Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12.8345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for several years, helping mainly with the Walk like Madd. When you sign up online they ask for all types of information that they do not need. I recruited family, friends and co workers and raised thousands of dollars for them. Only to find out that we were all being spammed incessantly by various MADD staff asking for more money. I called the national office and asked them to stop spamming everyone who I recruited. The women I talked to who said she was in charge of the Walks was snotty and she would see what she could do. We are all still being spammed! My friend who works for a very reputable charity told me that MADD has serious issues at the national level and is rate as a 1 star charity by Charity Navigator, and was give a "D" grade by the American Institute of Philanthropy. These ratings were due to poor financial management. They spend too much money on overhead and not enough on their mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change all the board members and the staff who make financial decisions. Stop spamming. Most people who use MADD's resources do not have the money or insurances to get these services elsewhere. The walks did make the survivors feel better and that their loved one was remembered and did not die in vain.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

It doesn't come as any surprise that MADD gets a one-star rating. While its intent is noble and worthy, it all boils down to MADD making money to pay the salaries and benefits of a very top heavy administration. It's certainly not used to assist well-trained volunteer advocates to do their job serving and advocating for victims and victim families of DUI. Volunteer advocate chapters are expected to BUY brochures and printed materials from MADD National headquarters to assist victims and raise public awareness. Year after year, we organized and ran MADD's signature Walk Like MADD fundraisers which garner thousands upon thousands of dollars in every community or region. Yet, we had to buy MADD materials for victims since all fundraising money goes directly to MADD National headquarters. If we're doing a community awareness program and want to hand out MADD brochures which include the victim services hotline number, we have to buy them. And then MADD wonders why we can't recruit and retain volunteer advocates. As for the organization itself, I agree with others that it's totally dysfunctional. One hand doesn't know what the other hand is doing. Only when we are fundraising, do we get any recognition. The revolving door of dedicated staff at the state and regional levels is enough to make our heads spin. They're not evaluated nor valued for their services in MADD's mission, only for the amount of money they can raise and forward to national headquarters. Year after year, it's the same thing despite the mounting complaints from lower echelon staff and volunteers. I volunteer for two other non-profits which value my time and dedication. Volunteers are brought together on a semi-annual basis so we can network our skill sets while meeting each other and know who's doing what. Both of those renown non-profits have longtime volunteers and no problem recruiting new volunteers. And lest I forget to mention, they have four-star ratings with Charity Navigator. Our MADD chapter slowly dissolved and MADD National doesn't even know it. I suspect they're simply re-cycling the number of victims we used to serve just to bolster their self-reported numbers for the current year's report. If you think MADD is serving victims as they report, I have a bridge to sell you. Simply put, they generate money to pay their own salaries and generous benefits. Trust Charity Navigator's one-star rating of MADD and donate to some other charity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

I've lost three friends in three different drunk driving crashes. MADD helped me get through those rough periods because I knew that I could make a difference in making sure that others would never have to go through what my friends' families and I went through.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012

more

August 10, 2012

I have volunteered with madd for 12 years now! I even met Candy L. personally thank God for her for starting madd. I am a 3 time victim of DUI CRASHES! and honestly I wish madd was around when my only sibling was killed in 1978. the volunteers are the heart AND backbone of madd, we give of ourselves daily. The only thing I would change is to require ALL paid staff to be victims / survivors of DUI Crashes so that they would have the same passion all the volunteers have. Candy L. began this with volunteers, victims, survivors, there was no paid staff for a while, yes this org. has grown, but I seriously think Candy should be CEO of madd, as she knows & understands the mission better than any of us ever could.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2010

more

April 9, 2010

I have been a member for over 20 years. They helped me through my own victim experience and have been both helpful and effective.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Eliminate drunk driving and say almost 12,000 lives per year.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers