Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.534885
Write A Review
February 10, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

So sad. TMN chose to shut down the very active Baltimore site due to what they called negativity. In reality, we were simply responding to TMNs request for feedback on their new website. We were told our site would be closing on the 15th of February. The following day, February 6th, the site was closed without warning. There was no contact made to members to let them know this was happening. Simply gone. Here is the information Sarah, one of TMN's leaders, posted on February 5th in a forum on the Baltimore site:
Closing of BaltimoreMommies
It is with sadness that we let you know that the BaltimoreMommies chapter will be closing as of February 15, 2015. We have noticed an increasing amount of negativity on the chapter which has impacted the way The Mommies Network is able to support the moms of Baltimore. In order to refocus on our mission and become a true source of support and empowerment, we will be closing the site, taking a step back, and looking at the best way to develop a supportive and positive TMN chapter in the Baltimore area. We are truly saddened that it has come to such a drastic measure. We do have the National Chapter that can offer support for our members after the closure. We apologize for any inconvenience but at this time we feel that there are no other alternatives.

Here's the link:
http://baltimore.themommiesnetwork.org/forum/mommy-forum/mommy-forum/closing-baltimoremommies
February 10, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

WARNING: Do not donate your hard-earned money to this corrupt organization. TMN, with Heather Fortune at the helm, abruptly killed the very active Baltimore Chapter last week. There were active posts, events on the calendar, private messages to be read.... But TMN displayed total disregard for any of this. Why? That is unclear. Some say it was because of polite, yet critical feedback that was posted regarding the dysfunctional operation of the new website. (This feedback was requested by TMN.) Others say that Heather Fortune had planned to kill the Baltimore Chapter for a long time due to a personal vendetta. But it is hard to know for sure because they have offered no public explanation or apology to the hundreds of disbanded members and volunteers. They then proceeded to shut off every available avenue of communication. They are hoping that the anonymity of the internet will allow them to hide their indefensible actions. Don't be fooled by the polished website and the pretty pictures. The people behind this organization are dishonest, draconian and unprofessional.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Mommies Network is amazing. I have went to a couple events and I think it is a great way to get the local mothers together. It helps so much being able to relate to other moms who are looking for someone to relate to!
October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Mommies Network is an amazing network of moms. With the local chapter and the national chapter they have helped me so much in the 8 years I have been affiliated with them. I no longer feel alone in this journey of motherhood. I have formed relationships with other moms, my children have made friends and I feel so much better knowing I have a place to turn when I am feeling alone and uncertain about how I am doing as a mother.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

My local chapter helped me make great connections when I moved into a new community, away from all I knew! Now it is helping me develop my leadership skills and make a greater impact in my community.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Great group and a great way to connect with other mothers.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I am so grateful to be apart of the Mommies Network. TMN has been very easy to work with and helpful whenever my chapter needs something. I love being a volunteer and member of this amazing organization!
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Thank goodness for the Mommies Network. I am a military spouse and mommy who has to move every few years. Luckily, with this move I found a local chapter of the Mommies Network that has connected my son and I to other kids and moms in our area. It is always hard trying to find new friends and activities in a new location, so the mommies network has made that a lot easier for me. I like the group so much that I volunteer as a moderator for one of their online support forums.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure there is a chapter wherever we move next.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I joined my local branch of The Mommies Network (TMN) a few weeks after my daughter was born because I had questions about her not eating. My cousin had joined a few weeks earlier and recommended me to this group saying they were all very sweet and a lot of them were very empathetic and were in the same boat at one point or another. I joined and attended a few events, they hold holiday events, mommies night outs, playdates and other activities with your little one. My favorite thing about these forums though, is it gives me the oppoutunity to converse and connect with so many other mothers on a number of topics and hobbies. I feel like I have my own support system in TMN and I feel like I have grown as a mother being a part of this awesome community.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

When I became a stay-at-home mom in the spring of 2013, I panicked when I realized how alone I was. Finding the Mommies Network connected me to real women in my geographic area, giving me a sounding board and an in-person support system. The play dates and activities keep my daughter and I busy, engaged, and happy! And the online forums offer a wealth of knowledge from hundreds of moms - on a range of parenting topics, as well as local happenings, culture, running a household, and more. I'm thankful to have found this group to connect me to moms in my community.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers