Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.985715
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

Terri and her staff are amazing.
I love the homework clinic right after school on the premises of Carlton Oaks, it makes it so much easier to get Cindy's homework done. Also the tutoring at the main center is great. Cindy loves going to Momentum Tutoring and doesn't see it as work, it is fun to
her.
She has improved so much with her reading and math, and understands it more.
This is the first year Cindy attended the summer camp, and just loves it.
We are adding an extra week, she enjoyed it so much.
Terri is so caring, she has the children's best interest at heart.
Thank you Momentum Tutoring.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My son was struggling with reading comprehension. After seeing Bianca for about a month 2 times a week his AR grades began to go up. He now understands what he is reading and has learned how to summarize what he has read. Bianca is great with my son. She takes the time to get to know her students and helps them pick books that will help them succeed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to thank Terri and her staff they are always helpful. I'm a single father and its great to have Momentum close to my daughter Brooklyn's school. Since she is young they come over to the school and pick Brooklyn up. If it wasn't for my neighbor Jennifer and her girls I wouldn't have known about Momentum, both her girls go there and love it. I want to specially thank Bianca she has worked with my daughter from the start and it has helped schooling and confidence. Brooklyn will be there next year.
I would recommend Momentum to anyone with kids, its Great!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I wanted to give a huge shoutout to Ms Lani and the rest of the staff at Momentum Tutoring. My son Trey started getting tutored about a year and half ago at Momentum. When he started he lacked confidence to read aloud in class, fluency and word recognition. He was having trouble obtaining grade level expectation. Ms Lani did such an amazing job with Trey. He now is one of the first to raise his hand in class to read aloud. His fluency and word reconition is amazing. He now has reached grade level for his reading and is already onto second semester reading level for next year. I can't thank Ms Lani enough for everything she put into Trey and getting him on the road to success. We will not think twice about returning to Momentum if anything else comes up in the future.
Thank you for everything,
Shanda

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 25, 2012

I have spent a lot of money on tutors and programs all over San Diego county to try to get some help for my son. When he finished these, he was frustrated and feeling stupid, and I have felt he didn... more

March 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I love the way Terri and her staff have worked with my son's teachers to fulfill and excel at the goals we set in his IEP. Perhaps more importantly is the attitude that they all have, and how it has made all the difference to my son's attitude towards school. He has struggled for so long, I'm always afraid he's going to give up, but except for threatening me with eternal hatred if I take him out of Momentum, his attitude is wonderful. They under-charge for their services, know what they are doing and how to be effective, and truly love the kids.
May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have spent a lot of money on tutors and programs all over San Diego county to try to get some help for my son. When he finished these, he was frustrated and feeling stupid, and I have felt he didn't make any progress. Momentum Tutoring is the ONLY place that I have brought him that has had visible results! His writing has improved, his reading is much better, and more importantly, his self confidence has gone through the roof. With other tutoring places he's gone to, he starts out saying he likes the time there, and within a month or so he would hate it. He loves Miss Terri and looks forward to going every time, even after 4 months! Momentum Tutoring is truly one of those gems you occasionally find among the badly run, ineffective, in-it-for-the-money programs out there. And the price is amazing. Thank you for everything you do, Terri! We love you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it to as many schools as possible. This organization has a winning recipe for success.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our son is a freshman at a local HS. While he was high-achieving in middle school, the transition to 9th grade (with 3 honors classes, a MUCH larger school, different technology for grading, etc. ) was a bit rough. Suddenly he was getting Cs in some classes and that had never happened before. His math teacher told us that several of the high-performing students at the HS were employed as tutors at Momentum; and we are so glad that we went and met with Terri. She aligned us with an excellent tutor, Matthew, and now our son's grades have improved. He and Matt are a very good fit and in addition to being a very good tutor, Matt is an excellent academic role model as well. Our son is no longer behind in Algebra 2H. With the combination of "at school" tutoring, and the 1:1 work with Matthew, his grade has gone from a C to an A in Math. And recently, he got his first A on an essay in English Honors. Matthew can provide alot of support not only in math but also English (the writing... !) and other subjects and better study habits and organization. Sometimes, to a high achieving student who has never really "had" to study... these things do not come naturally and extra help is needed. Our only regret about Momentum Tutoring is that we didn't find it sooner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Their homework club is the greatest. When we sat down to do homework with our daughter Grace it usually would become very adversarial. We spent as much time arguing about her being able to do the work as getting it done. One hour of homework seemed to take all evening. Miss Marianne is the BEST. Grace almost always gets her homework done in the one hour allotted. Grace just loves the crafts and games on Fun Friday. We are so happy that we were told about Momentum and being just across the street from the school is convenient. We feel safe knowing that Grace can walk there after school and that they are looking out for her

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son is a junior in high school and had extreme difficulty in his chemistry class. He just couldn't learn from the teacher and was failing. He called me at lunch from school three days ago, Tuesday, ready to give up, sure that he would fail the class. He felt dumb and humiliated, and worried that he might not be able to graduate high school. His grades were suffering also due to missing several days of school and his ADD.

We called Momentum tutoring that same day, signed up the same night and our son was tutored the next two days, Wednesday and Thursday. On Friday, he took a chemistry test and scored 100%, with 5 extra credit points. He understood the material, after being lost for six weeks! The teacher told the entire class his score, and it was amazing! He also got a B plus on his algebra 2 test,(up from a D on the first test) and had studied so well for his geography test that he aced the test and filled up the back page with extra credit information...

It seems like a miracle to go from an F to an A in two days... but it happened. Lets see how he does for the long haul. His confidence went from zero to fifty in two days. thanks so much Bree! Terri spent lots of time on the phone with us finding the most appropriate tutors, and we are so appreciative. WE can't thank you enough, and will surely bring our younger son in as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to bring in donations from the community, and do fund raising so their services could be given to those who are unable to pay, improve equipment, and expand the program. I told our school councelor about Momentum and hope she spreads the word.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer with Momentum Tutoring I have had a wonderful experience! All the employees/employers did a fantastic job training and helping me adjust to the job, they helped me through every step of the way with great kindness and understanding. At this job I feel like a part of a team that truly cares about what they are doing and how they are doing it. I don't have a single bad word to say about Momentum Tutoring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Both of my daughters have been working with Terri and her team for almost two years now at Momentum Tutoring. One of my daughters has ADHD and has struggled in school and with her confidence in school. She has worked one on one with Terri and I have seen a huge difference. Terri treats each child as an individual and tailors how she works with each child to bring out the best in them.
This summer my daugher attended Momentum Tutoring Ripley's Believe it or Not summer camp. The camp was amazing. My daugther was so excited to attend each day that she wanted to get there early! That was a huge change in her. She learned a lot over the summer in camp and kept her skills up. It made going back to school easier for her this year. We are really excited about all of the changes that Momentum has made in my daughers school performance and look forward to working with Terri and her team for years to come. I highly recommend Momentum.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers