Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.98635
Write A Review
October 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of watching Momentum blossom over the past 6+ years, improving the lives of hundreds of students in and outside of the Santee School District. I have loved and cherished every moment I have spent at Momentum working with the kids. Momentum creates a positive, fun learning environment that students enjoy coming to. The amazing staff makes it so students look forward to their tutoring sessions because of the great relationships they have with their tutors. Terri, the founder of Momentum, is a beam of positive energy and compassion. She is the heart and sole of this organization, making sure that the students always come first. I cannot say enough great things about Momentum. I recommend any parent whose child is struggling in school give Momentum a call; the only thing you will regret is having not called sooner.
October 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Momentum is a god send, simply put. The help the staff caters to students is out of this world. As a parent, working a full time job, school work is a chore that is dreaded at the end of the day. Momentum provides a wonderfully positive environment that facilitates young blossoming minds. Momentum is worth their weight in gold! Thank you Terri and staff!
September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Terri the owner of Momentum is one of a kind!! I am so grateful for all that she is doing to help my daughter and all of the students that come to Momentum! She has selected a wonderful and patient group of tutors who all go the extra mile to help each and every student that walk through their doors. There is only positive energy that comes from Momentum and we are so happy to be a part of this awesome family! Thank you again for EVERYTHING you do for your students!!
July 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Terri and her staff are amazing.
I love the homework clinic right after school on the premises of Carlton Oaks, it makes it so much easier to get Cindy's homework done. Also the tutoring at the main center is great. Cindy loves going to Momentum Tutoring and doesn't see it as work, it is fun to
her.
She has improved so much with her reading and math, and understands it more.
This is the first year Cindy attended the summer camp, and just loves it.
We are adding an extra week, she enjoyed it so much.
Terri is so caring, she has the children's best interest at heart.
Thank you Momentum Tutoring.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My son was struggling with reading comprehension. After seeing Bianca for about a month 2 times a week his AR grades began to go up. He now understands what he is reading and has learned how to summarize what he has read. Bianca is great with my son. She takes the time to get to know her students and helps them pick books that will help them succeed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I would like to thank Terri and her staff they are always helpful. I'm a single father and its great to have Momentum close to my daughter Brooklyn's school. Since she is young they come over to the school and pick Brooklyn up. If it wasn't for my neighbor Jennifer and her girls I wouldn't have known about Momentum, both her girls go there and love it. I want to specially thank Bianca she has worked with my daughter from the start and it has helped schooling and confidence. Brooklyn will be there next year.
I would recommend Momentum to anyone with kids, its Great!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I wanted to give a huge shoutout to Ms Lani and the rest of the staff at Momentum Tutoring. My son Trey started getting tutored about a year and half ago at Momentum. When he started he lacked confidence to read aloud in class, fluency and word recognition. He was having trouble obtaining grade level expectation. Ms Lani did such an amazing job with Trey. He now is one of the first to raise his hand in class to read aloud. His fluency and word reconition is amazing. He now has reached grade level for his reading and is already onto second semester reading level for next year. I can't thank Ms Lani enough for everything she put into Trey and getting him on the road to success. We will not think twice about returning to Momentum if anything else comes up in the future.
Thank you for everything,
Shanda

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 25, 2012

I have spent a lot of money on tutors and programs all over San Diego county to try to get some help for my son. When he finished these, he was frustrated and feeling stupid, and I have felt he didn... more

March 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I love the way Terri and her staff have worked with my son's teachers to fulfill and excel at the goals we set in his IEP. Perhaps more importantly is the attitude that they all have, and how it has made all the difference to my son's attitude towards school. He has struggled for so long, I'm always afraid he's going to give up, but except for threatening me with eternal hatred if I take him out of Momentum, his attitude is wonderful. They under-charge for their services, know what they are doing and how to be effective, and truly love the kids.
May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have spent a lot of money on tutors and programs all over San Diego county to try to get some help for my son. When he finished these, he was frustrated and feeling stupid, and I have felt he didn't make any progress. Momentum Tutoring is the ONLY place that I have brought him that has had visible results! His writing has improved, his reading is much better, and more importantly, his self confidence has gone through the roof. With other tutoring places he's gone to, he starts out saying he likes the time there, and within a month or so he would hate it. He loves Miss Terri and looks forward to going every time, even after 4 months! Momentum Tutoring is truly one of those gems you occasionally find among the badly run, ineffective, in-it-for-the-money programs out there. And the price is amazing. Thank you for everything you do, Terri! We love you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it to as many schools as possible. This organization has a winning recipe for success.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our son is a freshman at a local HS. While he was high-achieving in middle school, the transition to 9th grade (with 3 honors classes, a MUCH larger school, different technology for grading, etc. ) was a bit rough. Suddenly he was getting Cs in some classes and that had never happened before. His math teacher told us that several of the high-performing students at the HS were employed as tutors at Momentum; and we are so glad that we went and met with Terri. She aligned us with an excellent tutor, Matthew, and now our son's grades have improved. He and Matt are a very good fit and in addition to being a very good tutor, Matt is an excellent academic role model as well. Our son is no longer behind in Algebra 2H. With the combination of "at school" tutoring, and the 1:1 work with Matthew, his grade has gone from a C to an A in Math. And recently, he got his first A on an essay in English Honors. Matthew can provide alot of support not only in math but also English (the writing... !) and other subjects and better study habits and organization. Sometimes, to a high achieving student who has never really "had" to study... these things do not come naturally and extra help is needed. Our only regret about Momentum Tutoring is that we didn't find it sooner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Their homework club is the greatest. When we sat down to do homework with our daughter Grace it usually would become very adversarial. We spent as much time arguing about her being able to do the work as getting it done. One hour of homework seemed to take all evening. Miss Marianne is the BEST. Grace almost always gets her homework done in the one hour allotted. Grace just loves the crafts and games on Fun Friday. We are so happy that we were told about Momentum and being just across the street from the school is convenient. We feel safe knowing that Grace can walk there after school and that they are looking out for her

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers