Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.89135
Write A Review
February 12, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 12, 2011

Mosaic Alum (97-2001)
Mosaic was a life changing experience, I've made life long friends and it taught me many life lessons that I carry with me today. Mosaic empowers young people to reach for their full potential which can be carried over to adulthood. I learned that there isn't room for
mediocrity and whenever I'm committed to something be it a job, a performance, or school I should always give my all. I will never forget my mosaic experience, it's a Gem in the city of Detroit. Mosaic isn't just a typical theater program, but a life changing experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in my adulthood. I was prepared to become a music major, and I came into undergrad knowing about performance and technique.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe do a popular show to close the season every once in a while.

February 12, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 12, 2011

I am a Mosaic alum (96-98). Mosaic helped me to develop focus, a greater work ethic, and self esteem that I desperately needed at that time. I credit my Mosaic experience with my success as an adult. I was not a troubled youth by any means, but I don't think I realized my full potential until I joined Mosaic. I don't work in the performing arts, but I still use the skills and traits that I learned in Mosaic to help me to be successful in my corporate job. Whenever I'm having a bad day, I always remind myself to "focus up" and to accept "only the best, nothing less" from myself.
Mosaic is a wonderful organization that has done so much for so many kids from different backgrounds. I cherish the memories and lifelong friendships that I made over those two years.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I came to Mosaic with a love of theater, but very low self esteem. Mosaic instilled in me that hard work can get you where you want to go. Through the training and experience that I received at Mosaic, my self esteem skyrocketed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am rather far removed from them now, so I'm not sure I'm qualified to make any recommendations for change. I only wish that Mosaic could get even more exposure so that they can help more kids realize their dreams.

February 7, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 7, 2011

Mosaic Youth Theatre of Detroit has worked with the Head Start program with which I am employed for three years. The staff and youth participants of Mosaic have planned and implemented a series of interactive workshops for the older siblings of Head Start children and their parents.

Mosaic was sensitive and responsive to our needs in developing the workshops for an ethnically and linguistically diverse group of parents and youth.

I was very impressed by Mosaic staff's efforts to understand the HighScope approach to early childhood education. Significant teaching strategies relevant to HighScope were embedded in the workshop activities that were utilized with Head Start families.

Staff were flexible in modifying and individualizing their approach to workshop facilitation to make the experience relevant to youth and parents. They were respectful of Head Start participants who were limited in their verbal English language skills. I witnessed parents who began the series interacting only through smiles and conclude the series by verbally expressing their personal feelings and perspectives with confidence to the total group of participants.

Mosaic conducted workshops that "brought out" youth. Parents reported that they witnessed their son or daughter grow and mature as a result of their experience with Mosaic. Youth who began the series very hesitant to speak up in a group went on to participate in leading roles in their school plays and stage productions. For many of our Head Start youth, the Mosaic experience was life changing.

Mosaic's youthful singing and acting troupe members that participated in the workshop series acted as positive role models for Head Start youth. Several of the Head Start youth pursued involvement in Mosaic following the conclusion of the workshop series.

It is apparent that Mosaic is committed to its mission to empower young people to maximize their potential. I witnessed their tireless pursuit to maximize the development of Head Start youth.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It was personally rewarding to see how youth matured through their participation in the workshop series conducted by Mosaic Youth Theatre.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I see a need to groom more of the Mosaic youth participants for leadership positions within the organizations.

February 5, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 5, 2011

Mosaic Youth Theater and it's programs for young performers is amazing and is creating excellence though it's work with children and young adults.
My 9yr old daughter attended Mosiac's summer program. I had high expections going in, having seen Mosaic's outstanding teen performers at 2
other venues; yet the summer program still exceeded my expectations.
During the program, my daughter was excited every day to learn the beginnings of ensemble performance and eargerly shared her experience daily. In only 3 weeks she and her camp mates put on a wonderful play to exhibit what they had learned. The staff was patient, concerned, interactive, engaging, supportive and well-trained on the needs of their youngest level participants.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I attended the required parent meeting before the camp began which outlined a well-thought out and defined strategy for engaging the children and parents. The staff demonstrated committment to the tenants of the program and excitement for ensuring the artistic, social and psychological development of the whole child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the programs offerings for small children. This is where they are currently planting positive, perhaps, life altering seeds in these children.

February 4, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2011

As a former member of Mosaic I understand how the FREE training they provide impacts the lives of youth in the Metro-Detroit area. I not only gained valuable theatrical experince, but the techniques I learned (such as memorization and speaking from my diaphragm) have helped me in just about every aspect of my life. I proudly support all they do and am glad to see their great work continue!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

too many ways to count. An easy benefit to state is that it gave me something productive to do with my time, which led to a major production being performed; as opposed to spending my time engaging in other activites that could have been damaging to my future and society as a whole (which would have been easy to do in Detroit).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

accept everyone who auditions; although they probably do not have the resources for it. However, they offer additional classes. I was told that they do not turn anyone away. Youth who are not accepted into the main ensembles are recommended for one of the classes. If true, that is great; but I would place everyone who auditions in the main ensemble so they can receive the same great experience I had as an ensemble member! Also, the return of the technical component would be great as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

I do not remember how I first heard about Mosaic, but a former member told me about the auditions.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Wow, where do I begin? Mosaic gave me a true appreciation of good theatre; but more importantly, we contributed to the writing of the initial production of heartBEAT. The play is basically about the struggle between Love & Hate. Participating in that process has helped me deal with those emotions throughout my life. I was also fortunate to see the musical Rent for this first time through Mosaic (because I was old enough to handle the themes and issues); which taught me that (sometimes) there is "no day but today", and is something I carry with me throughout my daily life.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 4, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2011

Mosaic is an excellent organization for the development of young talented youth in and around the Detroit area, My son was in Mosaic for several years. What he learned there helped him to develope his acting and singing talent and go on to travel the world with many touring companies. My granddaughter is now a member and she loves the friendships, the acting and singing skills that she has been able to develope there. This is a very positive group for our youth and should be supported.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Training given to my son and granddaughter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything, but I would get them more funding so they could serve more youth.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers