't. I can assure you that if you lost a child due to an alcohol related crash...you would get it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

What is unique about this organization?

It was the most unique Organization of it's kind when it was originally formed. Everyone knew MADD ...saw MADD...and supported MADD. Then, it became more politically inclined...getting away from it's roots involving helping the victims and their families of alcohol related crashes. Of course when a company goes in a more politically motivated direction, they then require someone that is just as politically inclined in the top position.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers