Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.914895
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I reached out to MomsBloom after having twins. It was the best thing I ever did. Not only did they send the perfect volunteer to help with the babies, but it was so great knowing that on Tuesday morning I would have someone here to listen and chat with me, feed a baby, and I usually made lunch for us. I am so thankful for all the work they do and can't wait until I have the time to volunteer and help changes somebodies day (I'll have 3 kids 17mo and under come Dec, so it might be a while ;)
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I enjoy working with MomsBloom as a volunteer for the thrill of watching a family grow in their comfort and confidence with each other. I appreciate the strength it takes to reach out for help and accept what is offered by a volunteer in your home. I am thankful they allow me to be a part of this chapter in their life.
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I'm so honored to participate as Family Coordinator for MomsBloom because I work with courageous families reaching out for support and get to experience the life-changing role of our volunteers on a regular basis. In MomsBloom everybody wins. The families who reach out for support are able to feel the love and care from their community as they invite a volunteer to help them through the transitional period following a new baby's arrival. The support is offered at no cost to families and our programs service families in every socio-economic sector of West Michigan. Our volunteers also "win" because their skills at compassion, active listening, practical hands-on help and networking make an immediate difference in the lives of new moms. This caring partnership often lends itself to lifelong friendships beyond the MomsBloom window of support. And this program serves hundreds of local families each year with very minimal overhead cost. I think every community would benefit from adopting this new take on building extended family.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

Thank you for all you do for our community and your tireless efforts to support mothers and their families! more

October 30, 2013

My involvement with MomsBloom began about 3.5 years ago. As a Clinical Mental Health Therapist, I was grateful for this non-profit that was accessible to all families to support them during the newborn phase. They have created a beautiful model for offering extended family-like support in our moderns times when families are not always so close together or able to support post-partum families as we did years ago.

Additionally, MomsBloom has been vital in raising awareness locally and nationally about Post-Partum Depression and other Perinatal Mood Disorders and Adjustment Disorders. Cameron's Garden is also providing supportive volunteers to family that experience perinatal loss and infant loss.

I have volunteered with MomsBloom in the past and joined the board in January 2013. It has been a great honor to be a part of the organization in this capacity and work to developing an alliance with BRAINS, where they will be taking residence.

The clients I provide therapy to have found their weekly to biweekly volunteers to be invaluable to remaining connected, probably one of the greatest gifts we can give any new parent - someone who they can connect to. Isolation is one of the hardest things both new mothers and fathers can feel after having a new baby. MomsBloom fills a gap that simply cannot be filled by any other resource in our community. It's wisdom from the past, the idea that it takes a village, provided to all, but especially families that may not qualify for extra services from some of our other great community resources. There are so many moms that don't feel like they deserve this extra special care....while its an extra special service in our community....Moms, you deserve it! To be nurtured means you will increase your ability to nurture your baby with less stress and deeper compassion for yourself. This gives your baby a beautiful transition into the world, and yourself a beautiful and transformational transition into motherhood (even if it's your 5th time!)

It is my sincere hope that for the greater good, MomsBloom's unique and passionate vision will continue to grow and reach more and more families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

Thank you for all you do for our community and your tireless efforts to support mothers and their families!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am involved in the work of MomsBloom in several different capacities, but the most rewarding has been my role as a Volunteer. I have had the honor of helping a new mother get back on her feet after nearly dying from the birth of her twins. I have also gotten to experience (from an outsider's viewpoint) the pleasure of watching a couple turn into a family before my eyes! What an inspiration. The twins have grown and changed so much, and knowing that I played a part in the health and well-being of this family is endlessly rewarding. Great experience all-around!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate more money so that they can help even more mothers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 8, 2012

I am a certified postpartum doula and a mother. I also have volunteered for MomsBloom and helped found this organization. This organization has so much heart! The volunteers that we work with go ab... more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I remain connected to MomsBloom as a volunteer because I have seen first hand the difference that we make as volunteers. I have heard the relief in a mother's voice when she knows help is on the way during an overwhelming and difficult time. It is an honor to be a part of an organization that does so much to get families off to a strong start!

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a certified postpartum doula and a mother. I also have volunteered for MomsBloom and helped found this organization. This organization has so much heart! The volunteers that we work with go above and beyond every day. Recently I have witnessed volunteers providing a listening ear, accompanying a mother to a doctor's appointment, helping out after a baby's heart surgery and cancer diagnosis, assisting a mother during severe postpartum depression, helping a family get ready to move to a new country, assisting a mother struggling with breastfeeding, and encouraging a mother to listen and trust her heart and instinct. I could go on and on! This type of support connects us as a community and supports the foundation that holds us together. I am proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

MomsBloom is a grass roots organization committed to supporting moms and dads so they can be better parents to their children. They helped me while my mom was dying of cancer and I had a new born baby along with a husband that travels and a two year old. I couldn't have done it without them. I am so proud of MomsBloom. They offer their services for free making this a something that everyone can be apart of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

MomsBloom fills a gap in our community by providing supportive services to families at no cost. The post-partum period is challenging for most mothers and families. MomsBloom provides non-judgemental, empathic services, led by trained volunteers who are passionate about serving mothers in order to assit the whole family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lotto so I could help provide more funding!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love volunteering for MomsBloom, it is so rewarding to meet the families & spend time with them. They are all so thankful for any help.
And I love the extra baby time I get and getting to meet the families.
I advise anyone who has a couple extra hours a week to volunteer, you will never
be the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

MomsBloom is an amazing organization that helps to bring awareness and education to our community surrounding post-partum depression. MomsBloom has been tirelessly working to break down the stigma of perinatal mood disorders, and helping families to embrace the support to help them through the challenging season of early parenting. Through the use of qualified and compassionate volunteers MomsBloom is helping families everyday feel empowered and confident as they care for their growing families. As a nurse and childbirth educator I never hesitate to refer my couples to the wonderful services they will receive when reaching out to MomsBloom.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the funding to reach out to more communities in West Michigan.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Emotionally and physically support a family with a newborn and help them to get off to a great start. Volunteer