Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.98635
Write A Review
October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son is a junior in high school and had extreme difficulty in his chemistry class. He just couldn't learn from the teacher and was failing. He called me at lunch from school three days ago, Tuesday, ready to give up, sure that he would fail the class. He felt dumb and humiliated, and worried that he might not be able to graduate high school. His grades were suffering also due to missing several days of school and his ADD.

We called Momentum tutoring that same day, signed up the same night and our son was tutored the next two days, Wednesday and Thursday. On Friday, he took a chemistry test and scored 100%, with 5 extra credit points. He understood the material, after being lost for six weeks! The teacher told the entire class his score, and it was amazing! He also got a B plus on his algebra 2 test,(up from a D on the first test) and had studied so well for his geography test that he aced the test and filled up the back page with extra credit information...

It seems like a miracle to go from an F to an A in two days... but it happened. Lets see how he does for the long haul. His confidence went from zero to fifty in two days. thanks so much Bree! Terri spent lots of time on the phone with us finding the most appropriate tutors, and we are so appreciative. WE can't thank you enough, and will surely bring our younger son in as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to bring in donations from the community, and do fund raising so their services could be given to those who are unable to pay, improve equipment, and expand the program. I told our school councelor about Momentum and hope she spreads the word.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer with Momentum Tutoring I have had a wonderful experience! All the employees/employers did a fantastic job training and helping me adjust to the job, they helped me through every step of the way with great kindness and understanding. At this job I feel like a part of a team that truly cares about what they are doing and how they are doing it. I don't have a single bad word to say about Momentum Tutoring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Both of my daughters have been working with Terri and her team for almost two years now at Momentum Tutoring. One of my daughters has ADHD and has struggled in school and with her confidence in school. She has worked one on one with Terri and I have seen a huge difference. Terri treats each child as an individual and tailors how she works with each child to bring out the best in them.
This summer my daugher attended Momentum Tutoring Ripley's Believe it or Not summer camp. The camp was amazing. My daugther was so excited to attend each day that she wanted to get there early! That was a huge change in her. She learned a lot over the summer in camp and kept her skills up. It made going back to school easier for her this year. We are really excited about all of the changes that Momentum has made in my daughers school performance and look forward to working with Terri and her team for years to come. I highly recommend Momentum.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Terri and her team put on a first class summer camp with an inspiring and captivating theme of Ripleys Believe It or Not. My 12-yr old girl and 10-yr old boy both attended this three week camp and I cannot express how impressed and appreciative I am for Terri and her team! As I flipped thru the work and evaluations (the workbooks the kids brought home), I was thankful and reassured in my decision to enroll them in this camp. I could clearly see the improvement in their work and their behavior over the three weeks and it's not often you, as a parent, are handed actual proof in your hands that a camp was worth the cost and effort! And the art contest with pictures in the local media was the cherry on top! The kids were so inspired and enjoyed that event so much! Thank you, Terri & Team :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2013

more

July 4, 2013

My second grade son was getting 40-50% on his math tests. A month after sending him to Momentum, he earned a 98% on the Santee School District Math Test! We were so excited, Nathan loved going to tutoring and excelled the rest of the year. He really enjoyed his tutor, Angelo, and looked forward to attending tutoring every Monday and Wednesday. He will attend Momentum again, it is cost effective, especially since we don't have to have too many 'homework fights'!--Marianne

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to thank Momentum Tutoring for assisting our son with his high school Algebra and matching him up with an amazing college student who could relate to him. Our son really enjoyed working with his tutor and gained so much confidence. With the assistance of his tutor, our son has raised his Algebra grade from a D- to a B+ within a 2 month period. We are thrilled with the progress that he has made at Momentum Tutoring. Our son said that his tutor has helped to explain and teach him the Algebra in a way that he has been able to understand it and he "gets" it now. We can't thank you enough. We will definitely refer you to all of our family and friends can't thank you enough for providing a wonderful service. Many, many, thanks,

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

our sophomore attended Momentum Tutoring for part of April and May 2013 to catch up her skills in Algebra 1 as she had recently transferred from another state and was a bit behind. The tutoring has helped her catch up and build confidence and she doesn't need tutoring for the rest of the year. She is open to attending in the fall when Junior level Geometry starts. Momentum Tutoring office on Cuyamaca was friendly and helpful, and an affordable helpful alternative. We are very pleased with this experience, thank you!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

Her tests improved dramatically within the first two sessions. What they taught her was how to take a test which you do not learn in school. The information was already in her, but she did not know how to use it until now. Without Dani, her tutor, who has really gotten my child to blossom in school, we would have had a horrible school year. I recommend that if you are not sure, try it out for a few sessions, you will see a change that will make you wish you had started sooner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our son has attended Momentum Tutoring daily after school for about 3 years now. We have seen our child go from high anxiety and unsure of himself to confident and outgoing. Momentum helped establish a new foundation for our sons education. The staff has a genuine desire to promote learning and they do it in a way that is fun. Momentum is a true partner in our sons education and we feel blessed to be a part of the Momentum family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter started Momentum Tutoring a year ago for Spanish. She immediately did better on her next test. We were so happy with their support that we now have our 2 (3rd and 7th grade) boys getting tutoring support. They do a great job of teaching the skills necessary to improve in school. The teachers have also commented on how much better the boys homework and classwork has been.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers