Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 30, 2013

more

May 30, 2013

I have had two children, and this fall, 2013, will have all three of my children attending MISP. Tim and Alice apply child development prinicples with the needs their generation will face in college and the workforce; those of critical thinking, problem solving, teamwork, independence, and reflection. The school grows every year to now include foreign language and art. I highly recommend this school for any parent or student seeking education and not a college prep or 'teaching to the test' designed curriculum. MISP is a true non-secular jr. and senior high that refreshingly strays from the traditional choice between public or religious based Omaha schools, making this a jewel for a growing city like Omaha.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Though the parent body is not currently well organized, I envision this too will develop in the near future to become a strong school support and informative body. (I don't understand the intent or meaning of the survey question 'how would you describe the help you got from this organization' and so did not answer....)

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

My son attends MISP and we couldn't be happier! Entry to middle school is often challenging for students, but the teachers and students at MISP are wonderful and have made the transition to secondary school effortless. The teachers differentiate for the needs of each and every student, make them feel welcome, and have created an amazing community of learners. The curriculum is challenging and motivating, with connections to life-long learning. The students have pride and ownership in their school and will be beyond prepared for life after high school. I highly recommend MISP!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

more

April 29, 2013

Both my children have had the benefit of being taught by the teachers at MISP. The impact that this school makes on the kids that attend is immeasurable. They are given an education that while focusing on their skills and interest demands that students understand the influence they have within the community and world. MISP creates an environment for young adults to look beyond themselves and make positive moves to serve others. I think that this environment brings out the best in the students and helps create people that will positively impact their communities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

So many of our kids say school is "boring!" MISP is not...because it challenges every kid to use his/her natural talents to their best possible use. It is hopefully the wave of the future. Having outstanding teacher/facilitators is why MISP is so vital.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

My son has attended MISP for several years. It has been an amazing experience for him. The teaching is beyond anything I have seen in public schools (with any of my three kids). The curriculum is incredible, and they somehow do amazing work with students of all different levels and abilities. My son is challenged, continues to learn to be more creative, loves to argue about issues (something I attribute to the school and the work they do in teaching students how to dissect issues and arguments). He will definitely be ready for College. After dealing with [good] schools in the public school system in Omaha and environs for over 14 years, I have been very pleased with MISP. My only wish is that we had found it earlier! After experiencing it, I cannot imagine why a parent would put their kids in public school. I am a University professor, and so have a good idea of what the output of the K-12 system should be - and MISP education fills the bill.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

This was my son's first year at MISP--actually, at any school--we homeschooled until this year. I was nervous about the transition, but as soon as I met the teachers and toured the school, I knew MISP was where my son should be. The teachers respect the students--that is evident from the emails I receive and the interactions I observe. The students have freedom within framework: they are free to make choices, mess up, figure out what works and what doesn't. They are learning HOW to learn. I am thrilled that my son has the opportunity to attend this Montessori high school, to develop relationships with all the great students, and receive guidance from our dedicated teachers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

My son is a student at Montessori International School of the Plains and we couldn't be happier. We have experience in montessori; both in public school as well as private and moving into the junior high/high school years with Montessori has been a great decision for us. MISP's strengths are the teachers. They have years of experience teaching Montessori students as well as gifted and special education. They allow the children to think for themselves and celebrate differences instead of trying to make each child fit into the same box. They learn to think at a deeper level than straight memorizing and cramming for tests and have also learned many life skills. The best thing is that my son LOVES school and loves learning. He is excited to go each day and we have no stress at our house to finish random projects full of busy work. Their goal is on learning; not teaching to a test and the kids are thriving. I highly recommend this school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

I am so excited about Montessori International School of the Plains. My son started attending this year. The teachers are EXCELLENT . They are creative in helping the kids explore their strengths and interests. Montessori provides so many different activities for them to learn and grow. I love that my son also has the ability to learn from some of the older individuals in the community and encouarage those younger than himself. I am thankful for so many things this school provides.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

MISP has given my son positive opportunities that no public school could even come close to providing. Public school was a stifling oppressive experience for him. He has become an independent, broad minded thinker! His creativity was encouraged, rather than muted and killed! He's becoming a confident, empathetic, happy young man.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers