Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
3 Reviews
123.6666745
Write A Review
March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

I used to work at MOCJ in a key position. I loved the patients their. They were like my family. The biggest problem at MOCJ is the owner of the facility, Joseph. He is a know it all, that is trying to get the cart before the horse. He keeps putting money into building. Rather then trying to grow he need to train staff to correct problems so that the facility will not get so many violations during surveys. He has excessive turn over in Administors because he will not let them manage the facility. IF you don't believe me you can see all of the surveys under the Virginia Dept. of Soc. Servs. web site. Last I heard state may be closing them. So check it out closely

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 4, 2011

more

February 4, 2011

Mother of Christ Julinoel has accepted me into their facility and they are friendly. They make sure that I know the schedule, they introduce me to the staff. They have activities most of the day from 10am to 3pm. When it is time for meals, they come around and remind us that it is time to eat. When I feel sad or homesick, the staff do their best to help me through it.

Recently, I was very ill. I had a stomach virus and my body functions were out of my control. I was ashamed and embarrassed, but Jennifer, a CNA, came in to take care of me after I pulled the call light switch. She reassured me when she was cleaning me up, as I had never been sick like that before. At a very embarrassing time and at my worst, she helped me clean myself up. She left my door open so she could hear me down the hall if I needed anything, and she came in and kept on checking on me.

I am glad that Jennifer was there for me. She helped me out in that situation, and I am so grateful to her. She is my hero.

At Mother of Christ Julinoel, the staff are sweet and cheerful. I suffer from depression, also. When the staff notices I am not myself, they go out of their way to do things to help me. They sit and talk and listen to me. Then they help me find a course of action to take. I have been through several hard times since I have been at Mother of Christ Julinoel, but I know these people care deeply and have the clients at the top of the list of priorities.

Mother of Christ Julinoel advocates for me with doctors, helping me in my journey of recovery from mental illness. It doesn't just happen overnight that you are "all better", and sometimes I relapse back into the behaviors of the illness. They keep me "grounded", helping to keep me focused on steps I should be taking to get well. Even though there are about sixty other people here, they make me feel like I am the only person in the facility.

I am glad that the staff and administration are so meticulous to detail and help you before things become extreme and very difficult to "fix" and make it right. I would not want to live anywhere else. Mother of Christ Julinoel is my home.

I love you, staff and administration of Mother of Christ Julinoel

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

advocating for the help I need so I don't get too stressed out and overwhelmed. Getting the disability paperwork going for me and talking to the disability folks on the telephone. I have anxiety and I find it hard to talk to authority figures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a greenhouse and hydroponic agriculture so that all residents are able to participate in growing their own food. Father Joseph Ekweariri is keenly tuned to the needs of the residents and is truly dedicated to make things happen for the facility.

January 13, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
January 13, 2011

I live at Mother of Christ Julinoel (MOCJ). MOCJ is an assisted living facility that serves the mentally ill, frail, disadvantaged, and elderly consumers. Here is my story:

My name is Sharon and I moved to Virginia in January of 2009. I felt like I came home. The mountains are so
beautiful, and the people are so nice and sweet. In February 2009, I was admitted to the psychiatric hospital for 7 days. That was when I was diagnosed with major depressive disorder, borderline personality disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, schizophrenia, generalized anxiety disorder, social anxiety disorder, and psychotic effects to my depression. MOCJ has saved my life. I will always be thankful for that. But, they cannot survive on good wishes alone, and I wish I could help them the way they helped me.

I am a Veteran, I served during peacetime (1980 - 1983). Because I did not serve one day in wartime, I do not receive any benefits. I have not worked since 2008 when I had non-specific abdominal pain.

In April, 2009, my whole world fell apart. I went to the psychiatric hospital for a second time and stayed 14 days. During that time, I lost everything, I had only the clothes on my back. I became homeless.

My family was gone, I was all alone, and I was homeless. I found a shelter in Norton Virginia. Since I had no income (a fact that hasn't changed), I just existed, day by day. In May 2009, the final nail was put in the coffin that used to be my life. I went to the psychatric hospital again. The situation was perilous. I was homeless for a year.

I was sent to the State Hospital because I had behaviors that were not good, and bad things were happening. When I got out of the hospital, I was sent to another shelter. I was in that shelter for three days when I was asked how I felt about an assisted living facility. I told the young lady that was my request when I was in the hospital. I had a very difficult medication regimen that I was always getting confused because of the amount of medication I was supposed to take. I was also not eating or sleeping.

She put in a call to Mother of Christ Julinoel. I was sure they would not admit me because I have no income. To my surprise, they asked me to get a physical and a TB test. In March 2010, I moved into Mother of Christ Julinoel.

Mother of Christ Julinoel gave me a gift I never dreamt of. They gave me a roof over my head, they put food in my belly, and I have a nice warm bed to sleep in. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. I became close to several staff members.

The staff was advised of my depression with suicidal thoughts, and they put me on watch. They made themselves available to me anytime I needed to talk. They gave me plenty of hugs, and they helped me see that I am not such a bad person.

Father Joseph is the Founder and CEO of MOCJ. He wishes to start several programs for the residents, so to keep their minds sharp. Father Joseph proposes to have a computer room (computers have been donated). The next thing he would like to accomplish is to start a Hydroponics program. He said the fruits and vegetables grown there could feed the local school and the soup kitchens.

MOCJ staff helped me adjust to assisted living. The food is delicious. They have books, TV, games, puzzles, and arts and crafts to keep people. I know for every story like mine, there are ten that go bad. I love this facility, and I really hope it stays open. Please help me. Please give generously of your time, materials and skills.

I am not only a volunteer for MOCJ, but I am a resident as well. I thank God above for giving me talent so I can turn it into skill. I do try to learn from my mistakes. And MOCJ is there to lift me up. Thank you staff and God bless us all, everyone

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was homeless without any income, and they accepted me regardless. It took a long time for them to keep saying this until I got it: "We will never tell you to go, you can stay as long as you like".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Support Father Joseph's plan for Hydroponics, and do the best I can to get a sponsor

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers