Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.590915
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Do not give your money or time to this organization.

This organization is badly managed and is very shady in their practices. It is difficult to imagine the financials and nonprofit status would stand up to scrutiny.

The basic concept is a good idea, and members who get some
benefit from it, go ahead and take advantage while it lasts. But do not ever give it your money or your precious time. Know that anything you give to this organization will ultimately be wasted.

I dearly wish I could somehow get back the time I gave to this place. It is genuinely painful for me when I think of the amount of my life that just drained away. Please, please don't make the mistake I made!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Anyone who is volunteering or spending large amounts of time, my advice would be to stop now. Get up, walk away, and enjoy the results. Do not let it suck your life away.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013

more

August 2, 2013

I joined my now local chapter when getting orders to PCS. With them letting me join prior to my move I already had friends, felt networked, found providers, and so much more. After moving my local chapter literally saved my life, if it were for the friends I had made and them being there for me to talk to I may not be here today. So after that I knew that I wanted to dedicate what I could when I could to this organization and have done so ever since and will continue to do so, so long as they are still alive and thriving. Right now I am unable to volunteer due to school, kids, and life basically but I still enjoy every minute of being a member and sharing with my friends and meeting new ones.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Really make sure that EVERYONE is supporting the mission and being the type of member/volunteer that is in the mission statement. Be thankful for the people who love and want to volunteer even if there are differences of opinions or actions, they could still be a great benefit to the company. No volunteer should ever be turned down when there is an open position, a willingness, and the passion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The financials are inaccurate. The non-profit consistently neglects to receive approval to fundraise in the states it serves. The board of directors is not independent and does not accept any kind of criticism. When I asked for financial statements, I was told that they would give them to me in 30 days and then was fired from my volunteer position. Most members are unaware of these financial issues. On the chapter level, often leadership are allowed to hold onto their positions long after they are able to fulfill their function and are able hold a chapter together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the "Queen Mum". Require chapter managers to step down after a 6-12 month term.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I love the Mommies Network! When my husbands job transferred us out of NY and away from all my family I felt totally lost! After a month of just adjusting to being away I decided I needed something for myself or I was gonna go stir crazy and never get over the depression. I was so thankful to have a local chapter of the mommies network close by! I made tons of friends and they kept me sane. And encouraged me to grow as a person and put myself out there. Im thankful for the mom and person they helped me become!! Thank You!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

My life has changed since that first day in 2007 when I joined The Mommies Network. The friendships that I have formed have been such a blessing to myself and my family. The support of such wonderful women that seem to always be there even when times are tough is just priceless. Communities across our country are growing so much better because a couple of moms had a dream and created the network know today as The Mommies Network, we are living that dream now!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

This support network is absolutely amazing. I don't know what I would have done if I had never found this network. I was a young new mom who went from single party fresh 21 year old to being pregnant, gaining a step daughter, getting pregnant 4 months after having my child, and gaining another step child who wasn't around in the beginning. So in about 2 year I went from no kids to 4 kids. I wouldn't have remained sane without the support of the other mom's in this network. I love this network and I will recommend it to any mom looking for support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

It's my family away from family. They are sure to be there at any time of the day or night (yes, even at 2am) and always willing to lend an ear, a "go get 'em" cheer or a hug. Laughter is always in abundance and making friendships are effortless. In a world where Moms are judged at every turn, the safe and secure site that The Mommies Network offers us is unbeatable. It's like that comfy, old sweatshirt that you slip on to feel the most relaxed. Judgments are checked at the door and we're just Moms trying to stay afloat on this rapid river of parenting. There's a bond unlike any other here with amazing, diverse, strong and supportive women and mommies. We ARE family through and through, the only difference is that we chose one another!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2011

more

November 1, 2011

Finding friendships in the members of my local chapter was truly a blessing when my daughter was born and I was left in an awkward lurch with pre-baby friends. I have laughed, cried, celebrated, and grieved with the amazing women that make up my chapter and I am proud to be a part of The Mommies Network. The more years I spend as a member of HighCountryMommies.com, a volunteer staff member for The Mommies Network, and now a member of the national site, the more I grow to love this organization for all of the possibilities that set forth for their membership. Bravo to The Mommies Network!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own hometown.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spread the word about the great works of The Mommies Network to the local site levels more often

October 31, 2011

more

October 31, 2011

I joined my local chapter (LittleRockMommies) in January of 2010 and was immediately amazed at what a great volunteer opportunity this is! I always knew if I was lucky enough to be a stay-at-home mom that I would want to volunteer to somehow give back to my community ... I just thought I'd have to wait until my kids were in school full-time. I love that I can do this fantastically rewarding job while my kiddo are still little (they're 2 and 4)!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My feeling like I'm not alone. That other mothers are going through the exact same struggles I am.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase project-management communication on the national level.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I'm learning many new computer skills, as well and management/people skills. I've also made so many new friends!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I have a purpose.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2011

more

October 28, 2011

I joined my local chapter when my daughter, now 4, was only 2 months old. I had zero friends and my kids had zero friends. Now, I have more friends than I can count, and my kids do too! I've found a wonderful place for support and advice. I don't know what I'd do without the Mommies Network!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The friendships I've made and the support I've received.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the way funding is done.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers